We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value - fantastic spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Senator Marbella Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Principe Alfonso Hohenlohe, s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 77 hotels in Marbella
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent value - fantastic spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I wish I had booked more nights at this hotel. The highlight for me was the spa: lots of different pools, waterjets, bubble seats, a huge steam room and 2 saunas. The hotel's website doesn't do justice to the spa, it's really worth it.

The hotel also has a very cold pool and 2 jacuzzis on the roof. Granted, I visited in late April, so maybe the pool gets a bit warmer around August. The roof is fabulous to sunbathe in peace and quiet.

Rooms were ok, large and clean but quite basic. There was a huge bed, TV, fridge, a good balcony with table and chairs and also a plastic thing to hang your wet clothes outside, nice to see they thought about it. The bathroom was also very large and clean. It was just missing some luxury touches to get top marks.

I liked the location, it's just a short walk to the beach, there are sea and mountain views from the roof, we managed to park for free outside the hotel.

Breakfast was excellent too, the staff were very friendly and the food was fresh and good quality.


I would stay again next time I'm visiting Marbella, and I hope it's soon!

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    113
    41
    8
    9
See reviews for
66
125
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here last year and enjoyed it. Decided to return again for two more nights. It was as good this time as the first time. The location is good and breakfast was good. Nice spa but the outdoor pool was just being prepared for the season so we could not swim in it. One small complaint would be that they could give you a bit more soap.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all thank you for your comments, because it is the best way to learn about the experiences of our guests during your holiday

Thank you very much for your excellent comment. We are glad you enjoyed your stay again at our hotel, thanks to their own opinions as our staff try to strive daily and your comments are the best reward. Hope to see you soon again in our hotel!

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stayed in the Senator Hotel recently which was good value with excellent service. The reception check was efficient and the when asked for additional pillows they were delivered promptly. The food in the dining room was very a self service buffet with the chef also on hand to cook freshl fish and meat dishes.

Room Tip: had a room with a very nice sea view towards Porto Banus
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

It is It is for the team hotel a pleasure to know how comfortable it was found in his room
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards.

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had previously visited the area and had stayed at another four star hotel. During that stay we visited the Senator and noted that it had an excellent rooftop pool and spa which had panoramic views. For this reason we chose to stay at the Senator on this occasion. We booked our rooms 3 months in advance.

When we arrived to check in we asked if the hotel had an indoor pool. The receptionist confirmed that it did but also advised in a 'matter of fact manner' that the whole of the rooftop spa and pool area was under repair and not available. When we enquired for how long this would be for (expecting a day or so) we were told again, in the same matter of fact manner - as though this was normal practise, that it would not be available for the whole week! There was no apology for this and they even locked the door so that one could not gain access if only to lie on a pool bed or to see the view. As the hotel does not have a garden or outside sitting area, the roof pool/spa could be considered an essential facilty and as such we found the restriction a major drawback. At no time during the 3 months prior to our booking, on their website, or by trip advisor, had there been any mention of this facility not being available for the duration of a whole week.

Although we had a 'superior' room on the 7th floor with sea views, unbelievably, the 'curtain' was a fake for decoration purposes only and it was impossible to shut out the light. They did not consider that whilst on vacation some people do not wish to be woken at the crack of dawn with the sunlight pouring in and no means of shutting it out.

The traffic noise is very loud when the balcony doors are open making the balcony virtually unusable at most times day or night. Also, when we were too hot in our rooms and did not want to open the balcony doors because of the noise, we discovered that the air conditioning was not working. When we enquired about this we were again advised quite calmly, as though it was the norm in 4 star hotel class, that this was operated centrally and was 'switched off' until the high season!

The food and restaurant was adequate for breakfast and whilst initial impressions were good as thwy provide waitress serve for tea or coffee and a chef to prepare hot food, in practise this turned out to be disappointing. The coffee was never quite hot enough and the chef whilst polite did not seem table to boil eggs or fry them adequately - they were underdone to the point of being almost inedible. We also discovered that of the 73 tv channels including satellite, the only English' speaking channel was BBC news. There was also only one channel in French language and one in German.

On the plus side, the other reasons for choosing this hotel remain very positive. In our experience, the indoor spa and heated pool is excellent and the position of the hotel with access to the beach and golden mile walkway is very convenient. The room and ensuite were very spacious, the bed was good quality and the lighting, especially the bedside reading lights were excellent.

