We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great hotel in very nice location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel to your Saves list
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great staff, great hotel in very nice location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were driving through Marbella and decided to stay for the night. We did a quick search on Tripadvisor and saw that this hotel had great reviews. We stopped in and talked to Miguel(?) at the front desk who was a great host and showed us to an open room. The Bangkok room, where we stayed, was excellent - large, comfortable, and nicely decorated with a big comfy bed. We were given a great recommendation for dinner that night and had a nice long stroll down the water front to see the beautiful sunset over the mountains. The service here is above and beyond and everyone was friendly and helpful. The area is great and close to many restaurants and walk-able little lanes. The breakfast was made to order and the croissants were delicious. I would definitely stay here again on the next trip to Marbella.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    75
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
110
693
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Another great stay at La Villa Marbella. As a family we stayed in the Cherating and Palawan rooms. The rooms are very spacious, excellently decorated, and very well presented. Added to this the team at the La Villa Marbella always make for special stay. The weather while we were out there was fantastic for the time of year as were the New Year celebrations in the old town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It has taken me quite a bit of time to sit down and write a reveiw for this hotel; not because I have anything bad to say, on the contray; simply fact is, the more people writing rave revews, the more people book up - and then less chance we have getting a room!!

La Villa Marbella is such a beautiful hotel, and I know that we will be guests for years to comes.
The service that Marcos and his fabulous team provice is excellent, a 5* hotel but at affordable prices.

We visited in September (3 nights) and December (2 nights) this year and both occassions were perfect.

Our visit in Sep we stayed in the main house and in the smallest of the rooms, to the right of reception area and at street level. Perfect for a short stay and smaller budget although the noise level was pretty much constant from early morning to late at night. My husband and I didn't mind this, but you may wish to book a higher placed room for a longer say.

I came with my mum in December for a mini break and Marcos upgraded me from for no charge to one of his larger twin bed rooms. This in itself was a lovely gesture.

The fixtures and fittings are really very beautiful in all of the buildings/rooms. Bedding is spotless and your room is turned down each morning and the batroom is always so sparkly clean. Little touches - beach towls, chocolate, water, nice toiletries, as much help as you need for anything - all make this place excellent.

Breakfast is chosen at the start of your stay and was plentiful and yummy hot chocolate!!

This will always be our first choice hotel to book and to reccommend to anyone coming to Marbella and staying in the Old Town.

Thank you La Villa Marbella!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed a 2 night stay here recently. Stayed in the borocay room which was really nicely decorated with a large bathroom. The staff here were very welcoming and friendly. They provided nice recommendations for dinner. the hotel is in the old town and everything is within walking distance. My only complaint would be that we were not informed that breakfast was served in a seperate building a few doors up. The information booklet in the room stated the terrace. No one was available on the 24/7 reception to direct us and as a result we did not enjoy breakfast which we paid for. Also the room was not replenished on a daily basis with tea and coffee facilities or water.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Brazilian owner Marcos is very friendly and helpful as all his crew, this makes the visitor to feel comfortable. The rooms are very clean. The decor in the hotel is South Asian.
Stayed at the Banyan ”Junior” Suite. The floor area is what I would call a double room but as it is in the attic, the ceiling descends from the middle of the room down to a height of approx. 1 m at one end. This makes that to reach this end you must crawl. On this “wall” is the rooms only windows, two round portholes of about 0,5 m in diameter, making the room hazy even in broad daylight. The room has no table, except for a small chest in front of the two seated sofa. Neither are there any chairs. The only reading light is at the one side of the bed. Just above the bed is the AC/Heater blowing to the bed. The terrace, size 3,5x2 m is to the southwest, enjoyable on a sunny day. The terrace door has windows giving some light to the room but as it is at the end of a corridor, it did not give much light. This “Junior” suite suits mainly newlywed or young couples who are happy with a large bed.
Generally the areas in the hotel are not heated; in the breakfast room the staff used the parka jackets or similar winter clothes. This is quite general in most of the small hotels and restaurants in Spain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We had a long weekend at this hotel because it was recommended to us by my daughter. We like the concept of lots of separate houses as it is in keeping with the old town and doesn't spoil the area with a large hotel. We were upgraded by Marcos to the Palawan room as we had been recommended to the hotel. The room was in a house two minutes from reception and was on the first floor with a little balcony. It was very tastefully furnished with a Thai theme, a large comfortable bed, mini bar, tea and coffee and TV with millions of channels! Isabella welcomed us and she couldn't have been more helpful, she recommended places to go and where to eat and gave clear instructions on the map. We had a fabulous time and can't wait to return. We enjoyed our breakfast very much particularly the large bowl of sliced fresh fruit with Greek yoghurt and lots of honey and lovely warm croissants yummy! Marcos arranged our transport back to the airport for us...a perfect end to a perfect mini break! I am recommending this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: Ask Marcos and Isabella to recommend a room depending on what is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights last week and found it to be everything we wanted. It felt so small it was more like a B & B which we like. Gorgeous terrace to have a very nice breakfast served up until 12 noon which was great if you want a lie in on holiday! The perfect location in the old town. We stayed in the Lombok room on the ground floor which we probably wouldn't again only because it could be a bit noisy when people were checking in and out of the hotel. It wasn't a huge problem though and the staff are charming and couldn't do enough for us. We will definitely return but in a room on the first floor or in one of the other buildings. We got a taxi booked by the hotel from and to Malaga airport which meant no hassle!
All in all a very good stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.