We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for 3rd time and another great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel to your Saves list
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Devizes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Back for 3rd time and another great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Many thanks to Marcos, Isabel, and the team at La Villa Marbella for another great stay. As my wife says she always feels at home at La Villa Marbella and this stay was no exception. As the weather was so hot we even tried the pool this time which was very pleasant. We will be back again for the New Year.

Room Tip: They all seem to be pretty good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    80
    17
    6
    0
See reviews for
115
716
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I think the title says it all; our stay at La Villa Marbella felt more like being at home with welcoming friends than staying in a hotel. The staff is extremely helpful and kind and the rooms are fantastic.
Everything is done to make you feel special.

The location can't be beat for Marbella, both with easy access to the seafront (walkable with beach towels and in flip-flops) and for its charm.

I can't recommend this place highly enough, well worth a stay!

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the (narrow) streets are probably quieter, but this is Spain...nobody goes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We recently stayed at La Villa Marbella for 7 nights in the Langkawi Room (in 'The Cottage') and it was absolutely wonderful! It is located in the heart of the Old Town and is not your average hotel, but a set of historic buildings 1-2 minutes walk from each other. Each building has its own asian style and decor, with each room named after different places in the Far East; some have their own terrace where you can have breakfast and also a living room area to relax in. 'The Courtyard' is the only building to have a small dipping pool and a few sunbeds, which all guests have access to (despite the website saying it is limited to The Courtyard guests).

We arrived to a really warm welcome from William who helped us with our bags, escorting us to The Cottage (1 minute walk away from the main reception building) and he was very friendly and polite all throughout our holiday. Our room had a lovely 4 poster bed, juliet balcony, exposed brick wall and a cute archway leading to the bathroom and it was kept very clean and tidy until the end of our stay. There was also an adjustable air-con and free wi-fi in certain spots. There aren't many photos of Langkawi room online, however I presume this is because it is very similar to other rooms that have been posted i.e. Boracay. Upon arrival, you are asked to fill out a breakfast form for the rest of your stay, which you can change at any point. Breakfast is excellent, filling and more than enough for the morning; even better, it is available until 12 midday. On most mornings, Isabela served our breakfast and was really lovely at all times. Definitely try the pain au chocolat, spanish muffin and ham & cheese croissant- all very tasty. Breakfast for guests staying in The Cottage was on the terrace of the main reception building, which overlooked the mountains, was very pleasant and looked much nicer in reality than the pictures portrayed (if that is even possible!).

Marcos and his team were extremely helpful in providing guidance on where to go/what to eat/what to avoid and made it clear that nothing was too much trouble e.g. they were very efficient in making restaurant reservations and booking taxis for us. Juan was particularly helpful in giving us the best restaurant recommendations which were ALL fabulous. Pintxo had super delicious tapas and was a great lunch time treat. We also dined at The Orange Tree and Casanis (both recommended) and they had fantastic atmosphere and gorgeous food! We actually tried to eat at The Orange Tree without a reservation but they were fully booked, so I highly suggest reserving both here and Casanis- our favourite restaurant of the holiday.

Marcos recommended some excellent beach clubs to have a quick spot of lunch and/or to sunbathe all day. It is important to note that the sunbeds can be a little expensive, but it is worth dishing out the extra money for the comfort- especially if you're planning on spending the whole day there. The local beach is a pleasant 7 minute walk away and Puerto Banus is a 30 minute ferry ride away (€15pp, return) / by taxi, 10 minutes, about €12 one way- good for a day trip. The 'La Pesquera' beach club (5 minute walk from the Puerto Banus marina) had some lovely soft white sunbeds (€10pp) and were definitely worth it. Finally, Marcos suggested Trocadero Arena, which was a beautiful secluded beach club- also nice for a spot of lunch (€10 taxi ride, €10pp sunbed). If you like to venture into the sea a lot, I highly recommend bringing some towels and sitting on the sand just towards the right of Trocadero, as the beach directly in front is pebbly. The sand here is very soft and it has a quiet, romantic atmosphere.

On our penultimate day, Marcos mentioned that he would try to provide us with a room the next day, as the latest checkout was at 12pm and our flight was at 7:30pm. Unfortunately all the rooms were fully booked, but the offer was 100% genuine and went beyond what most hotels would have offered in the first place. Instead, it turned out perfectly, as Marcos allowed us to use The Courtyard facilities to freshen up after a morning session at the beach. Ben got us fresh towels/water etc. and was very accommodating to our needs; despite not seeing him much throughout our holiday, he spoke to us as if we had known him for years.

