We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Edgar Neville S/N | Nueva Andalucía, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Dublin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great location for a break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We were lucky to have a gorgeous sunny week in November in this modern hotel.
The hotel ticked all the boxes:
location on the beach, comfortable bed in quiet setting, spotlessly clean, great breakfast, excellent evening meals in El Rincon (but Abanda restaurant lacked atmosphere), efficient and pleasant staff, free Wi-Fi, our balcony on the top floor with sea view & afternoon sun... BLISS!
Note: A 15 min stroll will take you along the beach path to Puerto Banus and onwards to Marbella by catamaran (€15 return) but to discover the 'Real Spain' rent a car and visit Ojen for coffee, Benhavis for an evening meal or take a day trip to wild Tarifa or mountainous Gaucin.
P.S. The already dangerous N340 is undergoing extensive roadworks - so safe journey

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent writing your comments about your stay at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús. We appreciate your comments about your impressions and the service received during your stay.

Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Villar
Front Office Manager
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    162
    97
    60
    31
See reviews for
77
227
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

This hotel was booked for a family stay away in October 2010. It was a special trip therefore we decided to book a 5 star hotel. Sadly this Hotel is far from 5 star accomodation. Much nearer the 3 star mark and all members of our party of 6 all felt the same.
Sadly there were more negatives than positives about the Hotel.

The hotel is right on the beach which is a lovely situation. it has its own beds and was great for the children. I'd heard the hotel provided one bed free per room and others would be charged but we were not charged. Unfortunately there wasconstruction work on both sides of the hotel and this caused disruption if you wanted a relaxing time on the beach. on booking direct,via telephone, we were not informed of this and were not informed via email after booking.

The prices for drinks are rather expensive, which you expect in a 5 star hotel if only it was 5 star!!

Parking is expensive if booked through hotel but in low season this is not necessary. we drove and always managed to get parked either outside or close by the hotel-saving 15Euros per day!!

On arrival the reception staff were very helpful and provided a good service. The junior suites were tasefully decorated and furnished, although it was clear that the rooms have not been refurbished or even kept on top of since they were originally done.

Despite a lot of other reviews stating that the breakfast steals the show, i disagree. The restaurant was well named "BUFFET MANIA" as the whole experience was manic and chaotic at times.
it was disorganised and at busy times, the one chef who was cooking fresh eggs, omelettes etc...simply could not keep up with orders. The guy in charge of all the waitresses did not appear to be in control at all, his job being to oversee the smooth running of things. Many mornings, there were no glasses for juice, the hot water for drinks was just tepid and this is not what you expect from a 5 star resort.

Although our junior suites had maid service daily, they weren't cleaned to a very high standard. My daughters feet being dirty if she walked barefoot, the dust on the back of the sofa and shelf in kitchenette.

The swimming pool was very cold but this we expected, being October and we have stayed at Puerto Banus many times in Oct/November and all pools are extremely cold. The problems we did have was the amount of loungers that were available and the state that they were in. You do not expect a 5 star hotel to provide such shabby worn out, ripped furniture.

There are many more points that i could make however; i feel that the point has been made.

All in all we enjoyed our holiday, believe it not, but it was let down by the stay in this hotel. It is certainly not 5 star. It is at best a 3 star. Sadly we will not be returning to stay at the very disappointing 5 star Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your comments. We appreciate your evaluation about your impressions and the service received during your stay, specially we would like to thank you for your kind words about our staff at the Reception.

We are sorry to know that your stay at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús has not been as satisfactory as you expected. We apologize for any inconvenience you may had during your stay.

Concerning the sea promenade, we inform you that the Town Hall of Marbella is in charge of these works, for that reason we do not know exactly their duration. As far as we know they works are quite developed and hopefully they will finish soon.

Hoping your impressions about the Hotel will get better in a possible next stay and you will return your trust on us, we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Victor Villar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario-Canada
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

at one time this was a 5 star resort, but with the econimic times it has gone into bankruptcy and you can see some of the maintenance is lacking. We had a few negatives about the hotel, first on checking in we were not provided the rooms we had booked, we had booked ocean view rooms and the rooms we were given faced away from the sea, however by the second day they were able to relocate us to the rooms we were to have (but that was a hassle) also the internet was not free and was not working the first two days we were there. Drinks at the pool bar were outlandlishly expensive and pool staff were arrogant and very unhelpful. However given the price we paid, the value of the hotel was appropriate, the breakfasts which were included in our package price were the best we had in spain. the hotel is only a short walk along the beach to puerto banus where there are lots of very good restaurants and the british restaurant in the hotel , it is not owned by the hotel but a different company was also very good and the staff at the british restaurant were wonderful. given the price paid while the hotel is a little tired it is still a hotel worth staying at as long as you get a break on the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, December 14, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time spent writing your comments. We appreciate your evaluation about your impressions and the service received during your stay.

