We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Marbella Banus

Save Saved
You added Melia Marbella Banus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Marbella Banus
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Belfast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in early June and were very happy with the hotel.
The hotel is located around a 10 minute walk from the marina so was ideally located. I have stayed in a few other hotels in Puerto Banus and really rate both the hotel and location.
We stayed in a standard room which had a lovely view of the mountain and the pool. The room was spotless and the cleaners were excellent and very friendly.

Both pools were lovely and had plenty of sunbeds for everyone. Like all hotels there was the problem of people reserving beds with their towels and not returning for hours but this wasn't really an issue until the hotel got slightly busier closer to the weekend.
The sunbeds were very comfortable and there was plenty of space to move about depending on whether you wanted to stay in the shade or the sun.
The pool was cold but not so cold you couldnt swim in it. I would imagine by July/August you would be glad of the relief of a cold pool!

Breakfast was great with plenty of tables for everyone and a huge choice of breakfast foods available.
We didnt book a level room and were happy with this choice as there was no space outside for anyone in the level lounge to eat/drink outside.

A few other reviewers mentioned noise in the hotel at night but this is not something i experienced at all despite my room being located close to the lifts.
I would also like to mention that i had no issues with the staff, they were mostly helpful and polite. However during check in we were given our keys but not told what direction to go in to find the rooms so this is perhaps something they could improve on.

Check out was quite slow even though there was only 1 person in front of us and there only appeared to be one person working on reception at that time.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay in the hotel and am looking forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to give us such a great review. We really appreciate it!
We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were comfortable and happy with so many aspects of the hotel.

We´re looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future!!

Cheers.

Juan Ignacio Broncano, GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    243
    78
    38
    17
See reviews for
131
274
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

My room had a mountain view and was bigger than the room with seaview my friends where in. Big bathroom, with separate bath and shower, very clean. Pleasant staff. Giant breakfast, lots of fruit, in fact lots of everything, showcooking for your eggs and pancakes. Nice garden with pool, plenty of sunbeds, around the pool or under the trees, matrasses and towels on demand, free of charge. Free WIFI in all the rooms. Great location, just a little walk to the town. If you are a fan, make your reservation for restaurant Calima in time, we had a unforgettable dining experience (ok, its expensive, but in our opinion worth it).

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback on our hotel!
We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us in Puerto Banús. Thanks for sharing your experience and your positive comments will be shared with the rest of the staff. We hope that your travels bring you back to stay with us in the near future!!

Cheers.

Juan Ignacio Broncano,
GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed at hotel for 1 week with my wife and booked direct with melia .com. Paid £1200 to upgrade to ground floor room with private garden and "The Level " which includes lunch and evening drinks and tapas etc. Didn't get off to good start as the toilet cistern was continually running and it took 5 visits to sort it out,also wash basin in the room was cracked and the rooms are beginning to look a bit tired as is the threadbare carpet along the ground floor hallway. The reason I booked was the attraction of the advertised private garden but there is nothing private about it , as the only thing dividing the area outside the patio are a few small shrubs which are no more than around 18 inches high. On the good side is the hotels position a short 10 minute stroll along to Puerto banus. We wish we had not paid extra for The Level service as you had to always go into a lounge and could not take food or drink outside, and when your on holiday whats nicer than a gin and tonic sitting in the sun. We didn't think we got very good value for money considering what we paid.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms facing main pool are advertised with private garden but are not worth paying any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay in our hotel.

I’d like to take this time to say I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us. We aim for 100% customer satisfaction and I can see that there were a few things that weren’t up to your expectations. Although the shrubs for the private garden are a bit low for your taste, many clients enjoy the private garden for its proximity to the adult swimming pool and its private sun beds, apart from the availability to use the other sun beds available to all of the guests in the hotel.

In regards to bringing the drinks from The Level out to the pool area, I’m happy to inform you that we are working on the plans to have The Level extended as part indoor and part outdoor. This way the guests in The Level will be able to enjoy the benefits of its lounge outside in the sun

If by any chance you were willing to give us a second chance here at Meliá Marbella Banús, I’d be delighted to greet you personally and can assure you a more pleasant stay here in Puerto Banús.

Sincerely yours,

Juan Ignacio Broncano,
GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Just got back from a 5 night stay here. We stayed in Marbella last year but spent most of our time in Puerto Banus, so we decided to stay in Banus this year and this hotel was perfect location for everything that we wanted. 5 minute walk from the beach, although we used to walk an extra 10 minutes to Lavante Beach which had the most comfortable beds and was a lovely atmosphere. If we were to stay at this hotel again, we would probably just have BB as this year we went Half Board but found that the dinner was exactly the same every night. Not being fans of fish dishes we found there wasn't a lot for us to eat. The rooms are very spacious and immaculate and we got given fresh sheets every day. Apart from the food issues, haven't got a single bad thing to say about this hotel. Ideal location, only a 15 minute walk to the harbour or 6 euros in a taxi as walking back in heels after a night out isn't ideal!! Definitely would stay here again if visiting Banus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on the hotel!

