We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been back and still a great place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Been back and still a great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Just came back from 2nd visit to La Villa Marbella and it is still a great place. I don't usually like going back to a place more than once as I generally find it isn't as good 2nd time around and spoils the memories. However, this is not the case with La Villa Marbella. This time stayed in the newly opened Design Property and it is another fantasticly designed and decorated property - well done Marcos and Team. Again Marcos, Isabella, Ben and the team did everything they could to make it another memorable stay. Also Marbella Old Town has a lot to offer with restaurants and closeness to everything. I think we will be back again in September!

Room Tip: Stayed in 3 rooms now and they all been very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    858
    63
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
91
621
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Looking for something a bit different, we chose to stay here at the end of March 2012 for 3 nights.

It's a lovely collection of pretty, modern rooms set in 3 different houses all within a few metres of each other. Painstakingly restored to a very high standard, in the quiet part of the old town. Breakfast is served in a one of the houses, which has a small pool and a roof terrace.

Great staff, who all spoke very good English and couldn't have been more helpful or knowledgeable, helping us with directions and recommending local bars, tapas and sights.

So enjoyable - thanks to Marco and all the staff

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at la villa for three days march 17th 20th we stayed here because of the great reveiws. All I can say is fantastic. Marcos. Isabella . Were brilliant . Hotel very charming . Surrounding old town lovely. will definetly stay here again very soon I hope . Wish we were still there :-) jw & cw Aberdeen Scotland

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just returned from a quick break in Marbella, visiting the area for the first time. We booked Villa Marbella through Hotels.com and used the hotel website as a guide to pick a room that suited my wife and I. We decided to book the Datai room which is located in the Cottage building a few yards up the road from reception. This building comprises 3 rooms, an inside lounge, and roof terrace. It also has its own kitchen, presumably to be utilised if you rent the entire building. The Datai room was excellent, including Sat TV, HIFI, mini bar, tea/coffee making facility, iron, safe,and a great bathroom. The place was impecably spotless, and cleaned thoroughly each day. I must also point out that it was extremely quiet and peaceful, and we heard no traffic noise etc at all during our entire stay.

The level of service displayed from the hotels staff/owners was first class, and on a par with some 5 star hotels I have been lucky enough to stay in. The personal touch is unbelievable, and nothing is too much trouble. We were checked in quickly and efficently by Boli, who also helped us with restaurant recommendations - all of which were perfect - including Tapas bars (we really enjoyed Bodegas La Venencia), Pinxto bars, and he even booked a table in a great restaurant called Red Pepper in Peurto Banus. He provided me with a detailed map, drawing on how to navigate the Old Town, and pointing out bars/restaurants etc.

Breakfast is pre ordered when checking in, an consists of the usual continental affair - all of which was delicious, and served promptly. In fact breakfast is served right through to noon, which suited us perfectly.

The Hotel is situated only a few streets away from Orange Square, and a couple of minutes walk to the beach (downhill) or to a taxi rank if you fancy getting out of town, or up to the bus stop. It even has some lovely buildings surrounding it, and plenty of small bars, cafes, shops, chemists etc all in walking distance.

As it was slightly out of season we found the area quiet most evenings, but with so many options to eat/drink, it wouldnt really be a problem if busier.

On checking out we had decided not to have breakfast so we could catch our bus to the airport - but Marco insisted we had time stating that he would have a taxi ready and waiting for us when we had finished eating - and if we missed the bus he would personally drive us to the airport! Of course he knew that the Spanish bus service is in no rush, and we caught our bus without a problem (4.77 euro to Airport one way - 45mins).

Our first trip to Marbella exceeded all expectations, helped by our wonderful stay at Villa Marbella - are we will be sure to stay there again (and recommend to all our friends and family). A big thank you to Boli for all his recommendations, Ben for giving us some much needed info about the general strike that was on (affecting bus services), and Marco for providing us with such a unique and memorably stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This hotel was toward the end of our stay, and easily became the apex of our experiences with Spanish hoteliers. From Marcos' superb front-desk skills (he secured us a guide in Morrocco, recommended memorable places to eat or dine within walkingbdistance depending on budget, and helped us navigate Gibraltar) to the young exchange student serving us a sumptuous breakfast and tea each morning, this hotel is dripping in the definition of superior customer service. That alone would be enough for me to praise and recommend it, but the inn itself is stellar. Big, clean, themed rooms, updated baths, comfy beds, turndown service, hospitable staff and all within easy cobblestone steps to the old city because it's in the old town. Can't drive up to door (though we tried until a local shouted "prohibito!" at us - so much for Garmin's Spanish GPS upgrade), but easy walk from relatively inexpensive parking. The rooms are spread out among white-stuccoed apartments, so you feel emersed in the local atmosphere, and you can stand on the little balconies and observe the feel of the place. Highly recommend this inn with one caution: if you're driving, email or call hotel itself for directions to the car park (parking lot) in advance. It's off site, and not difficult. But we booked through Hotels.com, and it only provided an address, which we plugged into GPS. Trust us, you can't get there from anywhere that way. Once checked in, hotel made parking process simple. Wish we were still there!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We were just passing through Marbella for one night, so I booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews, and I'm happy to say that they were absolutely right! The owner Marcos, and all the staff were so welcoming, and seemed genuinely pleased to help, the staff at many a 5-star hotel should be sent here for a training course!

We stayed in the Lhasa suite, which is basically a small apartment with two indoor sitting rooms and a large comfortable roof terrace with a jacuzzi, all very tastefully decorated, and very reasonably priced. The various rooms and suites are scattered round the old town. We loved the short walk through the narrow streets and leafy plaza to get to breakfast, which is in another courtyard building with a pool.

Marbella was very charming and relaxed in March before the hordes of summer, but hot enough to spend a couple of days eating seafood on cafe terraces. The paella at El Gallo just up the road was particularly good.

The Villa Marbella obviously work hard to make sure all their guests are happy and judging from our experience and those of other reviewers, they are clearly very successful!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the Lhasa suite, as it is separate and completely private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Yorkshire, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Not having been to Malaga area before I was at a loss as to where to stay or go for our 3 day visit. It was our wedding anniversary and I had initially decided to go for a 5 star resort hotel however on my internet travels I stumbled upon Villa Marbella and its Shanghai Suite with private terrace and hot tub/jacuzzi. So Marbella seemed to hit the spot and It was so the correct choice! Situated in the heart of the old town the hotel consists of 3 or 4 separate buildings / converted town houses. If travelling by car the Hotel gives clear direction to a close by municipal car park from which it is a 5 minute walk to the hotel reception. If using the car park you need to go to the office and get a multi entry ticket - for us it was 25 euros for 3 days and allows unlimited entry / exit for that period. Ben was on duty and he couldnt have been more helpful!
The room was spotless and had all the facilities including as mentioned its own terrace with sunbeds and jacuzzi!
A simple Continental breakfast was served in the small intimate lounge and just about right, if I'm being a little picky it might have been nice to perhaps have a little more variety.
Over the course of our stay Marco the owner made a point to come and meet us and we also met Boli who also helps out and he in fact was a star in helping us with a small problem we had of out own making! (A lost earring in Peurto Banus & Boli sorted a taxi for us)
All of the dining recommendations were exceptional - Cassanis , Bistro Palermo, The Orange Tree all fantastic as were all of the other recommendations given to us. And being in the heart of the old town all were no more than a 10 minute walk at most!
In all It couldnt really be faulted and as already stated a correct choice on so many levels.
Thanks to Ben, Boli & Marcos (1 and 2!)

Room Tip: Shanghai Suite has private Terrace and Hot Tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.