We are sorry to know that your stay at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús has not been as satisfactory as you expected. We apologize for any inconvenience you may had during your stay.

Concerning your comments about the internet service, let us inform you that we have free Wi-Fi system in our Hotel that you can use without any extra charge if you bring your own portable computer. For those guests who have not brought their laptops, we provide computers in the Reception area which have a pre-payment system to access the internet.

Regarding your comments about the conservation of our hotel, we would like to inform you that during low season our Maintenance staff is repairing all damages caused during the year.

Regarding your opinion about the price of the drinks, we consider that they are average in comparison to the rest of hotels in the area, since we are in Puerto Banús and taking into consideration that we are a five star hotel.

Hoping your impressions about the Hotel will get better in a possible next stay and you will return your trust on us, we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Victor Villar
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorCal, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed five nights at this property with my girlfriend (who became my fiancee during our stay) in April 2009. After an exhaustive search of the various hotels in Marbella and Puerto Banus, I decided on the Guadalpin Banus and booked via Expedia. We stayed in early April which was warm enough to enjoy the sun on the beach, though pool and sea were still a bit cool.

As stated before, my fiancee and I became engaged while staying at the hotel; I had planned the trip as the backdrop to proposing. As such, I had emailed the hotel in advance and requested that we be assigned to a room with the best possible view, within our price point (Double Superior). The Guadalpin Banus did not disappoint. Our top floor room was amazing, with a very large balcony and gorgeous view of the pool area, beach, and ocean! The room was on the smallish side but very clean, the bed comfortable, and bathroom small but tidy.

Regarding dining, the morning buffet breakfast is a must. Its a delicious, ecclectic mix of English, Spanish, and American favorites, well prepared and plentiful. Assuming its warm enough, eating outside right in front of the beach makes for a truly romantic experience and a great start to the day. We had dinner at Lorea which we felt was good, but our preference was to sample the myriad restaurants of Puerto Banus. A few places I can recall by name: Carpaccio is an Italian place that had excellent tiramisu, Mumtaz is an Indian restaurant whose fare was above average and added welcome variety, and Jacks is an American-themed place for anyone craving a burger, buffalo wings, etc. Puerto Banus also offers a large store called Hipercor where you can pick up just about anything; we bought bread, cheese, champagne, beers, and other snacks for some nice easy lunches on the balcony and to save a little money. The room does have a small fridge which proved useful for this purpose.

A few final thoughts: If a nightclub is your thing, Se7en had a pretty fun scene with interesting decor and good music. The hotel has its own beach loungers and umbrellas, just plan to get there early as they fill up. The path to Puerto Banus isn't well paved or very well lit at night; we didn't find this a problem but some may. A cab ride to the town is reasonable. When flying in/out of Malaga, there is a bus that runs regularly to and from Marbella for around 4 Euros, and then its a quick cab ride from the bus station to the Guadalpin Banus. Nice and simple.

Overall, we were extremely satisfied with the Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus and are planning to return in the near future. I read the criticisms of the hotel before arrival but I found no problems with my stay. Staff was great, hotel clean and friendly. Lastly, they graciously accommodated my request for a special room, as this was an engagement trip. We got engaged and will always remember our stay at the Guadalpin Banus fondly, and for that, we emphatically recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay in our hotel. Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.

Regarding your words about the connection between our Hotel to Puerto Banús, we are very pleased to inform you that the Town Hall of Marbella is working on it at the moment. We hope you notice some changes in your next stay.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Villar
Front Office Manager
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

we had a wonderful time at gvadalpin!!!!

we rented a car and drove along the cost, from barcelona to marbella this summer. we stopped in almost every town, to stay the night. we only stayed in nice hotels, but Gvadalpin was the best of them all. our plan was to travel to Gibraltar, and from there take a boat over to Marocco. However, when we arrived to Gvadalpin it was nothing to discuss - we stayed here the rest of our vication instead! We upgraded to the biggets suits with our own jacuzzi on the roof. it was amazing. the view was fanstastic! we had to big private terraces with huge rotting sofas. we were only 2 persons, but we had the space for two big dinnerpartys, if we wanted. the suite also had a nice,modern kitchen, that we never used. but it was really nice! we ordred alot of room-service and everything was delicious. i speciell recommend the club sandwich they offer!
the hotel is located perfectly - right on Pourto Banus beach! the hotel have their own sunbeds for the guests on the beach, right next to a nice fish-restaurant. the restaurant was ok, but a bit over priced compared to other restaurants nearby.in the reception they had an attractions-computer who also had a digital list of the best restaurants in the area. this was something we found really usefull. so, we didnt eat on the hotel restaurant, but we did tried the coctails,both from the pool-bar and roomservice. they was also amazing!

