We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The boutique hotel that has a warm heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Marbella
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The boutique hotel that has a warm heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Marcus and all the staff made our holiday very special by treating us like royalty.
Lots of love and care was put into every part of our stay.
The hotel was very charming and catered for our every need. The breakfast was amazing and all the team worked very hard.
A special mention must go to William who helped us at reception, was there to serve up breakfast and helped with our luggage. He definitely knew how to multi task.
If you want the perfect holiday then look no further than La Villa Marbella. I just wish they would expand all over the world.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    917
    71
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
101
670
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I had the opportunity to have 4 days away at Easter and because flights were good from East Midlands with Jet2 we went to Malaga airport and stayed at La Villa Marbella in Marbella Old Town. We had chosen this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and the fact it was located in the old town of Marbella.

Flight left on time on Friday morning at around 7.30am and arrived at Malaga airport around 11.00. We had decided to get the bus to Marbella and the bus kiosk is just by the exit doors. They are regular but you have to book your ticket for a particular bus before you can board. We booked the direct bus at 12.30pm to Marbella. This was €16 for the 2 of us. The bus left at 12.35 and at 1.15pm we were at Marbella bus station. Smooth and hassle free and so much cheaper than a taxi. We then got a taxi from the bus station to the hotel which cost €9 (only 7) on the way back .

We arrived at the hotel around 1.45pm and we were greeted by Marcos the owner and Isabella, an employee. What a lovely, lovely guy Marcos is. Marcos speaks 5 and a 1/2 languages, he says the half is German. We were welcomed like long time friends and were delighted to be told we had been upgraded to a Shanghai room. At the time it did not mean too much but we were then told our room was ready and Isabella would show us to our room. The hotel consists of 5 houses in the cobbled streets of Marbella Old Town all in different locations but all near each other. Our hotel "the Courtyard" was about a minutes walk from reception. We were shown to a room on the top floor and when the door was opened we were greeted by a four poster bed. We then had to go up some step and we were shown the bathroom and leading off the bathroom was a door to our own roof top terrace complete with hot tub !!!! Absolute bliss. We spent each early evening in the hot tub sipping bubbles before we went out for an evening meal .

The room we had wasn't large when compared to some hotels we have been to in Turkey and New York but it had a flat screen tv, DVD,cd player, free safe and a pay as you go minibar and a tea and coffee making facility We did not watch too much tv!

The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable and Marcos told us if we needed more pillows or blankets just call ANY time. There is no point trying to sleep if you haven't got the right pillows he said and we are available 24hours a day. Superb customer service if you wanted it.

For breakfast you ticked a list of things you wanted , fruit juice, tea/coffee (nespresso) croissant filled with ham and Spanish cheese , pain au chocolat, cereal or fresh fruit and yoghurt. We had breakfast in what was effectively the living room converted to Breakfast room. We could have eaten on the patio area by the downstairs small pool if we had wanted to.

The location of the hotel was superb, near restaurants, shops, and bars. Marcos said when we had settled in to come back to the reception and he would advise what were good restaurants and he sent us to a lovely Tapas Bar near the beach. Rose wine was €1.70, heaven for my wife. The tapas was excellent and was brought out from the kitchens on a regular basis and you chose whether you wanted to sample the cuisine. Each tapas snack had a stick in to and the type of stick determined the price of the tapas. For example one stick with a heart on the end was say €1.75 but another with just a plain stick might be €1.50. Lovely way to spend a Good Friday afternoon.


We had a great 4 days and all to soon it was over.

Had we enjoyed the break ? Wow yes, but this had been given that wow factor by the hotel we had stayed in . Service was personable and superb. Nothing was too much trouble for Marcos or the staff. They also said we could stay in the room until we had to leave at around 2.45 pm which meant we could relax and take our time packing. They also organised the taxi for us to get to the bus station .

Would we go back , without a doubt. Great hotel and fully deserving of its no 1 spot for hotels in Marbella. 5 star in all aspects for me (although only rated a 3 star officially) but really this hotel is for couples who want to relax and walk and see the sights.

