We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but a little lacking in charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Marbella Banus

Save Saved
You added Melia Marbella Banus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Marbella Banus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice but a little lacking in charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed here in October for four nights. Great holiday enhanced no doubt by the exceptionally warm weather for late October, high 20's. Hotel is Ideally located just a ten minute stroll to the port, very clean and modern however seems to be lacking in any sort of charm probably not helped by the somewhat indifferent staff on reception and breakfast. Will probably try somewhere else in future.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Dolly1912,

Thank you very much for choosing Meliá Marbella Banús for your stay in Puerto Banús and we would also like to thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor Community.

We really appreciate your comments referring to the cleaness and accept our sincere apologies for your comments regarding the reception and breakfast staff. We will do our best in order to avoid the situation that you have described. For us, guests are the most important resource and we try to make them feel a good experience with us.

I hope you give us a second opportunity in the future to show the improvement done. If so, please let it me know to ensure that your stay will be as pleasant as possible and meet you personally.

Kind regards,

Juan Ignacio Broncano
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    253
    244
    78
    38
    17
See reviews for
131
276
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three fun filled days on a company paid break found the hotel and facilities great just a stones throw from beach and just a small walk to town food and service great superb for couples or a group

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Kevan L,

Thank you very much to share your experience at Meliá Marbella Banús with all the users of the Tripadvisor’s website.

It is a big pleasure to feel your satisfaction in the hotel facilities and especially for the comments referring to our service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Puerto Banús and give you the same experience or much better.

Kind regards,

Juan Ignacio Broncano
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter from 21st - 25th October and it was a perfect break. We paid for a level room which overlooked the tranquil pool and was extremely spacious and very clean. The beds were amazing and we slept really well. The exclusive access to the level lounge was a very welcome and unexpected bonus. Snacks and drinks very welcome but do feel that some people abused this. Breakfasts were fantastic with so much choice and we could have eaten the doughnuts all day long. We took advantage of the day bed which was included in the level price and was "such fun". The hotel is extremely well situated for walking, running (if you wish) shopping (which we did) and observing how the other half lives in Peurto Banus. Will definitely return here and would like to thank the staff for making our stay so welcoming and lovely

Room Tip: Upgrade to the level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mandula,

First of all I would like to thank you for your kind review. We, as the staff who work daily to provide quality services, are really satisfied to read that you will definitely return again.

We always love to receive such positive comments like yours regarding our staff and the exclusive access to the Level Lounge because it helps us to know that we are working in the right way to satisfy our guest’s needs.

Besides, it would be a pleasure for me to meet you personally the next time you visit us.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Ignacio Broncano
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just spent the last week in Melia Banus the hotel is spotless and the staff are very helpfull and seem to be happy in there work,all the mealtimes are buffet style meals breakfast was very good with loads of choices but the evening dinner was also buffet style,if you were like us on b&b tariff and you wanted the evening buffet the charge was just short of 40 euros PP which we thought was a bit on the high side,however there is a splendid restaurant a short distance away Cafe del Mar excellent menu brilliant staff and superb chef. We upgraded to the level which gave us a few benefits of snacks during the day and drinks are included with an open bar between 6&8 pm so it was some sort of happy hour really.overall we enjoyed our time here and would go back again.

Room Tip: Level five seem to be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Facilities are very good at this hotel, large grounds with four pools, one for children, one general, one indoor and one for adults. Gardens very well attended. There are seperate adults only areas, great for couples and seperate childrens area so everyone can be happy. Not many children there although it was October half term. We did not see any groups, mainly couples.
One floor of the hotel, The Level, is adults only. It was well worth paying the bit extra for this as there is a seperate lounge with free snacks, wine, soft drinks and free wi-fi. Breakfast was just amazing, a huge selection of hot and cold food, everything you could want.
The restaurant in the evening had no A La Carte, just a buffet, which was extensive, but we did not want three courses. We were offered a special price but at over 30 Euros each a night it worked out too expensive. Would have been happy to eat more in the hotel if we could have just had one course or a bar meal. It is about ten minutes to walk into town. There are always taxis waiting outside the hotel, so easy to get about. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel there is one bar on the beach.
We were happy with the room, it was very clean, and the maid was excellent. There was a bit of a buzz from next doors AC unit during the night. The staff were generally pleasant. There was only one small incident which marred one night. The Level lounge closes at ten o clock. On the dot of ten, staff, who were clearly not happy, put the lights out and left a room full of guests in the semi dark. Not too professional for a good hotel.
On the day we left, check out was very impersonal, which was a shame as check in had been really welcoming. Just one or two staff who need to be a bit more thoughtful about how they treat guests. I am being a bit picky because there is so much good about this hotel that it should easily be five star. Overall would really recommend this hotel. It has lots of nice little additional touches and is quite sophistocated. Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very quiet. If you want an early night, avoid rooms overlooking the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Beanbag2013,

Thank you for sharing your kind opinion of your last stay in Meliá Marbella Banús in this important website.

We are happy to read that you liked your room and the Level Service and you thought that our breakfast is amazing. It is a fact that we are always trying to make our guests feel as relaxed and comfortable as you were at home, but at the same time we want you all enjoy a special environment.

It has been a pleasure to receive such good comments of our staff in general and specially the maid; we will share your message with the housekeeping team and accept our sincere apologies for your comments regarding the bar and reception staff. We will do our best in order to avoid it ever.

We are looking forward seeing you again at the Meliá Marbella Banús and providing you another nice stay in “your home” in Puerto Banús.

Kind regards,

Juan Ignacio Broncano
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in Level Room - recommended with access to Level Lounge. Comfortable spacious rooms. Hotel located in good position with easy access to Puerto Banus and Marbella along prom walk. Dinner main course has various dishes - fish / steak cooked to order. Would stay again when in the area. Has an adult only sun lounge area, three pools - one indoors (small) tennis / paddle

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Wylie C,

We really appreciate your comments about your experience in The Level. Thank you so much for sharing them with other possible customers.

For us, it is very important to know our guest’s opinion because we learn from you and our mission is to keep improving day by day.

Besides, if you finally decide to make a reservation with us again, it would be a pleasure meeting you personally.

Warm regards,

Juan Ignacio Broncano
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Really nice hotel...everything you could need was supplied. A little hard to find, but not too much of a problem. We stayed out of season, so prices were from 30 euros a night...but I know it get a lot more expensive during summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear iangeegan,

Thank you very much to share your experience at Meliá Marbella Banús with all the users of the Tripadvisor’s website.

Your words motivate us to keep on working hard in order to reach the quality and excellence at our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Marbella.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Ignacio Broncano
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Marbella Banus 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel is located right in the heart of Puerto Banús, along the famous ”Golden Mile”, next to the beach. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Malaga Airport and 6 km from the charms of the ancient heart of Marbella. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Melia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Marbella Banus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.