We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money - and a good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alanda Club Marbella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alanda Club Marbella to your Saves list
Alanda Club Marbella
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Carretera de Cadiz Km 192 | Salida Elvira, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Value for money - and a good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

In the past years we have stayed at many resorts in the area of costa del sol. None of these has it all, but we believe Alanda Club will be number one of our experiences. Big rooms, well equiped apartments, close to restaurants and super market, Arlanda Club has a very good restaurant with fair prices and good service, close to the beach and a lot of golf courses, free parking in the cellar, free internet WIFI, TV with a lot of channels - Skysport, etc. lLarge terrace with furniture and a very high level of security all over the hotel also to your apartment. Safety box in the room. But first of all a very service minded friendly smiling staff. If you compare to the price level you cannot expect to get more for the money. The 4 Stars are fair for this nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment facing to the sun. I do not believe you can get a room with sun alle the day, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Alanda Club Marbella, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest.,

Thank you very much for your warm comment, which is a great motivation for the whole team.
Ensuring that all our guests have a fabulous stay is our main objective and knowing that we have achieved it gives us pride.
We hope to host you again in your future visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    98
    41
    12
    5
See reviews for
105
82
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful. I strongly advise you read the reviews where it mentions bad beds. Bring your own inflatable mattress or sleep somewhere else if you have to stay here! Maybe the beach or a cot by the pool …? The sofa / pullout cot was as hard as a rock so no help there. There was no heat at all in the bathroom. It gets quite cool here in February. When the heat was on in the rest of the unit it was very loud. There are no laundry facilities on the property or nearby unless you have a newly renovated unit. Grounds were nicely maintained. Everything else was just OK. Not even a three star resort in our opinion. I don't see how this resort can be so highly rated by visitors unless they all had newly renovated units?

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a recently renovated unit before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Alanda Club Marbella, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

From Alanda Club Marbella we want to thank you for the time taken in posting your opinion in regard to your experience in our aparthotel.
Your comments and suggestions are highly appreciated, thanks to them, we can identify our weak points and at the same time, make improvements in our service.
I remain at your disposal and hope to welcome you again in the near future, when you will be able to appreciate all the developments that have taken place.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

If you can secure a decent rate, then this must be one of the best value for money places around. Decent sized apartments, very well equipped, in a great complex with pools and other club type facilities very near the beach and ideally located on the Costa del Sol to get anywhere quickly. The cherry on the top is that secure parking a few yards from the front door is free - sometimes the cost of hotel parking can almost double the room rate, which really annoys me. Highly recommended and I would always consider as an option when visiting the area.

Room Tip: I think that they are all pretty much the same. Ground floor rooms may be slightly nosier and offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Alanda Club Marbella, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the time spent in sharing your opinion through TripAdvisor.
We are sure that your comments will help other users to enjoy their stay with us even more.
The whole Alanda Club Marbella team strives daily to fulfil the wishes of our guests and our ultimate reward is customer satisfaction.
We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at Club Alanda as part of our timeshare exchange for a week. We got a huge two bedroom, three bath condo with a full kitchen, balconies, etc. We were there off season, so it was a bit too cool to use the pools and very quiet. The beach is about 100-150 yards down the street.

Each unit has its own parking space, some covered under the building. I recommend you get a car if you are visiting... this resort is about 20 minutes outside of Marbella, and about 30-45 outside of Malaga - the closest city. From the resort, you are about 2-3 hours from Granada, Cordoba and Seville... although getting a GPS is important.

Overall, the resort was nice. The mattresses need to be upgraded (two twins pushed together make up a king bed), and their "excursions" are not well organized and the staff didn't know much about them - also perhaps because it was offseason (i hope). A good relaxing home base to explore costa del sol and andalucia.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Alanda Club Marbella, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our resort.
We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at Alanda Club Marbella even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

When reading this review please remember that people will invariably have different opinions about the same thing and we also think the weather you experience colours your opinion. We were lucky, it was sunny most days. If you haven’t been to the Costa del Sol out of season before you need to know that in November when the sun’s shining, between 10am and 4pm it can be lovely and warm, hot even, but pretty cool or even cold in the evenings, at night and first thing in the morning. When we were there it went up to 24C on a couple of days at about 2pm but down to 6C or 7C at night, so you need to pack warm things as well as your bathers!

If you look at the photo of the resort plan we’ve uploaded, we believe that the majority of units in the “garden” phases 1 & 2 of the resort closest to the sea are privately owned so most holidaymakers will stay in the 4 storey “club” timeshare units in phases 3 to 7. The beach and sea is immediately to the right of the block called La Granja. We did a timeshare exchange for a week in November and stayed in a 2 bedroom, 3 bathroom unit on the first floor of Huelva block in phase 5. The roundabout outside the clubhouse and reception is right at the end of the bridge that crosses the main A7 coastal dual carriageway at the Elviria exit. You’ll see from the plan that a road cuts Alanda club into two – it’s a through road that serves all the Elviria urbinizacions between the A7 & the sea, the Don Carlos 5* Hotel & the Marriott Vacation Resort. As a result, the road does get a fair amount of use over 24 hours – if you’re not used to traffic outside your window, you’ll probably be quite aware of it, especially in bedroom 2. A lot of the Costa del Sol is ribbon urbanizacion developments along the A7 so being right at the end of the bridge over the A7 Alanda is well placed for walking 5 minutes down to the sea and 5 minutes over the bridge to Elviria’s Centro Commercial where you’ll find Supersol & Opencor 24/7 supermarkets and as well as a number of restaurants & a bank.

Some reviewers have mentioned the underground parking. There are actually some really good spaces if you’re lucky enough to get them but also a lot of really awkward ones. But there’s a choice of outdoor parking on the far side of the resort just as you come out of the garage as well and we just parked on the road outside with no problems at all.

