We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Marbella Banus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melia Marbella Banus to your Saves list
Melia Marbella Banus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
GreenLeadersSilver level
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just spent the last week in Melia Banus the hotel is spotless and the staff are very helpfull and seem to be happy in there work,all the mealtimes are buffet style meals breakfast was very good with loads of choices but the evening dinner was also buffet style,if you were like us on b&b tariff and you wanted the evening buffet the charge was just short of 40 euros PP which we thought was a bit on the high side,however there is a splendid restaurant a short distance away Cafe del Mar excellent menu brilliant staff and superb chef. We upgraded to the level which gave us a few benefits of snacks during the day and drinks are included with an open bar between 6&8 pm so it was some sort of happy hour really.overall we enjoyed our time here and would go back again.

Room Tip: Level five seem to be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    269
    79
    39
    19
See reviews for
152
305
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Facilities are very good at this hotel, large grounds with four pools, one for children, one general, one indoor and one for adults. Gardens very well attended. There are seperate adults only areas, great for couples and seperate childrens area so everyone can be happy. Not many children there although it was October half term. We did not see any groups, mainly couples.
One floor of the hotel, The Level, is adults only. It was well worth paying the bit extra for this as there is a seperate lounge with free snacks, wine, soft drinks and free wi-fi. Breakfast was just amazing, a huge selection of hot and cold food, everything you could want.
The restaurant in the evening had no A La Carte, just a buffet, which was extensive, but we did not want three courses. We were offered a special price but at over 30 Euros each a night it worked out too expensive. Would have been happy to eat more in the hotel if we could have just had one course or a bar meal. It is about ten minutes to walk into town. There are always taxis waiting outside the hotel, so easy to get about. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel there is one bar on the beach.
We were happy with the room, it was very clean, and the maid was excellent. There was a bit of a buzz from next doors AC unit during the night. The staff were generally pleasant. There was only one small incident which marred one night. The Level lounge closes at ten o clock. On the dot of ten, staff, who were clearly not happy, put the lights out and left a room full of guests in the semi dark. Not too professional for a good hotel.
On the day we left, check out was very impersonal, which was a shame as check in had been really welcoming. Just one or two staff who need to be a bit more thoughtful about how they treat guests. I am being a bit picky because there is so much good about this hotel that it should easily be five star. Overall would really recommend this hotel. It has lots of nice little additional touches and is quite sophistocated. Would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are very quiet. If you want an early night, avoid rooms overlooking the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Beanbag2013,

Thank you for sharing your kind opinion of your last stay in Meliá Marbella Banús in this important website.

We are happy to read that you liked your room and the Level Service and you thought that our breakfast is amazing. It is a fact that we are always trying to make our guests feel as relaxed and comfortable as you were at home, but at the same time we want you all enjoy a special environment.

It has been a pleasure to receive such good comments of our staff in general and specially the maid; we will share your message with the housekeeping team and accept our sincere apologies for your comments regarding the bar and reception staff. We will do our best in order to avoid it ever.

We are looking forward seeing you again at the Meliá Marbella Banús and providing you another nice stay in “your home” in Puerto Banús.

Kind regards,

Juan Ignacio Broncano
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in Level Room - recommended with access to Level Lounge. Comfortable spacious rooms. Hotel located in good position with easy access to Puerto Banus and Marbella along prom walk. Dinner main course has various dishes - fish / steak cooked to order. Would stay again when in the area. Has an adult only sun lounge area, three pools - one indoors (small) tennis / paddle

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Wylie C,

We really appreciate your comments about your experience in The Level. Thank you so much for sharing them with other possible customers.

For us, it is very important to know our guest’s opinion because we learn from you and our mission is to keep improving day by day.

Besides, if you finally decide to make a reservation with us again, it would be a pleasure meeting you personally.

Warm regards,

Juan Ignacio Broncano
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Really nice hotel...everything you could need was supplied. A little hard to find, but not too much of a problem. We stayed out of season, so prices were from 30 euros a night...but I know it get a lot more expensive during summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear iangeegan,

Thank you very much to share your experience at Meliá Marbella Banús with all the users of the Tripadvisor’s website.

Your words motivate us to keep on working hard in order to reach the quality and excellence at our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next trip to Marbella.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Ignacio Broncano
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife & I have just returned from a 10 day holiday at the Melia Marbella Banus. This 4* property is situated in the lovely resort of Puerto Banus, Costa del Sol and is a 10 minute stroll from the town's main attraction which is the swanky marina area housing some top designer shops & restaurants.
The town is reached by the promenade walkway from the hotel - a wide, well-lit & safe (but watch for passing cyclists!) area.

