We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“read the review im being honest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Guadalpin Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Guadalpin Suites to your Saves list
Guadalpin Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd. Principe Alfonso Von Hohenlohe, 19, C.N. 340, km 179, 29602 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“read the review im being honest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

70 Euros away from the airport in a cab .This closed down 5 star hotel is now being run as apartments/suites/penthouses.We did not know that the hotel was closed down when booking the penthouse suite on asking why was it so quiet and bars all closed we were told it closed down in 2012 and the majority of apartment other than the ones people who manged the suites owned were sold off to private investors. We moved in and within the hour workmen started drilling to remove old patio, we complained and where moved to suite 424 which was nice inside a bit dated but cleaned every day and sheets twice in the four days we spent there.We had everything we needed but if the suites are to be rented out they really need to spend some money on them and they could be gorgeous. The are cabs waiting outside and bus stop right outside bus to marbella 3 euros for two people. In a cab 6 euros Centre of Marbella and 7 euros to Banus, it was ideal for our break but a surprise on arrival very very quiet. Got to say 1st break i have had away and never spoke to a sole in the area, such a shame fab building and has making to be a great holiday vacation Beach 100mtrs bottom of road and very clean, nice beach bars and restaurants there too.Would i go again No far to expensive feel cheated by the marketing for this holiday we paid £1,200.00 for 3 people in a penthouse. for what we were about to see far too expensive for what we got actually not marketed realistically at all. Oh and by the way don't pay extra for the jacuzzi they should be made up you booked the apartment the least they should do is turn the jacuzzi on and try and impress you.Breakfast is delivered daily very continental pot of tea satchets for coffee pastries not worth bothering with at all. Drinks in rooms far to expensive dont bother with them either. A Lidl next door to stock up the fridge.Swimming pool bar was closed down and derelict such a waste.no restaurant at all so not given any marks.

Room Tip: room 424 corner penthouse sun on rooftop all day quiet so will sleep well after a busy night OUT on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    12
    5
    11
See reviews for
18
20
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

RUDE RUDE RUDE !!!

The staff at this hotel are extremely rude.

I booked this hotel by mistake as they falsely lead me to believe this was the Gualdapin in Banus. As soon as I booked it and received the confirmation, I realised my mistake and called them within 10mins to cancel...... they refused to listen.

The receptionist (Stephanie I believe)... said no matter even if the reservations department had not charged my card yet - they will refuse to cancel the booking.....

Originally they said they would only charge me a cancellation fee, but then changed their minds and have tried to charge me the full amount.

If this is how they treat potential customers who haven't even arrived, I hate to think what they would be like when you do actually stay here.

My advice - Don't GO ... !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Guadalphin Suites was previously a hotel which is now rented out as apartments. The apartments were huge and comfortable but the hotel is like a ghost town with the bar, faciliteis and shops all closed and left dirty and unkempt. Everything looks tired and the hotel had an eerie feel to it with nothing open.

Furniture on the balcony was all rusty, The pool area was dirty (we saw an empty cola bottle, cigarette packet and full ashtray left on a table overnight which was not cleared away until mid-day the following day. The sunbeds by the pool were very dirty and looked like they had not been cleaned in a very long time. The WC facilities in the lobby had no soap or paper.

In its day this would have been a lovel 5 star hotel but it has been left empty for what quite clearly is a long time and therefore I would not consider it 5 star by any means.

On the positive side it;s close to the beach and withing walking distance of Marbella and there is a large supermarked a few mins walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

This property is a closed down 5 star hotel that is now being run as apartments. For our holiday this was exactly what we wanted and having read other reviews before booking we knew what to expect. The problem is that this is not communicated clearly on their website or some booking sites so other guests were very unhappy about their being no services-we were happy with the room and even had a large terrace. 2 things they need to change: a self catering apartment needs a kettle! And the receptionist needs to speak at least basic English!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have booked a studio with a twin bed and I got two singles connected!!! They would not change it, very inconvenient...!!! Also most of the personnel spoke ONLY Spanish. All the restaurants bars even one elevator were closed at the end of June!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The apartments were very spacious, clean and luxurious. The hot tub on the balcony was great and we made daily use of it. The location is ideal for a walk or short taxi into Marbella old town or a taxi to puerto banus. We did this every evening and it was inexpensive. The benefit of the location is that it is quiet and relaxing. The beach is also very close by and there is a great supermarket to hand as well.

However we were there early June and it felt like the hotel was just getting ready for the season. For example the restaurant and pool bar was not open (so there was nowhere to eat or drink in the hotel), the pool had not been cleaned (until part way through our stay). Reception staff were unable to give us a local area map which seems a basic requirement.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed in a 4th floor 2 bedroom apartment with a spa bath. Unfortunately this didn't work. We also paid in advance for underground parking but this was too much hassle so we ended up parking in the street. The pool was lovely.it's a shame the bar etc is no longer functioning as it would have been nice to have had this facility, especially if we had been here for longer(we were here for 4 nights).The bedrooms had plenty storage and were pleasantly furnished. The beds were comfy and the apartment was spotless.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guadalpin Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guadalpin Suites

Address: Blvd. Principe Alfonso Von Hohenlohe, 19, C.N. 340, km 179, 29602 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guadalpin Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering luxurious studios and apartments with large terraces, Guadalpin Suites has an ideal setting just 550 metres from Marbella's beaches. Set in attractive grounds, it features an outdoor swimming pool. Each spacious, modern studio and apartment at Guadalpin Suites is decorated in pleasant cream tones. There is a seating area with a sofa and a flat-screen TV. Kitchen facilities include a fridge, microwave, electric hob, dishwasher and a washing machine. Apartments include separate bedrooms, a living room with a larger TV, and a kitchen. A continental breakfast, consisting of coffee or tea, toasts, pastries, cured meats, and juice or an English breakfast is offered in the apartments from 09:00 to 12:00. Guests can also enjoy room service from 9:00 to 20:00. Set on the Golden Mile between Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Guadalpin has easy access to the Costa del Sol's beaches. It is within 6 km of 3 golf courses. Malaga and Estepona can be reached in 35 minutes by car. Gibraltar and La Linea de la Concepcion are around 75 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Despegar.com so you can book your Guadalpin Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guadalpin Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.