We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a few days But...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alanda Hotel Marbella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alanda Hotel Marbella to your Saves list
Alanda Hotel Marbella
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Principe Alfonso Von Hohenlohe | Ctra Nacional 340, Km 172, 29600 Marbella, Spain (Formerly NH Alanda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for a few days But...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

For a short break at a very reasonable price this hotel was fine. It had large comfy rooms and a nice pool. The staff were obliging even though few spoke English. However be aware of the parking - you have to pay 10 euros a day which adds considerably to the cost of your stay! We found you could park round the back of the hotel safely (with the staff!!) for nothing. We also booked half board - don't bother. The food was boring though edible and the service very slow. We changed the deal to lunch which was much better and ate out in the evening. Another minus was the lack of a changing room if you had an evening flight. We were forced to pay 5 euros each for a shower in the spa. Incidentally you had to pay to use gym facilities. So hotel is fine but be aware of the headline price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    121
    68
    24
    16
See reviews for
45
128
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel situated on the Golden Mile and the situation is very good a few minutes from the Port , driving and if you can get a parking space, so advisable to walk the 25 minutes maybe a little more.
The reception staff had a nice smile but when waiting to check in they answered the phone and I had to wait until they finished the call which seemed longer than it was. The phone was more important than the guest, for all I know it might have been his wife asking what he wanted for dinner!
The rooms and to be honest have not been updated in the 10 years it has been built. But 10 years ago this hotel was a very high standard and good decor lasts.
The room I was in was opposite the mosque so early morning and latish at night ...not in Spanish terms though, I was entertained by the recorded message.
Breakfast was very good which is more than I could say for the staff whom were slightly abrupt, maybe the Spanish way of hosting.
The WIFI was additional which is a pet hate of mine.
The pool a little dated and the gym which is another pet hate was also chargeable.
Most people stay to be near the beach and even though it is not beachside you can cross the road and walk through the other hotel to the sea front.
So not the best experience and I think it is living on the past reputation but not now up to the real standard of the good modern hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Staff were very inefficient and no very helpful especially around the pool bar, staff too lazy to make cocktails ,no ingredients for another cocktail,didnt want to give us food for the poolside then on collection it was served in polathene boxes to eat at poolside??? Poor layout in hotel . Hotel very tired looking pool had broken/squeky ladders in pool very ennoying when trying to relax by pool side. Not a very enjoyable stay for my wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I was one of the first guests at the NH Alanda when it opened and have stayed there several times, but this was the first time I had returned to Marbella in 7 years, so I was worried standards might have slipped and the place might be in need of a refurb. However, not so! Absolutely nothing has changed except the breakfast (will come to that). Yes the TVs in rooms are old and it might be time to add flat screens, but the rooms are immaculate and look as good as new, which suggests the housekeeping have done a great job. The pool is brilliant, staff charming and if you don't want a typical holiday hotel and somewhere more relaxing, then NH Alanda is perfect. Back to breakfast, like most hotels, they have gone 100% buffet style which is a good buffet standard, but there used to be a chef making fresh omelettes to order. Management - bring back the chef please!!!!! Other than that keep up the good work!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We booked this Hotel after arriving in Marbella, finding our original hotel was a dive and took a drive to find something better.
This place ticked 9 out of 10 boxes.
Very Nice and Clean, and very spacious surroundings, and its own Car Parking facility. Yes you do have to pay to park, but you can buy a weekly ticket (Unlike a lot of other areas in Marbella) meant once paid you can come and go as you please.
Staff were excellent, the Rooms were out of this world and the pool lovely.
The only downside, for a hotel with 3 bar areas, they don't seem to have embrased the use of these Bars. We found in the evening everyone went out of the grounds to the local restaurants etc, and this may be a trick missed by the hotel, as they could have used these areas to keep the guests drinking and socializing there. But all in all excellent

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The room was ok but had an uninteresting view. The service in the reception was slow and they let their guests wait while they were talking in the phone. Breakfast was above average.
The one thing that really upset me was the fact that I forgot a pair of shorts in the room (and I know for a fact that I did forget them there) and when I called the hotel they asked me to send them an email - instead of taking a note, check up and get back to me. But I did offcourse send them an email and this was their answer:
I have checked with the housekeeper and unfortunately nothing was foundin
room 1327.

Regards

- no we are sorry that your shorts wasn't found or anything. Because of the fact that I am certain that I forgot my shorts at the hotel, this can only mean that one of their housekeepers are walking around in my shorts!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

First time in Marbella, hotel is a little out of the way but nice so you can be out of the hustle and bustle, very competitive price compared to some hotels more centrally located, could not fault the facilities what so ever, only negative I can find is that the balcony faces out over the road so wasn't much to see there. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of choice, check in and check out was great, hotel staff pleasant and will go above and beyond for you. If you are new to this area then speak to reception. We contacted the hotel as we boarded in Manchester and they arranged for transportation for us form the airport (cheaper than picking a random taxi up at the airport). Rooms come with extras, even a toothbrush and tooth paste which is great if your flying in with hand luggage, twin sinks and large comfortable bed. Towels for the pool can be hired form the spa too!

Not as expensive as we were told once there, looking at around €15 per bottle of wine and drinks in clubs and bars in Marbella and Puerto Banus around €10 per drink

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alanda Hotel Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanda Hotel Marbella

Address: Blvd Principe Alfonso Von Hohenlohe | Ctra Nacional 340, Km 172, 29600 Marbella, Spain (Formerly NH Alanda)
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alanda Hotel Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Alanda Hotel Marbella, our passion is to create and share an exceptional stay experience by offering outstanding services, assuring carefree enjoyment and excellent quality of lifestyle in a unique location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alanda Hotel Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Alanda Marbella
Nh Alanda Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alanda Hotel Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.