Marbella is somewhat further away on a similar walkway - but in the opposite direction. Having read other reviews which suggest that Marbella is a 40 minute stroll away, I find this incredible as we walked there & back, estimating the journey at 4 miles and 75 minutes each way.

The Melia hotel is situated close to the beach , but is a little complicated to find initially coming in from the motorway, but thereafter is relatively easy. However, parking is limited everywhere in the town and also around the area of the hotel. There is some free on street parking available but the hotel charges around 16 Euros per day (very expensive) to use their underground car park. We usually managed to find a space for our hire car within 100 metres of the hotel.

The hotel itself is nicely furnished with a large dining room (buffet style breakfast with a huge variety of food both hot & cold), lounge & outdoor dining area.

The hotel grounds are lovely with 2 outdoor pools (inc a waterfall) and a small heated indoor pool + Turkish sauna.

The rooms are nice (although fairly standard Spanish hotel) with a good deal of wardrobe space, marble bathroom, flat screen t.v., fridge, safe & small balcony. We had a (side) sea view room , but they are not really worth the extra as the garden view rooms are identical.

It is possible to upgrade to "The Level" which is the club class area of the hotel with all day light refreshments and evening drinks/nibbles, but I understand that it is very expensive to upgrade.

We were on B & B and there are a large number of excellent restaurants in Puerto Banus, Nuevo Andalucía (about a mile away at other side of motorway) & Marbella.

A tip - if eating at the marina area of Puerto Banus, some restaurants can be VERY expensive, but several offer a Fixed Price menu (usually 18-25 Euros) which are very good value & the food is excellent.

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Melia & can recommend this stylish hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear greenvigoLeeds,

We would like to thank you for choosing our Meliá Marbella Banús for your last stay in Puerto Banús, as well as for taking your time to post your comments in this important web in order share your valuable opinion with other web users.

We really appreciate the positive comments you’ve made about the hotel grounds and especially regarding recommend us. I will definitely make sure to pass on these positive reviews to all the team.

We´re looking forward to hosting your next vacation in Puerto Banús!

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our second visit to the Melia Banus and we enjoyed it just as much, or a little more. The approach to the hotel is slightly disappointing but once inside the public areas are light and spacious and the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was really excellent with a terrace big enough for two loungers. We paid extra to qualify for the "Level Lounge", an airline-like facility that serves drinks and snacks through the day and is well worth the extra cost. The hotel is very well located for walks into Puerto Banus with its array of shops and restaurants, and the easily accessible beachside promenade to the east.

Snags: the hotel is rather too bustling to be a romantic getaway, quite a lot of young children, spa facility a bit disappointing, main pool area fine but secondary area a bit tired, daft voucher syste4m for poolside towels. All fairly minor and didn't spoil a great week's holiday.

Room Tip: Go for the Level Lounge upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Chilledout52,

We are really proud to read a comment from a regular costumer as you. We thank you for sharing it with the rest of Tripadvisor’s community.

It is a big pleasure to feel your satisfaction in The Level Lounge especially for the comments referring to our staff.

Regarding your inconveniences we appreciate all your observations because this is the way to know what else we need to improve and modify in the future to achieve the guest satisfaction.

We will take into account al your comments with the aim of provide you with the best of our service next time you come to the Meliá Marbella Banús.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Puerto Banús and I would be delighted to meet you personally.

Kind regards,

Juan Ignacio Broncano
GEX Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amslon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Positives, Good location for golden mile. NIce hotel, pools, grounds, staff are very good. I did not eat in house other than level. get a level a room a must. do not go in high season and beware stag or hen parties. they will tell you not allowed, its happens.
no gigantic double bed, can be noisy and needs some TLC.
still good deals to be had on online. Prolly worth it.

Room Tip: Level room 5th floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Outside101,

In the first place, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Marbella. And we would also like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor readers.

We are very happy to read that you liked our facilities and our staff service but at the same time we are very concern about your comments referring to a group at the hotel. We really apologize for the trouble this group could have caused you during your stay at our hotel.

Furthermore, we really appreciate your comments referring to our rooms located at the Level , do not hesitate that we will take good note about them in order to keep improving our hotel, ensuring a good quality service and guest satisfaction.

We beg you accept our apologies for not having reached your expectations. It will be a really pleasure if you decide to give us a new opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Juan Broncano
GEX-RRHH Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Marbella Banus 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel is located right in the heart of Puerto Banús, along the famous ”Golden Mile”, next to the beach. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Malaga Airport and 6 km from the charms of the ancient heart of Marbella. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Expedia, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Marbella Banus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.