We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel to your Saves list
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pure Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2007

My husband and I had five perfect days at La Villa Marbella. With first class service and accommodation, a wonderful and generous breakfast, perfect tips on where to eat, drink and shop, travel and day trip advice and a happy and fun atmosphere we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fabulous hotel and its proficient and accommodating staff. We thank Marco and his team at La Villa and Marbella Heights for their attentiveness and effort, congratulate them on creating a true gem and wish them the very best in all future ventures.

  • Liked — The attitude of the staff - impecable.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    75
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
110
695
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

This review should have been up months ago but time got away from me. We stayed at Marcos's place for the first four days of our honeymoon around Spain and it was by far the highlight of our trip. As people mention it does not come with a pool or a fancy garden but what it does home with is charm and a level of kindness that you will never find in a four or five star hotel. The town is something out of a storybook and the places that Marcos recommends to you are where the locals hang out. We enjoyed feeling like we could just relax and not be one of 1,000 people in a big cold resort. Marcos and staff were amazing just take time out of your morning to sit down with him and hear his life story, and all of the work that went into building the hotel he is so full of life and truly loves making people happy. Our room was great and my husband still talks about the happy hour that Marcos does at night on the roof deck we loved it! One review talks about how it is not worth your money, hands down it is! The level of service and the special experience that you are going to have can't come at a big hotel price. One thing I will never forget is the first night Marcos left a box of chocolate and a bottle of wine with a little note from the staff it really made our honeymoon seem special! Marcos thanks for the wonderful honeymoon we will be back!!!

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2007

We stayed at LVM in July 2007.

Old Town Marbella is a delight, with great architecture and cultural history. Orange Square is really pretty. We ate in some fantastic restaurants and would certainly return to the area.

In terms of LVM we would say that it would more approrpriately be described as an overpriced B&B. We had booked the Boracay Room, the most expensive option. The room was very small, so I guess a less expensive room would be tiny.

There are no communal or social areas at LVM except a tiny roof terrace. This is only staffed during breakfast and for an hour or so in the evenings between 7 and 9am. In any case, the roof terrace has no bar or facilities so it becomes boring to sit up there for the sake of it if you want to get away from your small bedroom. There was usually only one member of staff on the premises during our stay; they didn't speak fluent English and we didn't speak Spanish.

We thought we had booked a small and charming hotel experience with good service but LVM would be more approrpiately described as an understaffed and overpriced B&B. Unless you have money to throw away I would book alternative accommodation.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Bad service and lack of staff on the premises
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANAGERLAVILLA, Owner at La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2007
Dear Guests ,

The main feature of our Boutique Hotel , beside the fantastic location , the quality of our rooms and equipment, is to rely on the quality and dedication of our service. We love what we do. We are a team of 4 housekeepers, 1 maintenance, 1 gardener, 5 receptionists and myself. 12 people to take proudly care of 9 rooms , which makes a big ration staff/room on this industry and not an understaffed place. Myself , I am always involved on the operation , but above all , on the well being of our guests. Everyone of my guests must be happy , well treated , cared and recognize. It is not negotiable for me another issue and of course, I take very seriously this sad review.

We are located on a 156 years old house , a gorgeous and beautiful place where we , simply because of the nature of our house and the old town , cannot sell quantity , because of its physical aspect , but we do have a tremendous charm , quality , authenticity and again , and above all , the most caring service.

Room Boracay is a gorgeous , well equipped and beautifully decorated room. For the old town aspect it is a spacious room and it has very very spacious bath room and carries all the equipment that can be displayed in a 5 star hotel. Our terrace has 70 sqm2 , has tremendous beautiful views of the mountains and can accommodate , comfortably up to 14 people on the breakfast. It is NOT a tiny terrace , but a spacious a beautiful social area , where every night
we share with our guests a friendly happy hour drink before their dinner , talk about the day and the plans for their next morning.
There, many guests become friends of each other and most of the times they even find themselves sharing a table in one of the beautiful restaurants located in the old town.
It is another highlight of our place.
What intrigues me the most , is to check on my July entrances of Boracay Room and
not find by any means , any guest from Norwich.
A delightful and happy couple of Marlow , 2 couples from Spain , 1 couple
from Newmarket ( on which arrived as guests and left as my friends ) and
a couple from Chicago ( US ) who are still here spending a long 12 days
honeymoon with us. I honnestely cannot see , after such kind guests staying here,
who could be unhappy.
We are sad , will accept as well our failures when it does happen , but the above review
is unfair and does not reflect the reality of our place.
We take this as an extra motivation and make sure the coming guests will
experience , even more , a fantastic time with us.

