We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel to your Saves list
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed as a couple for 5 nights / 6 days @ the beginning of April at the La Ville Marbella. We arrived at Malaga airport and got the express bus 8euros each to Marbella & around a 40 minute trip (they run hourly(ish)). From there a taxi for 7euros & it’s literally a 5 minute trip.
I can only mimic what 700+ other people have said about this hotel really, it’s absolutely the only place I’d stay if we came back to the old town again.

The breakfast is served up to 12 mid-day, so don’t have to worry about any early starts unless you want to. You choose what you would like for breakfast when you first check in. All the staff are super friendly & helpful if you need any advice on what to do/where to go. Markus made a special effort to say hello when we arrived & good bye/thanks on departure. They also organised our taxi back to the airport which saved us a lot of hassle.

We stayed in the Hanoi room in the courtyard building (also where breakfast is served, I believe the hotel consists of around 5 separate buildings dotted closely to each other), thai themed & decorated well. The room was very clean, sheets & towels being replaced daily, stereo left on by the cleaner so always a nice ambience in the room to come back to.

The location of this hotel is superb!! Its less than a 5 minute walk to the beach & smack bang in the middle of the old town so surrounded by bars, restaurants, shops & clothing boutiques. We treated it like a B&B which I guess it essentially is - leaving us to go & eat at the many outstanding restaurants Marbella has to offer. Would highly recommend anyone staying to visit the ‘The Orange Tree’ (fillet steak & lamb were sublime!!!) and Tempora the food is out of this world!! Skina, a tiny Michelin star restaurant is situated about 30seconds away also if your budget can stretch to a night in there, acquired food tastes but a memorable experience.

If I had any minor gripes with the stay and they hardly bear mentioning considering the overall experience was that we had a couple of showers where the water was fluctuating temperature - very hot to cold & the pool was freezing though as to be expected at the time of year we went & the fact it had rained the entire week before we arrived.

Ultimately an awesome holiday / hotel stay making a change from the usual complex resort holiday equip with an abudence of pools & gyms. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to get away to relax & chill out in the lovely quaint old town of Marbella.

Room Tip: The street level rooms can be noisy at times if you require complete piece & quiet. Breakfast is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    83
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
116
730
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Despite multiple tripadvisor reviews to the contrary, we weren’t expecting a great deal from this hotel at the end of our Spanish holiday. It didn’t take long to be won over. Although the comprehensive series of maps provided by Marcos ahead of our arrival appeared daunting, they were very easy to navigate. The reception office is only two minutes’ walk from the suggested car park and even less distance by the time we were escorted back down the calle to our residence. Both in terms of suggested itineraries offered at time of reservation and the friendliness and efficiency at reception, the staff really do stand out. We were provided with multiple dining suggestions. An early breakfast ahead of our departure for the airport was no trouble at all.

The Saigon room wasn’t the most modern of our holiday, but was clean, quiet, well-presented and very comfortable. Of course, the hotel is very conveniently situated in the heart of the old town.

Marcos and team are worthy winners of the 2013 Travellers’ Choice Best Service Award.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

It was my husbands 50th and our wedding anniversary so wanted the weekend to be extra special. It took me a long time to decide where to stay but after reading all the review about La Villa decided this was the place and was not disappointed.
It did take us a while to find it as it's not easily signposted plus it was late at night. ~Unfortunatley we were allocated the wrong room and was asked to move although very apologetic for the oversight. We were then upgraded to a gorgeous room complete with it's on hot tub on the terrace....highly recommend!
Marcos and his team are the best I've ever dealt with and they cannot do enough to help you. Due to the room changes Marcos even left a box of chocolates and a lovely note apologising once again.
This small hotel is unique and a perfect spot to stay as the Old Town has some fantastic restaraunts and bars and not too far from the small beach.
We would definately go back and highly recommend staying at the La Villa Marbella!!

Room Tip: Not sure what the name is but I think it is the only one with a hot tub, also the room in the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for an anniversary, kindly bought by our children.
What an excellent hotel, not pompous in any way but 5star all the way. Really good and professional staff made our stay so comfortable. Breakfast excellent too and they could cater for my diabetes.
Pool was lovely and warm and the local wine was very good.
Can't wait to travel back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel never disappoints, nothing is too much trouble. I love their yogurt and hot chocolate and breakfast!!

Marcos and his lovely team always there to make your stay perfect. We stayed in the loft building - beautiful.

Location is perfect - also make sure you have drinks and lunch at the little tapas bar directly opposite, at the bottom of the street on your way to or from the hotel

Thank you once again La Villa Marbella and we look forward to seeing you all very soon!!

Room Tip: There are steps up to many of the rooms/bedrooms but you can always discuss your needs for accessibi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We can see why it it ranked number 1. This little gem spread over a number of properties in the beautiful old town are of Marbella - the only place to stay unless you are someone who must be in a highrise overlooking the beach. We had a lovely room in the 'Cottage' - you enter off the road into a kitchen, living room and courtyard area, with one room off the courtyard (ours and 2 upstairs off the courtyard. The pool is a short, couple of minute walk to another nearby property - equaly as pretty and beautiflly decorated. Also a rooftop balcony to enjoy. We had the place all to ourselves, but we could imagine how good this set up would be for a family or group of friends needing a few rooms - all self contained.

Breakfast served on lovely roortop terrace. Food bought to table vs buffet - Order the day before.

Marcus and staff were wonderful - very friendly and helpful with advice, directions, where to eat (loved Cappacino down on the waterfront), printing boarding passes, taxi arrangements, etc. 7 Euro cab ride to bus station for exploring nearby areas, connections to Malaga train station (Madrid connection), Malaga airport etc.

thank you Marcus and staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The staff of this hotel made an everlasting impression on me and my friend with the most personal and devoted customer service we've ever experienced. In my earlier job as export manager I travelled abroad 150 days a year for about 10 years and stayed in hundreds of hotels. I have strict requirements concerning value for money, and even more so for private holiday purposes. La Villa Marbella exceeded all our expectations! We had a problem with our beautiful historical but slightly impractical room (darkness, minimal wardrobe, high staircase - we both have had a leg operated - and the bed was too hard for my friend's back) so the room was immediately changed - at no extra cost - to a suite downstairs (plus an extra soft mattress). During the week we stayed, Marcos and his staff made personally sure every day that we were missing nothing. I trust people who read these reviews will also respect their effort the correct way, because sometimes a super good word also raises expectations and the demand level becomes sky-high. La Villa Marbella is however a 3-star hotel, but their staff certainly represent the world champion quality! Helena, 61, Vantaa, Finland

Room Tip: Over 200 years old separate buildings with 2 floors and many stairs, no elevators. If you have any p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.