We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chowka

Chowka
Bulevard Principe Alfonso Von Hohenlohe, Marbella, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #175 of 844 restaurants in Marbella
Cuisines: Indian, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Chowka Indian Kitchen on the Golden Mile, Marbella reopened on the 6th March 2014 after the winter season with a wider menu including new traditional favourites to add to the modern Indian cuisine for which it has become known. Try beautifully prepared modern and traditional dishes in the gorgeous surroundings. You can have a cocktail or a Lassie at the bar, relax on the terrace, sit under relaxing twinkling lights inside, or even have a large group on one of the butchers tables.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Me and my friend came here one night for a meal, as soon as we arrived the staff were friendly and the whole place looked lovely and inviting. There wasn't lots of choice on the menu but me and my friend ordered our food and were pleasantly surprised with how lovely it were. For our dessert we had the chocolate and cheese samosa which were amazing, although very small! overall we were very impressed with this place and would recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    42
    19
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Awful mains but lovely starters... I wouldn't return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A big group of us came here and had high hopes. The staff are all very friendly indeed and can't do too much. I had to ask for another glass of wine several times, and they brought the wrong type but that was the only slip. There was however one very rude lady who either manages or appears to be high up the rankings, she could do with a smile now and then.

We had a good choice of starters, all absolutely tiny but very tasty. The spinach bhaji was better than the onion and the spiced aubergine was edible but a miss with most of the table. The stuffed jalapenos were nice though. These were all tiny though and very expensive, however the calamari were delicious and good value, really very good but not spiced much so were not really Indian.

The mains, however, were a real disappointment. There is a really poor choice and you'd be better off going to the Taj Mahal over the road for a tasty Indian. The tikka masala was dreadful, avoid. It was like chicken in tomato ketchup. Honestly, it was terrible, totally bland with NO spice at all. The fish was also silly, just one fillet in sauce and full of bones. Not ideal to share, which is after all the concept of the restaurant. The sauce was ok, but again very bland and no spice.

The dessert list is worse than the mains' and I really didn't fancy ice cream and was keen to leave.

I certainly won't return and can't understand why the Polo House closed to be replaced by this. Nice idea but poorly executed. Hopefully they can improve quickly or it won't be around for long, which would be a shame as all but one staff member are great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Something different, worth a try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant after seeing it advertised in Euro weekly. First impressions were good, clean, great decor, fairly busy. However our hearts sank when the waitress told us they had had no delivery of crab, & the tasting menu had been discontinued as 'it wasn't working' 12 days after opening!!! However, we decided to give it a go & were pleased we did! We ordered from the tapas menu, although main courses were available from the mothers kitchen. We had beautifully cooked lamb chops, chicken tikka, black dal, vegetables, rice, an assortment of bread, & everything we had was perfectly cooked, beautifully presented, & tasted fresh & tasty. I recently visited India & found the dishes to be very comparable. The only downside was being overcharged for 4 items on the bill, although once this had been pointed out, it was swiftly rectified. Overall, our experience was excellent, I would definitely return & would recommend this newly opened restaurant. I wish it every success!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“New Smart Indian - Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A brave move taking on the old Polo House premises but a week after opening it was pretty full and we had a lovely meal!

The area has a good selection of Indians but nothing as grand or as smart as Chowka. its a very welcome addition to the area and I think it will do well.

For those familiar with Polo House its the same layout with a light makeover, diners can see into the kitchen thanks to newly installed windows. it all looks very smart. Service was excellent and our table was very comfortable.

The menu is what I'd describe as "selective" ie its not huge but there's definitely something for everyone. They have gone down the sharing plates route but every dish was exceptional!

We probably over-ordered - easy to do with such tempting dishes and a lot of the food arrived at the same time so suggest you pace yourselves!

Other than that it was a great evening - we were stuffed and the bill, including drinks a very reasonable €30-€40 per person.

Looking forward to going back soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowka also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Chowka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chowka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.