We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic, they didn't even have an iron!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Baviera to your Saves list
Hotel Baviera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Camino del Calvario 4, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #43 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very basic, they didn't even have an iron!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night last week and felt slightly underwhelmed after reading all the good reviews. I requested a double bed but whilst checking in was informed there were none left and had to settle for 2 singles. Requested an iron and they said it had been broken since the previous week and hadn't been replaced yet! Staff were friendly and the location was good but that's about it. definitely deserves just a 3* rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    25
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
28
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reuver, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The hotel is arond the corner of the the main road but there is not much traffic noise in the room, even though we had a room on the streetside.

You walk to the old town center or the beach in 5-10 minutes.
The carpark next door is very convenient and not to expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dursley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Baviera has a central location in Marbella, only a few minutes walk down to the beach or along the road to the old town. The hotel has underground parking which is incredibly convenient too (the hotel does make a charge for this). All the reception staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The breakfast that is included in the price is served in the adjacent cafe (through a connecting door) and is a small continental one only (juice, croissant, coffee), we were aware of this through other reviews so came prepared! In common with many Spanish hotels there is no kettle in the room.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and got a corner room at the back which suited us well - I suspect the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

The Baviera is a clean, tidy and well finished hotel. The rooms are spacious, the staff are helpful and the location in central to the beach and old town.

The hotel has an underground car park under the hotel which is brilliant if you arrive by car. Yes, it is 15euro a day but if you park on the street you pay just as much and you have to keep topping up the pay and display machines.

We would stop here again. Its very good value, the location is good, its clean and the parking is a real plus.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

this is a decent hotel, right in the centre, located near a taxi rank and a 5min walk to the beach. The beds are comfortable but we were a couple and asked for a double bed, but we got twin beds and they wouldn't move us to a double when there was one free, so that was a bit annoying and the staff were ok but could have been a bit more friendly. my only gripe was at night there was a lot of noise from the streets and this meant it took longer for me to fall asleep but if you are not a light sleeper or have a large glass if wine before bed you'll be fine!!! apart from that i would stay again, it's great value for money and you feel very safe in such a central location

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is central for Marbella and is not very expensive but is pretty basic in amenities. We were only here for one night so it suited us fine. It is only a short walk to the beach and restaurants and this is probably its main selling point. We were on the 7th floor and were lucky enough to be high enough to enjoy a view of the mountains and to be away from traffic noise.There was also a small balcony but no furniture to sit on. The room was clean and reasonably comfortable and value for money for Marbella

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed for two nights on a hen weekend. The hotel was relatively quiet as it was out of season and looks to be targeted towards people visiting on business. There was no pool, but this wasn't a problem as the beach was less than a 10 minute walk away.

The rooms were absolutely spotless and look like they have been recently refurbished and the restaurant was also very clean.

We only had one issue, which was the safe in our room which we couldn't get to work. However the receptionist was very friendly and helped sort out the issue straight away.

The service was outstanding and the staff on reception were very friendly. The staff in the restaurant didn't speak English, but this wasn't an issue as I can speak Spanish. It may or may not be more of a problem for visitors who do not speak any spanish.

We purchased the half board option, which was advertised as breakfast and dinner. However we discovered just before we flew to Marbella that as it is out of season, half board was breakfast and lunch. We were a little disappointed with this as it meant we had to come back from the beach early, but we were still offered large meals, which were very tasty!

I would definitely go back and stay there, especially since the location is so close to the beach, but far enough away not to be too noisy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baviera

Address: Camino del Calvario 4, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baviera 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Baviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baviera Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.