the breakfast at the hotel is a chapter for it self! they had everything you could ever dream of! they had they're own chef, who is making your eggs and pancakes special for you, just like you want them. they had a variety of fresh fruit, juices, desserts( chocolate donuts who became my addiction, and alot of more sweets) and even champagne for those who wanted to start the day with a glas! ofcourse they also had a big variety of coffee, bread, meet, cheese and spread.

the staff were so nice! they treated us like royals.they were so kind and polite. they did everything for us. I cant say enough how much i loved this hotel!
the pool was also nice. it was one big and one baby pool. the best with the pool was the poolbar. if you wanted you could sit on the chairs under water, and drink your drink in the pool. the hotel offer massage and they have theyr own gym. they also have shops inside the hotel, who sells clothes and accessories.

if you are going to spain, and you want to spoil yourself, you should really go here. Like i said; this is my absolute favorite hotel. I am definitely going back!

Norway

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent writing your comments about your stay in Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús. We truly appreciate your evaluation and kind comments about your impressions and the service received during your stay.

Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities. Thank you very much for your acknowledgement of the job and attitude of our team.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Villar
Front Office Manager
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

If you travel to sightsee, don't stay in Marbella. If you only want to lay, shop and eat, Marbella and this hotel are fantastic! For sightseeing, find someplace in Malaga. The room was great - clean and comfortable. Great view from ocean-view balcony room (be sure to ask for that). Majority of staff were very, very friendly and helpful (one woman at front desk not so much). Free wi-fi in public areas. Pay otherwise - very expensive and service not that great. Buffet breakfast at restaraunt - FABULOUS. Dinner buffet ($20 euro) was expensive, but great. Location - right on the beach (which is a bit rocky, but otherwise fine). Walking distance to Puerto Banus for fine shops and great dining. If you want a pure beach/shopping vacation - the place to go. But bring lots of cash.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, December 3, 2010
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent writing your comments about your stay at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús.

Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.

It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Villar
Front Desk Department
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Room beautiful, modern, nice little terrace. Connected to larger apt. Sliding doorlock did not work. First maintenance man could not fix it, meant it wouldnt matter. We felt unsafe, later all lights failed and another maintenance man came, fixed the doorproblem as well. The apt nextdoor was occupied and people partied until 3 am, very noisy. Breakfast was great, lots of choice. Teawater came in thermos bottles which obviously had been standing around for a while, water was tepid, impossible for decent tea. How difficult can it be to have hot water available for self-service? Our worst experience was the pool or rather the attendant. He promised towels within 15 mins but they never came, so we lay on nylon lounges, luckily we had bathrobes which were great. There were some noisy guests, Rambo types who had quite a few drinks by the pool. One of them was standing in the pool, eating a sandwich, his drink at pools edge. No attempt was made by waiters to quieten this group or stop the man eating in the pool. Very unpleasant to other clients who were discreet. There was construction going on by the beach, lots of waste along beach and roads. We found the Golden Mile rather Filthy Mile. Parking is expensive and unnecessary in low season, free parking nearby. Hotel access is incredibly difficult, needed several attempts to find the right turnoff, minimal sign. Make sure u get an excellent map if u come by car.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGuadalpinBanus, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent writing your comments about your stay in Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús.

We appreciate your evaluation about the service received during your stay and your comments about our rooms. Our guest’s opinion is the best way to aim efforts at offering you the best services and facilities.

First of all, we would like to show our most sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may had with the door lock in your room and by the Pool area.

Regarding your comments about the hot water, we would like to inform you that we have kettles available for our guests under petition to our Front Office Department. Concerning your words about the Hotel access, we would like to inform you that in our web page we have a complete description of how to get to our hotel.


It has been a pleasure to have you staying with us at Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús, and we would like to welcome you again to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Villar
Front Office Manager
Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banús
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus

Address: C/ Edgar Neville S/N | Nueva Andalucía, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unbeatable location. This beachfront resort is only 15 minutes walk from the centre of Puerto Banus. Hotel Imperator Guadalpin Banus 5* has 181 exclusive rooms decorated with noble materials & luxury finishings, offering splendid views of the Mediterranean Sea in an atmosphere of privacy and rest. You can also enjoy an exclusive and varied gastronomic offer in an idyllic setting: the sea front in Puerto Banus. High Cuisine Restaurants & exclusive Bars, Beach Club & Pool Bar, Fitness Centre & Sauna, Children playground, complimentary Wi-Fi, Meeting rooms will make of your stay the most exclusive and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Guadalpin Banus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.