We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no tea or coffee facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Marbella Banus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Marbella Banus to your Saves list
Melia Marbella Banus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 35% discount
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“no tea or coffee facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Lovely Hotel, nice postion for Puerto Banus {7 Mins walk}. Pity room did not have tea and coffee making facilities, which was sadly missed and would hope the hotel would consider this in the future, I would recomend this hotel to anyone, as the staff were really courtious and friendly it was also really clean and modern..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanBr, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Marbella Banus, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

First and foremost, thank you for your thoughtful comments about our hotel.

I´m so glad you would reccommend the hotel, and would like to thank you for your kind words. I´m sorry to report that as of now the standard rooms do not come with the coffee or espresso maker, it´s The Level rooms or suites that do. However, we will look into making the new addition to the standard rooms, as we agree a nice cup of coffee in the morning is absolutely brilliant. Thanks again for your feedback!

Best,

Juan Ignacio, Guest Experience and Human Resources Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    323
    99
    40
    20
See reviews for
181
362
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A very nice location, just a short 5 walk from the beach and about 15 mins along the beach to the town. Good rooms always very clean and good service. Outdoor restaurant in summer months is great. Pool always a bit too cold to swim in.

Room Tip: avoid rooms that face onto the pool if you want a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here in Novemebr for three nights. The room was lovely with two comfy beds and a balcony overlooking the gardens and a slight sea view which was great as we weren't expecting that. The staff were friendly, the breaksfast buffet good and the location was where we wanted to be, The hotel could do with a bit of tlc and the bar area coudl do with a bit more character but other than it was fine, I would very happily go back there, but agree it's a little difficult to find by car the first time we got there!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

It was truly a great experience staying at this hotel and I highly recommend it! The hotel is beautiful, has a great pool area, great breakfast area with a lot of variety, super attentive staff makes you feel taken care of at all times and they always had a smile on their face. They truly made our stay feel warm and personal. They have a private lounge also that you can book, and here you have everything from coffee to champagne, lovely tapas, fruit, everything you need to enjoy and relax a little between the sun bathing. Loved this! The lunch was great as well, and the restaurant had a great menu at all times.The rooms on the ground floor was beautiful with our own garden with sunbeds. Just lovely. This is a great hotel for a romantic getaway, or to stay with friends or family. Great location, a little hidden, which can make it hard to find, but worth it when you do. I truly recommend this hotel for your Puerto Banús vacation if you are looking for a relaxed stay, in a peaceful enviorment!! Thank you so much for an unforgettable stay!!!Meliá just never disappoints :)))

Room Tip: We loved our ground floor room with a private garden and direct access to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

i love the location its not far from port banus and close to trader vics. the rooms are normal standards however i will not feel like going back there comfortably again as it lacks a bit quality and is old. as most hotels in banus area. however its ok ... a bit over priced for the quality they present.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I booked through Trip Advisor and selected the best value four star in the area.

Upon arrival it was not easy to locate the hotel, yes there are large signs on the roundabout but the last two hundred meters is quite difficult with no signage through back streets and many parked cars. Tip : as you exit left at the last roundabout when you see what looks like a bank, turn left just after and you'll soon see a large sign for helicopter tours, turn right following adjacent to the old road (on your left side), if you find yourself in what looks like the back of the hotel (it is) at an un-surfaced carpark facing the bridge / river then go back toward the roundabout to drive around the block.

The reception is clean and there is a taxi rank on the premises with no shortage of service if you are not hiring a car, although Banus itself is a short walk along the seafront to connect with local transport the distance is not suited to the less able (about 1km) but I would say a perfect distance from both noise in the busier season whilst close enough for entertainment. Our welcome at first was 'cold' until I started talking in the native tongue which is not unusual, some Brits need to accept this fact before looking inwards and penning their reviews about The Empire with Egg & Chips... There is an LCD display offering room upgrades from €80 to which we accepted a 'full blown' upgrade to a Superior Suite in The Level with lounge access. This, if in your budget and style of holiday is a must do...

Our suite was on the sixth floor facing the river with views over Marbella to the fore, the Med to our right around to Marbella and mountains to the left which were majestic. With the bridge over the river you can see the water fowl landing, the fish sparkle in the sun as they swim and get eaten by the water fowl... well ok that's my sense of humour... all of which were viewed from a massive terrace accessed by two double doors from our accommodations. The terrace had two quality sun loungers and a bistro table with chairs, perfect for having a morning coffee brewed freshly by the capsule machine in the room which also boasted two televisions with a wide range of television channels including BBC1 and BBC2 - so you won't miss Eastenders my lurv... Whilst the bed was very comfortable with a choice of pillows (including a heated one) the other furnishings are a little 'basic' for my preference, loads of storage and the room service was very good indeed.

I read a few reviews from others commenting upon The Level lounge and yes they are right, it is a place of solitude from other guests paying less for their lowly standard rooms but then again our upgrade included free unlimited wine, cava, beer and soft drinks with snacks at selected times of the day. How much was their bar bill at the high prices mentioned by others in their own reviews? I think the word we're looking for is "DOH" in a Homer Simpson voice... Thus, if you are looking for a relaxing quiet break and do intend to have a few drinks in the hotel, take the upgrade and enjoy looking down upon the poor. (Just kidding LOL). Yes, the choice was a bit repetitive in agreement with others but so what.

As out of season I can't comment upon the outdoor pools etc but they did look very good, sell secluded and private with sculpted gardens which are well tended. All in all if you are looking for a stag / hen night then I'd stay somewhere else, couples or indeed those on business will find the hotel more suited to their needs and the Level upgrade is certainly a consideration and we certainly got value for our money on drinks alone never mind the room upgrade, it's your preference and your choice.

For the more critical reviews on this hotel I would sprinkle a large pinch of salt, personally we would return and found little wrong with the whole package.

Room Tip: Enquire about upgrade upon arrival, if suited to your needs take The Level rooms with lounge access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is impressive on entry with nice lounge areas. We found our room a bit disappointing, could do with a bit of tlc and 2 double beds would be better replaced by a king. This was after we moved rooms - our first room smelt very musty, but second fine with a nice balcony view of the pool.

the food was very good, plenty of choice and nice dining area, and location handy for getting into puerto banus / marbella.

The staff seemed a bit grumpy with us, not rude as such but not exactly going out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Having said this a handwritten note, complimentary bottle of cava and slippers/bathrobe plus turn down service on first night was a nice touch (not sure why only turn down on one night though?)

I would return to this hotel, it was really good value for what we paid but would not expect the royal treatment from it's staff!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Marbella Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Marbella Banus

Address: Mario Vargas Llosa, S/N, Carretera de Cadiz km 175 | Puerto Banus, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#14 Family Hotel in Marbella
#19 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Marbella Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Meliá Marbella Banús Hotel is located right in the heart of Puerto Banús, along the famous ”Golden Mile”, next to the beach. The hotel is only 45 minutes from Malaga Airport and 6 km from the charms of the ancient heart of Marbella. In the heart of the "Costa del Golf", and surrounded by some of the finest golf courses in the area, all available at a special discount. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Despegar.com, Otel, Splendia, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Marbella Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Marbella Banus Hotel Marbella
Sol Melia Marbella Dinamar
Melia Marbella Dinamar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Marbella Banus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.