We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a short break..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Marbella Banus

Save Saved
You added Melia Marbella Banus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Melia Marbella Banus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Rotherham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OK for a short break..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Booked very last minute for a short break..I couldnt have stayed any longer as the hotel lacked any kind of atmosphere.

The room on the 3rd floor was great as had the sun late afternoon.

Positives

- great location for Puerto Banus
- plenty of choice at breakfast
- taxis right outside
- free pool towels
- rooms clean
- free safe
- could keep our rm until 1pm

Negatives

- no fully closing curtains in room so not great for a young child
- swimming pool freezing so not much to do for children
- ironing board filthy & wire on iron thread bare
- check in took 30 minutes

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

To start, thank you for your time to comment on your stay at Meliá Marbella Banús. We´re very happy that you enjoyed your room on the third floor with late afternoon sun!

In regards to the other negative aspects you mentioned, we do offer the indoor heated pool for those ocassions when the weather´s not perfect outside to go for a dip. Children generally enjoy that. On the other hand, sorry that you were disappointed with the ironing board. It´s something I will make sure that we discuss at our next maintenance meeting. We strive to make sure the customer has the best experience possible in our hotel and we´re glad you appreciated the centralized location. We also believe that the little details are what makes a vacation most enjoyable, so we´ll keep working to make sure the little possitive things you mentioned don´t change.

We hope you come back and see us again!

Juan Broncano
GEX-HHRR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    215
    70
    35
    16
See reviews for
109
241
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We usually stay at Melia La Quinta, where we play golf, but that hotel was closed due to refurbishment. We were booked into Melia Banus, which is just 4 star, but we were given an upgrade to a lovely room. We had a sea view room on 5th floor, with 2 comfy double beds and free coffee/ tea making machine. We were given the option of joining "the Level" lounge, at an extra €20 each per day. This meant a free range of any drink, alchoholic or not, tea and coffee and snacks all day depending on time of day. This we took, at an extra €280 and we did enjoy spending a lot of our holiday in this lounge, but to be honest, unless you are going to eat snacks and drink all day, it is not really worth it. You cannot take anything outside with you, and when it is sunny, most visitors want to spend their time outside. However, we had 2 days of heavy rain, getting very wet on the golf course, so we enjoyed relaxing with a drink in The Level.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you can, or a room on a high floor. Most families with children stay on the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on the hotel!

We’re glad you got to experience our hotel in Puerto Banús, and even more pleased you were able to take full advantage of your The Level endeavours. We are pleased to hear that the services we offer are meeting the needs of our guests. Looking forward eagerly to your next visit,

Juan Ignacio Broncano,
GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our Your Golf Travel hotel got changed as Melai La Quinta in the hills is shut until end of April. Free shuttle bus took us each day without hassle! MMB is nearly identical - we took the Level option at 20euros a day each so upgraded room to 5th floor which was very peaceful and enabled free unlimited help-yourself drinks and snacks after golf (throughout the day!)

One great thing that could be don is to have an open patio outside the level but contained within it - would be easy to do and enable the best to be achieved - sun and a drink together! do try a bit of breakfast and (rather pricey) buffet variation each day. Bit samey!

Friendly helpful staff and lovely marina and shops/restaurants with flashy cars parked outside 5 mins walk away.

Brill and recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view room is best but other side has some lovely sunset skies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thanks for your feedback and positive review. We truly appreciate your time and thoughts.

We’re very glad you enjoyed the benefits of the exclusive Level Lounge. Nonetheless, we appreciate your feedback as to how it can be improved as to be more enjoyable for all the guests and to also enjoy the sunshine. We will definitely bring this up at a team meeting as future project.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to hosting your next vacation in the luxurious Puerto Banús!

Juan Broncano
GEX-HHRR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went on a couples holiday here for 10 nights, must admit one of the best hotels I have ever been to, the pools were spacious and always had fresh towels. Excellent location for a stroll down to the beach and the harbour was full of places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we’ll definitely share your comments with the rest of the team. So glad to hear that the services and installations we offer are up to par. We’re looking forward to your next stay.

Juan Ignacio Broncano,
GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel and had a really nice stay. We booked a level room with garden which also gives you access to the level lounge, definitely worth the extra pennies. Service was excellent, before we even arrived we received an email asking the type of pillows we would like in our room and what info we would like etc. On arrival we were checked in seemlessly (the porter already knew our room number and took our bags from us before we even checked in) at the level lounge by Marta Burgos, who was the one who sent us the email before we arrived and who looked after us really well during our stay...she was excellent, helpful and very friendly and a real credit to the hotel. I also mention Maria on reception who was great, the chamber maid who found my wifes lost earring, the breakfast staff and the breakfast itself was superb. The hotel is only a 10 min stroll into Puerto Banus, where there are bars and restaurants and Marbella is a 10 euro taxi journey away. Glad we chose a level room giving us access to the level lounge because that really is a golden nugget. Cava, wine, beer, soft drinks available all day, then cakes at 2pm and tapas at 8pm all included, saves a fortune before heading out for dinner, if you really want to go out for dinner, oh and you can access the Internet there as well. Downer there is it costs 16 euros a day to park in their underground garage but there is plenty of parking outside if not directly in front of the hotel. Overall, a really good hotel, a good base for the golf courses and one I would definitely return to.

Room Tip: Any Level room giving access to the lounge is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay.

I´m very pleased to see that you were satisfied with a ton of our services here at the hotel. We´re constantly striving for imporvement and we love to see guests take away pleasant experiences. Your specific comments about our staff members will be passed on personally to them and Í´m sure they will be delighted. I´m also happy to hear you enjoyed your upgrade to our The Level room.

Rest assured your home in Puerto Banús awaits your next visit!!

Juan Ignacio Broncano, GEX and Human Resources manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days. It was a great location with just a 10 minute walk to the Puerto Banus Marina, with lots of bars and restaurants. It is also 2 minutes to the beach.
We had a lovely balcony overlooking the pool. The restaurant staff were excellent, so friendly and helpful. The bar staff could have been more efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool as you get the sun setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Valued Client,

Thanks for the time to write us a review, we appreciate it!

We´re glad to know you enjoyed the prime location of the hotel, we also couldn´t be happier with its situation so close to Puerto Banús but far enough away for the clients to stil have some privacy. We would love for you to come share your holidays with us again, and guarantee another wonderful stay in Puerto Banús.

Best,

Juan Broncano
GEX-HHRR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for long weekend in march 2013 lovely clean hotel friendly pleasant staff .after an hour of checking in we asked if we could be moved to a pool view room an they moved us straight away. Then later on that evening we got a bottle of champagne and chocolates sent to our room as we were there for our 10th wedding anniversary Rooms very clean and spacious and lovely buffet breakfast would stay at this hotel again .highly recomended

Room Tip: Book a pool view as there is not much to see on sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Client,

Thanks for your input on the hotel, we´re so glad we could be accomodating to your needs and that you had a wonderful experience with us here in Puerto Banús.

The truth is part of what makes my job so special is getting to be a part of the wonderful memories clients come to celebrate and make here at the hotel. We´re so glad you appreciated the detail from the hotel, and would love to host your 11th as well!

Thanks again,

Juan Broncano
GEX-HHRR Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel
Sol Melia Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar
Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#9 Business Hotel in Marbella
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#21 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Marbella Banus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel is located right in the heart of Puerto Banús, along the famous ”Golden Mile”, next to the beach. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Malaga Airport and 6 km from the charms of the ancient heart of Marbella. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Melia, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Marbella Banus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.