Room Tip: Take the Shanghai room if possible if you like privacy of a roof top terrace and a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed recently for two nights at Villa Marbella based on tripadvisor recommendations. We were hesitant at first because we were driving in to town and was worried about where to park our car, but rest assured there is a parking lot nearby for only $5 euro per 24 hr. located in the old town region of Marbella and the resort consists of multiple residences that were purchased and converted over to rooms for the villa. We checked in late afternoon and the staff was so friendly, giving us recommendations on restaurants and sights to visit around town. Even gave us recommendations of day trips and other things to do without asking. Personally walked us to our room (which we got a free upgrade on) and made sure we were settled with our luggage. When we returned later in the night, we had a problem with our room. We called in past 10pm and instead of being resistant, the staff called the manager and then personally came to our room to check on our issue. He was genuinely concerned, went back to talk the manager and then physically walked back to hand us keys to another room. We were very pleased with the service and that was before we arrived at our next room. We were given keys to their Singapore suite, and it was an amazing room. An extra loft with couch and tv viewing area upstairs. Full size tub with jacuzzi jets and shower, we loved the room for the two nights we stayed and wished we could have stayed longer in Marbella. Without the amazing suite we were given, more than anything I was impressed with the staff. Their concern over our stay did not stop with the room, the next day we were personally called by the manager who asked us to stop by the front desk area. We met Marco for the first time there and he apologized profusely for the problems with our first room (first of many), then thanked us for pointing out the issue, then followed up with our plans for the day. We decided to go to Gibraltar and he went over the whole trip with us, then proceeded to call our rental car company to see if it can cross into Gibraltar and then gave us reccomendationsnfor tours there. When we got back from our day we found a note and a box of chocolates for our troubles. When we showed up to check out, Marco gave us his card with personal contact info, asked us to call him anytime with any questions while we were still abroad in Spain ( and once again apologized). Needless to say we were taken aback by his friendliness and even tho we didn't plan on using it, this gesture was just another indication of how much their staff cares about their guests' experience. I am not gonna get into the issue we experienced, but I would trust 100% that it will be fixed prior to renting out the room due to our experience during our stay, and if not they will make things right. Our most positive experience in our two week Spain adventure with lodging. Would not hesitate to recommend this place to stay and the people who work there. Did I mention breakfast was included with the standard rate? Wonderful...

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Really nice hotel in the old town of Marbella. We visited Marbella in the last leg of our holiday in Andalucia and were really happy with the choice we'd made. Marcos and Ben were really helpful and provided valuable information about the local area. We stayed at the Java room and it was very tastefully decorated. The breakfast was served at the courtyard, a few meters ahead of our room. The breakfast was really good and served by a very caring staff. Overall, we had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Yes it's true. All the good reviews you read about this hotel is true. The rooms are charming, and so are the rooftop terraces. The staff is friendly and service minded. When you check out you leave with that in mind that next time you go to Marbella you will definitely stay at La Villa Marbella.

We had the pleasure of staying in the Phuket Room for two nights. A very nice room with a beautiful ceiling and a nice bathroom. We liked it so much we wanted to stay a third night. Lucky for us the fully booked hotel got a last minute cancellation of the Saigon Room, a spacious room with a large bathroom, and a terrace overlooking the swimmingpool. Next time we go to Marbella we will definitely stay at La Villa Marbella.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for four nights last week. We stayed in the Saigon room in the courtyard. The room had a rustic feel but also had everything that you could want as luxuries. The one downside is that the room faces on to the street and can be noisy on a night time especially with all the holy processions that were going on for Easter. So if you go at Easter and are a light sleeper ask for a quiet room.
The staff were amazing and nothing was any trouble - full marks to Marcos and his team. Overall we both would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Marbella.
Finally we had an excellent tour guide in Gibraltar called Paul. We would recommend his service to anyone wanting to visit Gibraltar. Again this was all arranged by Marcos and his team.
This is what service is about.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I've reviewed this place before but whenever I return it always lives up to expectations. This time we wanted to see Gibralter so Marcos found us the most amazing guide - Paul Delmar. We went to the top of the peak, none of the other tours bothered. Imagine climbing around the big guns and command center all by yourself for an hour. If La Villa Marbella assists with your travel excusions you can bet the experience will be unforgettable. We got back very late, called the hotel while traveling, and they ran down the road to make sure a restaurant would stay open for us.

Room Tip: See other reviews. Any room is great. I noted an excellent restaurant but that is only available for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.