We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret gem in the most touristy point of the town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paco Jimenez

Paco Jimenez
Plaza de los Naranjos, No.11, 29601 Marbella, Spain
952773610
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 920 Restaurants in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $43
Cuisines: International, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: As soon as you enter this restaurant you can fell the passion and creativity in the paintings on the walls and the plates delicatelly and beautifully decorated. Its Mediterranean, Spanish and International food will surprise and satisfy you. The exclusive space with only 20 covers, kindly attention, experienced chef and the nice environment makes this a unique restaurant.
Moscow, RU
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Secret gem in the most touristy point of the town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Happened to have a late lunch at this charming restaurant on a grey rainy Sunday. Greeted by the hospitable hostess who spoke brilliant English (which is quite a rare thing in Spain I must admit). We also profited the privilege to choose any table...and certainly sat at the balcony - the view is great.
Frankly speaking we were not expecting much from the food...having thought that we got in a sort of tourist trap........but....... minute after minute we realized that our lunch turned out to be by far the best and memorable meal of our trip.
The service was second to none.....the drinks, amuse bouche, gorgeous toasted bread....and finally our prawns and scallops.
The presentation and the taste of our seafood and a chocolate dessert later were lovely...delicate (which is generally another rear thing in local restaurants) and balanced. Complimentary digestive was delicious also..
Despite of siesta time we were not rushed....on the contrary - we felt relaxed and spent a long time enjoying the setting....
For those who prefer the best in food and service...+beautiful ambiance and romantic atmosphere - this new restaurant in Oranges Plaza is the best find.
Compliments to Sig. Paco Jimenez and all the family! Great job!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    67
    14
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Utterly wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This small gem of a restaurant above the square is superb in every respect. An absolute must go for anyone looking for something authentic. This is very definitely not tourist trash

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield Sth Yorks UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Loved everything about this hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Set above the pretty busy Plaza de los Naranjos in the heart of old town Marbella - Paco Jimenez is a delightful dining experience. To get to it we entered the art gallery in the corner of the picturesque square then once inside we climbed up a steep set of rather treacherous stairs ( take care both up & down!). The dining area has room for about 20 comfortably spaced covers. The night we went there was a large private party being catered for in a seperate room off the main restaurant but we were welcomed warmly and attended to impecably .
The menu was "small but perfectly formed" Half a dozen choices (from the woods & the meadows) and a further half dozen (from the seas and the rivers) - There were 6 in our party - for which we booked earlier in the day - and this was October. We all chose somthing different and enjoyed every mouthful- the food was well cooked and beautifully presented - served to us mostly by a charming older gentleman. Deserts were heavenly and beautifully presented again. Several extra unexpected little touches were offered to us from a hot entree / amuse bouche to a glass of local port later in the meal.
The dining room had its balcony doors open- overlooking the Plaza below- there were other appreciated little touches even in the ladies loos and wash rooms, in fact, the whole ambience in Paco Jimenez was warm and thoughtful.
We all had a really lovely evening and with prices (including wine and other drinks) working out at approx £35pp we thought it offered excellent value and agreed we would strongly recommend it to other trip adviser readers .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely hidden gem in Marbella Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My friends and I wen to Puerto Banus for a girl's weekend away and decided to head to Marbella Old Town for dinner one night.

We headed to Orange Square which is full of eateries and, with six indecisive women trying to choose, we were getting nowhere fast.

Hidden away in the north east corner of the square was a menu board and we were told that a restaurant had just openeed up in the gallery.

It was slightly odd being walked through the gallery to get to our table but it was completely worth it. The food and wine were excellent and easily the best we had all weekend. The service was also excellent and the waiter was really helpful and frendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The only small downside was that we had to wait quite a while to be served but the food was well worth the wait, as it was delicious, We were also given a free tuna carpaccio each to tide us over until our mains arrived.

The menu is spanish but with unusual combinations but don't be put off as everything tasted amazing and was beauifully presented.

The restaurant isn't huge so wouldn't be suitable for a big party of diners but other than that I would deifnitely recommend it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paco J, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Paco Jimenez, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por dejar un comentario de nuestro restaurante en Trip Advisor. Su opinión es muy valiosa para nosotros. Esperamos que regrese a nuestro establecimiento en donde estaremos gustosos de atenderle nuevamente.
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paco Jimenez also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Paco Jimenez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paco Jimenez, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.