We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT NEW ADDITION TO LA VILLA MARBELLA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel to your Saves list
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT NEW ADDITION TO LA VILLA MARBELLA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My hubby and I visited our favourite hotel La Villa Marbella in early February to help dispel the winter blues! As usual,the room, which this time was the Java ( we really have trouble choosing a favourite), the hospitality, and the breakfast were excellent, Marcos, Isabella, Boliver and Ben and the rest of Marcos's staff, always go the "extra mile" nothing is too much trouble!

While we were there, we were fortunate enough to have a sneak preview of La Villa Marbella's new property, which is a beautiful old house reformed to a very high standard. Offering four more lovely rooms, only around the corner from the main hotel. It has a wonderful penthouse with hot tub and sunny roof terrace. The decor is in keeping with all of the properties of La Villa Marbella. I for one cannot wait to book a stay in this lovely old house.

Room Tip: It does not matter how much your budget is large or small, all of the rooms are appealing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    75
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
110
695
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Banyan Suite exceeds expectations. Worth to the last penny. The service is personalized. Marbella is a beautiful city with good infrastructure and great food. Do not miss Restaurant Altamirano. Get ready to be happy.
By car, analise previously how to arrive. Streets are small and pedestrians only. The GPS does not provide precise location. There is a parking with good prices for tourists.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Herradura, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

We just got back from our first stay at La Villa Marbella where we stayed for one night for my husband's birthday.

We were welcomed by Bolivar when we arrived and to our delight we were upgraded to the Lhasa apartment because it was a birthday celebration. The apartment was spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and to top it all there was a hot tub on the roof terrace for our use! A really lovely surprise and a great way to finish a fantastic day in Marbella old town.

Bolivar gave us lots of information about where to eat and where to go and any problems we had were dealt with immediately and professionally.

The breakfast was served in the Courtyard which was very good and they even gave my husband a beautiful birthday cake.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everybody. Fantastic value for money!

We will be going back for another stay!

Rachel, La Herradura

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Once gain we had a trully lovely stay here. It always feels like we are going home. This was our 5th visit.The service , help and kindness are just perfect. The hotel rooms are lovely and, spotlessly clean. Many of the larger hotels in Marbella are either struggling for bookings or closing down. Do not be mislead by their tempting deals because they are empty for a reason- past greed, poor service, and their own self importance. La Villa Marbella is superb value for money and you will be guarranteed a lovely memorable holiday.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyneton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

The villa was beautifully appointed and located in the most beautiful winding Spanish street in the 'old' part of Marbella. It was a truly special experience, staying in a lovely property amongst ordinary everyday Spanish people living in Marbella. We will cherish this experience and only wish we could have stayed longer. Marbella is beautiful and this gave us a chance to experience some of what it has to offer. Ben was fantastic from the moment he met us in the car park, walking us through the winding streets to our Villa. The extremely high service standards were maintained through every aspect of our stay. A warm delicious breakfast was serviced by delightful staff and Ben provided us with outstanding advice on where to stay and travel when leaving Marbella. Nothing was too much trouble and La Villa Marbella was the highlight of our 15 days in Spain followed closely by the recommendations made by Ben to go to Carmona, 30 minutes from Seville. We highly recommend this property and encourage anyone to take the opportunity to experience Marbella in this way.
Wonderful experience - cherished memories!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just to clarify with everyone, hotels are marked with stars, these stars are award by how big the swimming pool is, how clean it is, how many sun loungers they have, how many staff work there, how many rooms they have and how many restaurants they have, so on and so forth.. you get the idea.

I've stayed in a few 5* hotels which have been great BUT the service you get here, the friendliness and the cleanliness is impeccable.

I've recently just got back from Spain, I had planned to stay in La Villa Marbella for 2 nights but only ended up staying there for 1.

I've stayed in a couple of penthouses whilst on holiday and a couple in London, UK, so I went ahead and booked the penthouse suite for a surprise engagement for me and my girlfriend. I would like everyone to know that the LHASA penthouse is the best place you should stay in whilst you're in Marbella. I'm not too sure about other apartment hotels/penthouses in Marbella but I know for a fact that this penthouse has been one of the best I've stayed in.

The facilities in this suite are amazing, it consists of; 2 Flat screen T.V's (38"), a beautiful greek shower and basin, a modern kitchenette with cutlery and utensils, 4 poster bed with a built in wardrobe (safe, iron, ironing board inc.), french windows, iPod dock (on request), 2 hi-fi systems, Free Wi-Fi, 2 digital TV systems and a free laptop (although it's in spanish.) Upstairs consists of a gorgeous roofed terraced with table and chairs, and an outdoor covered terrance with private chill area, with an amazing private jacuzzi on the decking.

The whole decor is based on a thai interior with modern features to compliment this all.
If you don't know your way around old Marbella town then it does get a bit confusing but you'll easily find your way around, the beach is only a 5 minute walk away with plenty of restaurants around the area.

Upon arriving we went into the main reception, we was greeted by the ever so helpful manager, Marcos (take not: you can't help notice all the trip adviser plaques, behind him). Him, along with his colleague showed us to where we will be staying. Lhasa is situated away from the main building and reception, it has a private lift unto the suite and as soon as you walk in you realise the amount of space you have. The pictures don't do any favours on how nice the place is but it truly such a stunning apartment, it's another home from home. Marcos and the team will glad go out of their way to help you, which makes your stay that extra bit special as they cater for your every needs.

On the night of my proposal, I requested rose petals and candles upstairs on the terrace with the jacuzzi switched on. Marcos took the time to do all of this with and prepared such a romantic setting for us both, as soon as you opened the door, there was a pathway of roses heading towards the stairs all the way up to the terrace and the chill out area, the whole decking was covered in roses with candles and a drinks laid on the private chill out area and the jacuzzi looked amazing when the jets and lights were switched on. In the morning we went to another building whited served breakfast, we opts for the traditional jam on sera no baguette.

The rose petals and candles were compliments from the Hotel (luckily because she said yes!) This is such an amazing place to stay, We had a gorgeous time in the heart of Marbella old town, right next to the beach, sun shining, in a beautiful penthouse apartment.

I'm 25 and went with my fiancée but this hotel is for all types; couples, business people, family, friends, they really fit to your every needs but the Lhasa especially gives you that space of being alone without the hassle of bumping into people etc etc it honestly makes you feel like you've moved from your home, to another home.

We've got plans to visit Marcos and LHASA again in the summer… next time, it will definitely be a longer stay. Thanks to Marcos and the team for making us feel at home.

Best,
Charlie.

Stayed on the 26th Jan 2012.

Room Tip: LHASA Penthouse Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Hi

We decided we wanted to go away for New year and thought we would use trip advisor to give us some inspiration, we stumbled across this hotel as we knew Marbella was the place we wanted to go. When you read the reviews about this hotel it appears on the surface that its highly rated, still a little unsure we booked it and off we went on the 29th of December. I want to tell you that every bit of feedback given about the hotel was 100% accurate. If you are looking for a place to stay were the service is fantastic, staff cant do enough for you, a charming location with lots of amazing restaurants near by then this is were you need to go! We will be going back hopefully soon as we loved it so much. We also visited Peurto Benus and it was lovely (exspensive) but you do pay for what you get.
I truely loved our mini break it was perfect.
Thanks team Villa Marbella! xxxx

Room Tip: Java room, ground floor opposite the recption.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.