Room Tip: Advise choosing a room that is nearer the sea/beach end of the hotel to avoid traffic noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We will have very much in mind your impressions and we will work to improve these points marked so that in the next visit your perception of the product received is entirely satisfactory.
We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Angel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a great little hotel.
Pro's: Great breakfast
Friendly Staff
Close to the Old Town
Supermarket and Chemist are round the corner
Well known
Quiet
Bus stop just opposite the hotel with very cheap fares
Con's: Bit of a taxi/bus ride away from Peurto Banus (5/8 mins)
Our room for three people was quite small
Pool area not so great
Overall -
I went to Marbella with 2 of my friends for a mix of abit of partying and relaxing. I'd say the Senator suited us perfectly as it was far enough away from the party scene so we could chill out when we wanted, but also close enough to Peurto Banus when we wanted to party/
The staff are friendly, although there were quite a few of the staff members that could not speak English.
We looked forward to breakfast every morning as it offered such a large variety.
For the price we paid, I would definately recommend the Senator.
Advice to anyone taking a girly trip to Marbs - take lots of money. The standard price for a drink in Banus is about £12. However, it doesn't kick off till about midnight so you can start at the hotel, and you can get lots of free drinks from reps who are trying to fill up their bars.
We loved 'News Cafe', 'Beach Plaza' in the day and 'Aqwa'.
Have fun!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments

Best regards,

Miguel Ángel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella SPA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiza
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I found it very hard to believe that this is a 4* hotel. It's a typical very basic hotel that offers very little services (eg. no room service, only a pizza delivery option) and in comparison to most 4* hotels, the rooms and 'luxuries' are not that great.

That said, when you look at the price, you simply cannot complain. EXCELLENT value for money and I must also say that I found all the staff here (especially the team on reception) to be extremely friendly and helpful. My stay here was very pleasant.

My advice: If you are looking for a value for money hotel and are happy with something basic, look no further. The hotel is clean and you'll probably struggle to find anything to complain about. If you want luxuries (that of course you are happy to pay for), I would suggest looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guests,

I would like to thank you for your comments, as it is through them the best way we can improve the quality of our service, understanding the perception of our product and most important the quality and friendly service we provide.

We once again thank you and are looking forward welcoming you to any of our establishments.

Best regards,

Miguel A. Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A colleague and myself where travelling for business and got rooms 127+126, this past week. We were expecting the spa to be open until 10 pm but close at 7 and opens at 10am. The gym has 3 machines only and the bike was not working. No TV, cold walls, no decoration, no treadmill. Outside the temperature was 5 degrees C.
A hotel with 4 stars so close to the beach would better sell at higher rates but offer a real experience! Look at El Fuerte hotel or Gran Melia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
P-Stor, Gerente at Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Cliente,

Noi apprezziamo molto i vostri commenti, e grazie ad essa siamo in grado di conoscere la percezione del nostro prodotto e ciò che è più importante la qualità e il servizio cordiale.

Capisco la sua critica, ma permettetemi di dire che non sono d'accordo del tutto. Per quanto riguarda il tuo commento sul programma di SPA lasciatemi dire che in inverno, aperto dalle 10 alle 20 ore di ore ininterrotte di ritardo. E per quanto riguarda il nostro accesso agli ospiti è gratuito durante il vostro soggiorno.

Per quanto riguarda le macchine esercizio lasciatemi dire che se ci fosse un viziato, è un po 'sporadica, perché tutti i giorni i nostri responsabili della manutenzione rivedere ogni essere in perfetto stato di funzionamento e che la palestra è in linea con le esigenze dei nostri ospiti.

Dispiace molto non aver incontrato le sue aspettative e saremo lieti di darvi la possibilità di incontrarlo in una delle nostre strutture. Abbiamo molto in mente le vostre impressioni, lavoreremo per migliorare i punti segnati
Saluti,

Miguel Angel Piedra
Gerente Senator Marbella Spa Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Senator Marbella Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Senator Marbella Spa Hotel

Address: C/ Principe Alfonso Hohenlohe, s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Senator Marbella Spa Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Golden Mile of Marbella, next to the Exhibition and Congress Centre and just minutes from Old Town, surrounded by shops, restaurants, bars and nightclubs of Marbella's best to live the glamorous nights on the Costa del Sol If anything distinguishes the hotel Senator Marbella Spa is a spectacular hall dominated by a magnificent pendant. This magnificent large hall can be seen from its two panoramic elevators that rise to the rooms. The hall is the starting point for the rest of the Hotel.: Outdoor pool located on the 7th floor with the best views in Marbella, restaurant, bar, lounge, pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Senator Marbella Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Senator Marbella Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.