Marcos Torres
La Villa Marbella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2007

I stayed at La Villa Marbella for 6 nights in June 2007 and I have nothing but good comments to pass on about my experience there! I must admit, after reading the rave reviews on Trip Advisor, I was somewhat skeptical that the hotel could live up to my expectations, but it managed to surpass every one of them!

The attention to detail was impressive, in terms of both the atmosphere of the hotel as well as with regard to the level of service provided. The hospitality extended from everyone at the hotel was simply remarkable. The room was cozy, clean and well-appointed.

I look forward to my next stay at La Villa Marbella and have whole-heartedly recommended it to friends and family!

  • Liked — Personal service.
  • Disliked — Poor lighting in rooms.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2007

We just got back yesterday from a 7 day trip at La Villa Marbella - to rain and flooding. Already longing to go back. The beautiful weather was coupled with a wonderful hotel experience, thanks to Marcos and his team. The hotel decor is relaxing and breakfast on the roof terrace was the perfect way to start the day.

The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed with evening drinks on the terrace chatting to other guests.

However, singly the best part of the 'experience' was Marcos' genuine desire for us to have the best possible time in Marbella. He did this with spot on recommendations for dining and places to visit and hand drawn maps that were easier to follow than the Sat Nav! We felt that not a second of our holiday was wasted.

We are looking forward to returning soon. William & Julie, UK.

  • Liked — The atmosphere generated by the owner, Marcos
  • Disliked — Finding it when first arriving.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

Just got back from Spain and what can only be described as one of the best holiday experiences we've ever had! From the moment you arrive in the quaint streets of the old town in Marbella and your first encounter with Marcos you know this is going to be something different and special. His attentive personal touches really made a difference....something that is mirrored by the rest of the hotel 'family'. Calling them staff is alomst an insult. Advice was always on tap in terms of where to go and what to do. From day one we had every intention of venturing to Ronda, exploring the old side streets of Malaga, a boat trip to Puerto Banus but we found ourselves trapped in a circle of relaxtion. Sleep, eat, beach,read, eat, drink, eat, sleep. The hotel and cottages are beautiful. Tastefully decorated. Furnished to a high standard with every creature comfort. Old Marbella is fantastic. Restaurants a plenty serving superb cuisine all reasonably priced. Veggies well catered for. The beach was great. Carry on from the public section and walk for 10/15 mins to find a good a spot. All in all a fab time. A place to be recommended. We will be back. Andy and Tish :) Wiltshire England

  • Liked — The Staff, rooms, location.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2007

I have never written a review on a hotel before but this time I just had to! What magic was it that, after 5 days at La Villa Marbella with Marcos and his team, we felt we were leaving home and family? My husband and I ended up in Marbella by chance. We needed a holiday and were too busy to do a lot of research or book way ahead. TripAdvisor to the rescue - it always feels better when someone has recommended a place. When I read the reviews I was intrigued. Could any hotel be that good? Well, La Villa Marbella deserves all the superlatives. The location is great, right in the heart of Marbella's old town. This cosy boutique hotel manages to provide everything one could need - our en-suite bathroom was spacious and well equipped, and I particularly loved our room's Romeo and Juliet style balcony overlooking the quiet cobblestoned street.

The decor is lush, beautiful woods and silks from Asia, most tastefully blended. The best part is the welcome. On the first night when we asked for a nice restaurant to have dinner, Joanna simply said: "Come, I will take you there." Marcos and Bolivar and Joanna and Amy are the people with whom we interacted daily, each with a winning personality, warm and welcoming. None of the other guests went out on the town in the evenings either - we just all congregated on the lovely roof terrace and chatted until the wee hours of the morning with Bolivar in attendance with his secret recipe Sangria.

There is magic in that place. It is a place to make friends. We'll be going back before this year is out! See you there.

  • Liked — Location, Warm welcome, beauty and comfort of rooms, bathroom,service
  • Disliked — it scored a perfect 10 - nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.