We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, great location, excellent service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Save Saved
You added La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, great location, excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Just got back from a great trip to Marbella's old town (Casco Antiguo). Stayed at La Villa Marbella, which is in a great location in the old town - picturesque, close to restaurants, tapas bars, and local sites. We stayed in the Phuket room which was very well presented with a balcony overlooking the narrow old town street. The service was fantastic with a very welcoming management team lead by Marcos - who is very knowledgeable about the area and very helpful. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    859
    64
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
91
622
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed in the Bangkok room which was delightful, everything was to a very high standard.
The hotel is situated in a quiet location in the old town while having all the benefits of shops/restaurants close to hand and the beach is a just a short stroll away.
The management and all the staff were wonderful, they went to great lengths to ensure our stay was memorable.
We shall definitely return.
Maurice and Gill ........Cardiff

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

We planned to stay here for 3 nights and extended it to five, we loved the place so much.

After years of sullen disinterested staff on hotel reception desks, this hotel was a breath of fresh air. Nothing was too much trouble, they really made our stay special in every respect. The decor is delightful and the position within the old town could not be bettered.

Marcos and team, you are doing a fine job. Thank you for a fantastic stay, we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Great little find which may restore your faith in Marbella. SItuated in the old town and spread across a number of restored local houses, it surpassed my expectations. Nice Asian decor undertone we stayed in the cottage which is 2 mins walk from the reception area. Great roof terrace to relax and room decorated and fitted to a high standard. A bit of late night noise from the hostel opposite, but nothing major. Service was second to none and we were given a complementary upgrade. There are a lot of chain hotels out there who could learn a lot about service from the team behind this place. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011 via mobile

Having read previous reviews I was drawn to this hotel over bigger, flashier hotels in the Marbella region. I was not disappointed. Set in a beautiful this hotel was unlike anywhere I have stated before. We stayed in the Halong room which was elegant and feminine. It was clean and with all mod-cons. The staff were very friendly and their knowkedge and advice on the area was second to none. Marcus, the owner and Ben made us feel very welcome and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tall Trees
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Situated in the heart of old town Marbella - La Villa Marbella was an absolute dream come true. With an array of great reviews across the web, my new wife and I didn't know if this place could live up to the hype surrounding it, but ladies and gentleman it surpassed it on all levels.

We honeymooned there for 4 nights in March 2011 - myself coming from Scotland and my wife from USA and decided to book ourselves into the Shanghai room for a nice treat. The room was unlike anywhere I've ever stayed. As you will be aware, each room is completely different and based on an Asian city - a chic and clever concept to begin with - and the hotel is split into a number of buildings. Shanghai, situated in the beautiful Courtyard building made us feel like royalty. A clean, well set-out room that fused contemporary style with the heritage of its setting. The same can be said for the entire building. It features a private pool - the only one in old town Marbella to be exact - lovely little dining room and homely living area. Our room itself came with a private terrace equipped with an amazing hot tub and scenic views of the old town, and the room featured all the amenities you would expect from the world's nicest hotels. To cut a long story short, the hotel was the best attraction of Marbella and I could happily live there.

As for the staff, I'm sure you will have heard the name Marcos when reading up on the hotel and it is a name you will not forget. He is by far the ideal hotel manager and one of the nicest people you could hope to meet on your travels. He and his staff will make you feel genuinely welcome and cater to any of your needs. A great atmosphere surrounds the place come rain or shine.

If you are staying in the Marbella area, you must stay at this hotel, if you are planning on travelling somewhere else, change your plans and stay at La Villa Marbella, you will be glad you did.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

This is the most charming and romantic inn. It's in old town - walking distance to shops and restaurants. The roof top breakfast is so attractive. There are 2 different buildings with villas. Quiet neighborhood, parking close by, owners are delightful! Highly recommend to couples. There is a pool.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel

Also Known As:
La Hotel Marbella
La Hotel Marbella Charming
La Villa Marbella
Address: Calle Principe 10 | Old Historic Town, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#2 Family Hotel in Marbella
#4 Business Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Villa Marbella Charming Hotel is located inside the romantic Old Town of the internationally renowned Marbella. The 150 years old house has been fully refurbished and the 4 suites carry a very cozy Asian Style. The rooms are full equipped: air conditioner, heater, ceiling fan, TV satellite, stereo chain, ads, mini bar, safety box, electronic keys, telephone with private voice mail and full amenities in the bathroom. From the terrace, during the breakfast or relaxing in our Chinese Lounge, you will enjoy stunning views of the Sierra Blanca, Old Town and the Castle Walls. 3 minutes walk to the famous Orange Square and its selected bars and restaurants, 7 minutes walk to the beach or 10 minutes by car to the famous Marina Puerto Banus and its nightlife , La Villa Marbella gives you the tranquility of the Old Town yet close to the interesting points of the city. You will come back !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.