We’re so pleased to read your pleasant comments on your stay with us. Reading these type of always lets us know that all the work we put into the hotel shows through.

Thanks again for choosing us and we hope to see you in your future travels,

Sincerely yours,
Juan Ignacio Broncano, GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denny, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have just returned from a wonderful week at the Melia Marbella Banus. Superb hotel. A wonderful oasis situated perfectly on the outskirts of Puerto Banus but within easy walking distance to all the town has to offer. The hotel is first class in all aspects. We stayed in a Level room with all the care and attention one could ever need or wish for. I cannot fault this hotel. It was my first holiday to Spain in more than ten years and will certainly return at some point in the future for another spot of pure indulgence. Thanks to all the staff who helped make the holiday so enjoyable. A happy Guest.

Room Tip: Choose The Level Service, an adults only floor with wonderful views and a liitle bit of indulgence w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words.

We’re very pleased here at the hotel to know that you’ve had such a wonderful overall experience and that you enjoyed your The Level endeavors. We would be thrilled to welcome you back to the hotel if in the future your travels bring you back to Spain!

Thanks again!

Juan Ignacio Broncano,
Guest Experience and Human Resources Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for a week. Have stayed in a lot of hotels in Banus and can say that this is by far the best for location/quality and value for money. Hotel is clean, the rooms are of a good size and the plenty of sunbeds !
We were bed and breakfast but next time will go half board , as the last night we opted to eat in the hotel, the food was the best meal we had all week(knocking spots of La Sala and the ones in the port), it was €40 per person but would have been so much cheaper to take the half board option even if we chose to eat out a couple of evenings for a change.
Would definiantely recommend this hotel even over some of the 5* I have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your animated feedback!!

I´m so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thanks so much for your encouraging words and we really look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Marbella! Safe travels and see you soon,

Best,

Juan Ignacio Broncano,
Guest Experience and Human Resources Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived at the Melia Banus and were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist. We had originally booked for a ground floor room as we had a 3 year old with us and were afraid of him getting out on to the balcony. We were given a room on the 3rd floor. We didnt complain and the room was very nice.... 2 double beds and a bathroom. Mini bar and free safe. The grounds of this hotel are quite something. There are two large cold water pools, one beside the hotel were you can either sit and sunbathe or relax and have a drink in under the roofed outside eat/drink area. The other pool is fab. Surrounded in grass and with a constant waterfall it is a lovely place to relax, swim, read etc. The childrens pool is also surrounded by grass and has a play area just beside it. There was no activities for children whatsoever but this would not have bothered us anyway. I would not have sent our boy anyway. Very well designed and a big plus for this hotel. The toilets are not to far from the pool... just inside beside a small heated swimming pool and spa and wellness area.
The food is very nice. We booked full board so we had an experience of all eating in the Melia. Breakfast was very very good, loads of fruit, drinks, cooked breakfast with a chef available to cook you an omelette etc. It is a large dining room and the staff are very very friendly.
The lunch was very nice also with a wide variety of options to choose from. The chef is again on hand to cook you whatever meat or fish you want. The fish is amazing and the best I have tasted so far... highly recommended. The dinner menu was very similar and was just as good.
Since we were last staying at this hotel they have a new feature.... you can upgrade to "The Level" which means you get to go into a separate bar/eating area which was once part of the main bar area and is now sectioned off with black glass. I feel this is a load of nonsence and just another way of getting you to spend more money. When you walk into the bar area there is a big black glass section to your left which looks totally out of place. I feel it creates a "them and us" atmosphere whereby people who can afford to upgrade sit in behind this big secret blackened out glass area and the poor folk cant go in nor look in...... a load of rubbish!! Not impressed with this and for a family who could have upgraded we felt it was a load of nonsense. I suppose it did do us a favour.... it put all the snubs into one room where everybody just looked at each other and had zero conversation.
The bar area could be a little more comfortable and warming... it lacked atmosphere. Well I suppose you had to upgrade to "The Level" to get the comfort that everybody was paying for!
Overall, a very good hotel, very clean, very friendly with fabulous grounds. I have been here before and will go back but this nonsence of the blackened out "Level' area for the snubs is not needed. Its splits everybody to "us and them" and for me is not really necessary.

Room Tip: Choose even numbered rooms as they overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us.

I’m very glad to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel and that you had a great time during your stay. Nothing makes us happier than a client who will be repeating their vacations with us the following season!

In regards to your comments about The Level, we’ve created this section for clients who have at their disposal a Private Lounge which includes a great choice of food and beverages during the day.

We’re sorry that you have taken away a negative impression of The Level, the truth is that our clients who have elected these type of rooms have raved about its services since its been up and running. Nevertheless, we certainly don’t mean to make anyone feel uncomfortable in the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next vacation in Puerto Banús.

Thanks again,

Juan Ignacio Broncano,
GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Marbella Banus 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel is located right in the heart of Puerto Banús, along the famous ”Golden Mile”, next to the beach. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Malaga Airport and 6 km from the charms of the ancient heart of Marbella. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Melia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Marbella Banus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.