La Villa Marbella is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location, but it was the impeccable service that made our stay a 5* experience! We shall definitely be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

From the first meet to the final good-byes we have never felt so welcomed. The room was fantastic; we were upgraded to the Banyan suite which came with a lovely balcony and all the amenities you would require on your stay. The room was part of The Lodge, one of the houses across which the hotel is situated. Breakfast on the roof terrace was excellent.

A very short walk away we were surrounded by quaint restaurants and tapas bars away from the hustle and bustle of the main beach front.

We were treated like regulars and given loads of help and information on the area including some excellent little eateries. If you want more of the Marbella night life a little walk away is the beach front providing you with all your nightlife needs.

This break was to celebrate our second anniversary and we both feel that Marcus and the team helped make it a very special break.

We definitely recommend this hotel and will hopefully return soon. There is a reason why their ratings are so good.

Room Tip: I am sure any room you choose here will be a delight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed for 4 days in the Andaman room at The Design (not in the main building). Its located on a fairly quiet street nearby the restaurants. Our room was stunning, clean and it felt very luxurious. The rooms have a kettle with a choice of different tea plus coffee to chose from. There is fruit salad & a selection of pastries/croissants for breakfast that we had on the pretty roof top every morning. The hotel is situated in the old town where there are many Tapas bars/restaurants to chose from. You can by a glass of Rioja for 2-3 euros but I also recommend tasting the Sangria, as they all make it fresh with plenty of red wine! I wasnt overly keen to eat at the Orange square as there are many restaurants with pictures of food on show that I tend to avoid but if you want eggs etc for breakfast or just relax with a coffee its perfect place to watch the world go by! The public transport is cheap and worth using as its clean and air conditioned and always on time. Marcus gave us instructions, where to find places, how to get there, what to see. We went to Ronda by bus and Puerto Banus by the ferry but I wish we stayed longer. Marcus and his team were so friendly, helpful, kind and considerate and that made my short visit perfect in every way. I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Marcus can organise a car to pick you up from the airport, its pricey but its worth it if you are ar...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed at Villa Marbella for one night. Situated right in the middle of old town. Nearby parking for 5.-EUR/24hours ask before check in about parking, they explain you the way.
Warm welcome, made me feel like I was there thousends of times before, really nice. Explained everything. Room was outstanding, with terrace and own Jacuzzi (that could have been a bit warmer though), extra living room, wonderful bath room adjoining to the terrace. Cant get any better. Room was very clean.
Breakfast was served in the main building as our room was located in a different house ( 1 min walk, Hotel consist of more small historic buildings all close by, nothing to worry about). Breakfast setting itself was on a little terrace with lovely view over old district and the mountains. Breakfast itself was good and enough, you have to made your choice the day before, but I am sure you can get/ask for whatever you want.
Check out went friendly and quick.
After leaving the Hotel, we found out that we had forgotten a special pillow. Called up the Hotel, the even recognized me by name only after mentioning my room (that 7star standard). The looked for it, got a email two days later that they found it and will send it to me.

After all, LVM is the place you wish to have in every city you are traveling to.
Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

i recently visited LVM for 10 nights with my girlfriend in the beginning of august and from the start, marcos and his staff including ben, helen and rianne were at our beckon call. they were absolutely the best! they made us feel at home with their impeccable service , care and hospitality. because i missed the connection at JFK from LAX, we were rerouted to madrid instead of our original destination of malaga. after taking a 3 hour train ride from madrid to malaga, instead of a 30 minute car ride had we landed where we should have, we wouldnt have been as exhausted as we were when we arrived. the fact that our luggage didnt join us for the first 3 days didnt help our emotional state of mind either, but marcos and ben did whatever they could to work with the airlines to help locate our missing bags, (i always travel with a carryon with 3 days of clothes and toiletries anyway.) they really took the pressure off my hands so we could settle in. they handled the situation very well! LVM has uniquely decorated rooms within a number of buildings all within walking moments of each other. we stayed in the newly built palawan room, with an asian-zen flair. loved the colors and furnishings as it reminded me of my home in los angeles. the rooms were not overly large but were very well appointed. the bathroom was clean and contemporary as well with great water pressure. save for the bed that was just a touch too firm for my liking, i was very pleased with the accommodation. each day helen or rianne (students from the netherlands), served us a lovely and simple but delicious breakfast of fresh fruit and pastry by the quaint pool they have in one of the buildings, (one of, if not the only pool in old marbella.) whether marcos or ben were making dinner reservations at the fabulous restaurants in town, or helping us with day plans that included visits to malaga, gibraltar, tanger,morocco, sevilla or granada, intertwined with kick-back days at puro beach, trocadero and the ocean club, everything was handled effortlessly and graciously! i didnt have to think at all. last but not least, NOT EXPENSIVE and an unbelievable value. all in all, a great experience in a wonderful town. will be back in a heartbeat...sooner than later.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.