We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Town House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Town House to your Saves list
The Town House
Calle Alderete 7, The Old Town | Plaza Tetuan, 29601 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Marbella B&B and Inns
Brighton, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely weekend in Marbella and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Town House. It is ideally located in the old town - near to plenty of bars, the beach and restaurants. The staff were all friendly & very helpful and gave us lots of great tips of where to eat - including a lovely place for paella in Puerto Banus. Breakfast was tasty - serving a good variety of things. Our room was comfortable - perhaps we had one of the bigger ones judging by other people's reviews!! The only downside (which didn't really affect us as it was so quiet when we stayed) is the sound proofing and other people have mentioned that it can be quite noisy due to the central staircase.The roof terrace is lovely and had it been nicer weather we would have made more use of it! We would definitely go back and would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    27
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
57
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel was just the ticket. Clean, charming, great location and lovely staff. Nice simple breakfast too. Yes, the central staircase can make it a wee bit noisy but hey, it's not the type of place that has gangs of revellers rolling in at all hours. I think the best compliment you can give to a hotel is that you would stay again without hestitation and without checking out any others and that's exactly how I feel about The Townhouse. Like other reviewers, I had a misguided view of Marbella as being populated by the blinged up, tangoed, fake everything brigade, but the old town couldn't be further from the truth. Utterly charming. Wouldn't say same thing about Puerto Banus and would give this part a body swerve. Anyway, we had no worries about tackiness with The Townhouse. Simple scandinavian, warm and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A lovely hotel in an old town house right in the centre of Marbella. The staff are wonderful and the decor delightful with a clean, neutral decor. You can feel the Scandinavian influence in the design (the owner is Swedish) and most of the very kind staff are Scandinavian too. We were less than impressed with the tacky, bling of Puerto Banus further around the coast where all the rich Brits play on holiday, but the old town of Marbella is still mostly full of locals and has retained a very Spanish feel. We loved walking around in the evening after dinner and then returning to our very comfortable hotel with its comfortable beds. The roof terrace is small but has lovely views of the surrounding town and old church and we enjoyed a glass of Cava up here as the sun went down. The breakfasts at the Town House are very good too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel is in a great position in Old Marbella. The staff are amazingly friendly and welcoming. Parking is a disaster - I felt pretty unsupported re parking and parked ten minutes up the hill after losing ninety minutes driving around. Some ideas and better directions may have helped.

This hotel features in Sawdays but we expected smarter rooms. Ours was a little tired - a post fell off the four poster bed and hit my head. Bathrooms quirky but shower head fell flat constantly. Small rooms, quite dowdy but still OK.

The ladies do a great job of welcoming guests, the girl who ran the bar was totally courteous to us and users of the bar. There are a few tables outside in a cafe style.

The roof terrace is treat - we had breakfast up there and the honesty bar works just tally the drinks you use.

Overall - a great experience, wonderful location, great staff just tired rooms and an absloute parking disaster - having said that if you don't want to swallow 20 Euro's a day - drive up the hill and park near the bridge. You can reverse up the street to collect luggage as you leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

For years I have heard horror stories about Marbella, the tourists, the beaches and general trashiness. Because a late flight into Malaga posed an opportunity to try out Marbella, we booked into this place and ended up loving it so much we booked a third night instead of heading into the hills as planned.
The welcome and service is perfect, the decor beautiful (a hint of old Spain mixed with clean modern), the bar/breakfast room downstairs was great as was the roof terrace. Nice touches like the honesty bar and beach towels made this a delight to stay in.
The rooms were a good size, clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is fantastic in the heart of what I now know to be a very lovely town. Yes, the typical touristy bit of Spain exists beyond the old town but being able to retreat back to here after a day on the beach made a real difference.
Excellent advice was given by the hotel ("Cappucino" for private loungey beach and lunch and also the newly opened restaurant 'Il Trufino' I think - italian/truffle specialist across the square).
The only negative was trying to find it - it really is as difficult as they warn on their emails to you when you book and if you are driving - give up any hope of getting near to the hotel and parking. We parked at Plaza la Victoria for €20 a day which was just a 5minute walk in the end - but again - quite hard to find so pre-plan your arrival - we lost an hour driving around!

Room Tip: I would ask to NOT be on the top floor - the honesty bar/fridge outside your bedroom might be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked the town house for one night through the 'mr&mrs smith' website, thereby qualifying for a free bottle of cava on arrival.

The hotel is brilliantly situated in the old town, in the corner of a picturesque and buzzy square just 5 minutes from the beach and lots of great restaurants.

The service throughout our stay was second to none - from the moment we arrived we were warmly greeted and personally shown around the hotel and to our beautiful room complete with four poster bed, en suite, mini balcony, tvDVD. All the staff went out of their way to help, spoke great English (they are mostly Swedish it seems) and gave recommendations on places to eat/see etc.

The hotel bar opens out onto the square where they have a few small tables and it is very relaxing to sit out there after a long journey, especially when the bottle of cava you are drinking is complimentary! Over the course of our stay we ordered various items from the bar and the prices are very reasonable.

Down an alleyway at the opposite corner of the square is a great little cafe serving beer and tapas all day and the staff are really friendly there too.

The room was quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was a delicious and well presented selection of croissants, cereal, meat, cheese, bread, fruit juices and coffee which set us up for the day perfectly.

Overall, a beautiful hotel in a brilliant location, with the friendliest staff I think I have ever met. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and there is no doubt as to where we will be staying if we are ever back in Marbs'.

Top top: if arriving by car, plan your route carefully and aim for the nearby underground carpark rather than the hotel itself. The hotel is only accessible on foot but the carpark is only 2 minutes walk away and costs €20/night which for the convenience is well worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We loved our first stay in Marbella and our first stay at the Town House. We enjoyed eating breakfast on the rooftop garden terrace or the lobby level bar, decorated with a modern twist on a Roman/Greco theme. We stayed in room number 7. The interior decorating was perfect from the wooden wardrobe and the full length wood-framed mirror that made the room see so much bigger than it was. The only strange item was the fact that the bathroom window was directly across from someone else's kitchen window, so the privacy was a bit compromised from time to time, which was a bit uncomfortable. Perhaps they can add a curtain or frost the glass if this continues to be a complaint from other guests.
The staff was very pleasant and always willing to help out with recommendations to restaurants and work to book you for your visit to your ocean/beach club.
We found that although you can park your rental car in the underground parking garage at the bottom of the street (from the hotel), you can also park free on the streets all day Sunday and after 830pm every night, up until 9am every morning. We would've done more of that as it was only 1 Euro for two hours on the street, so you could keep your car there until 11am if you parked it around 830pm as compared to an overnight in the garage was 20 Euro. Would've been nice if the hotel staff had known / told us this, but they didn't see to know.

Room Tip: I'd recommend choosing a room that is on the side of the hotel that is above the check-in desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Address: Calle Alderete 7, The Old Town | Plaza Tetuan, 29601 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charmingly located in the Old Town of Marbella The Town House is a private intimate pension with a central location in the old town, Marbella, in the antique area, close to Plaza de los Naranjos (the orange square). The Town House is almost like a private town house, with four floors, roof terrace and a welcoming bar at the entrace level. All nine rooms are individually decorated, with a tasteful mixture of antiques and modern design. The Town House has nine rooms, bar for both hostal- and external guests, lounge, possiblities to rent conference room, breakfast room, roof terrace, rooms with TV och internet connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your The Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.