We were very pleased with the layout of the apartment which was a very good size with balconies front and back, 2 TV’s with a good choice of UK TV channels, DVD player, plus a mini music centre. We probably wouldn’t think about watching TV in the summer but on cold Spanish autumn nights the TV and DVD player were a boon. The apartment also had a very comprehensive kitchen but, unfortunately, as we tend to find in most holiday places, previous guests had not taken care of the non stick pans and management hadn’t renewed them so they were pretty dire and stayed in the cupboard the whole week. The apartments also have a good size safe for which there is no extra charge and pool towels are provided. Towels and sheets are changed twice during a one week stay. Bedroom 1 and the front balcony looked east over the pool while the second bedroom & balcony looked west over the road. We could have had fantastic sun on the front balcony in the morning and fantastic sun on the back balcony in the afternoon but the lush planting is “mature” (ie it’s big), so gives plenty of shade at first floor level. Presumably, the balconies above on floors 2 and 3 would have had full sun – great out of season, but possibly too hot in summer? The pool area design was interesting and the planting was nicely maintained – there were lots of shady spots which would undoubtedly have been welcome relief in the summer but too cool out of season – in autumn and winter you’ll want to stay in the sunny spots. A few hardy souls braved the water but there’s also a small indoor pool if you really want a dip out of season.

The apartments have obviously had a face lift and, if ours was anything to go by, have been nicely painted throughout in pastel tones. But management clearly didn’t replace major fittings. The wooden kitchen units were pretty tired and the coffee coloured bathroom suites were very 1980’s, with taps that had seen better days. Bedroom 1 ensuite had a jacuzzi bath with shower over – the other two bathrooms only had showers. We have to say the excellent water pressure from a huge hot water tank on a utility terrace next to the kitchen gave a really good shower. Bedroom 1 had a super kingsize double bed and a small TV with twin beds and no TV in bedroom 2. We like a firm supportive bed but, unfortunately, these beds were like rock. We slept really badly all week and pressure points at the hip caused lower leg pain. Alanda management should have a look at the beds in the nearby Marriott resort where we stayed a few years ago. Now they’re really good beds.
The weather on the day we arrived was like British winter and we would have liked to have turned on the air conditioning unit to heat the apartment. Unfortunately, when we did so, it sounded like one of those old cross channel hovercrafts taking off. We complained at reception and to be fair, they sent a maintenance man very quickly. With a bit of a grin he shrugged his shoulders and told us the unit was over 20 years old and the noise was quite typical. Basically, in our view it was unusable. We dread to think what is must be like in the full summer heat when you want cooling in the apartment. If we were owners at Alanda club we’d be asking where our maintenance fees were going, and at Alanda they’re not cheap. So, with no usable heating we were particularly displeased with the standard electricity charge of almost €40 for the week payable on checkout. We’ve had to pay electricity elsewhere but it has usually been metered and cost about €10. €40 does seem to be excessive, especially if you can’t use the air-con units. The maintenance fees at our home resort are inclusive of electricity. If yours are too, then like us you’ll be paying for it twice.

Some reviewers have said the in house restaurant isn’t that good. We found it not too bad at all. You can save a bit of money by going for one of the set menus. The €18 menu was pretty reasonable but the 2 more expensive menus at €24 & €29 are probably not worth the extra money. All of the starters and 3 out of 4 desserts are the same as on the €18 menu and 3 of 4 main courses on the €24 menu are fish (2 of which are salmon). A very strange and ill thought out set menu choice we thought. If you haven’t been before, you need to know that it’s not very cheap any more to eat out on the Costa del Sol away from the main tourist places where prices might be kept lower due to plenty of competition. By way of example, you can get very reasonable set menus for under €10 up at Torremolinos or La Carihuela. Some people say that prices rise the closer you get to Marbella, which is a few miles west of Elviria. But if you don’t mind paying a bit extra, one of the best restaurants in the area that is simply called Restaurant Elviria is directly opposite Alanda club. It was superb in 2007 and was superb again in 2011. The club bar had a 2-4-1 happy hour between 6 & 7 but only on limited drinks that did not include cocktails, which meant they lost our custom. We believe there was regular live entertainment in the bar, even out of season, but we appear to have missed that so can’t offer any comments.

This is a nice resort in a very convenient location for local amenities and we’re happy to give it 4 out of 5, but because of the horrible beds and the electricity charge we personally won’t be booking it again.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Alanda Club Marbella, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of the whole team, I would like to thank you for the time you spent in sharing your experience in regard to your stay in Alanda Club Marbella, which I have noted with regret has not been to your complete liking.
On the other hand, electrical energy expenses are a requirement that only the "Central Exchange" establishes for its customers. We at reception make only the payment that you stipulate in your booking confirmation.
We look forward to welcoming you to Alanda Club Marbellain the near future in order to show you our daily progress.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Clare
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I have stayed at the Alanda club many times since it was first built (originally as a four seasons resort), and while the shiny 'newness' may be long gone, the customer service, friendliness and quality of the resort continues to please. Off-peak it's fantastic value for money, and if you don't mind taking a car (or they now offer an airport pickup service) - it's somewhere I simply enjoy returning to. Looking forward to Feb 2012 already.

Room Tip: two-room units with a pool view are lovely; penthouse 3-bed units are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Alanda Club Marbella, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time and for sharing your opinion with us. We are sure that all your suggestions will help other customers to enjoy their stay at xxx even more.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Just came home after spending Scottish October half term at Alanda Club, Marbella. I've got a Marriott time share thingy and had a week deposited with Interval. They did say that this was a star below Son Antem, Majorca but I would say it was 2 stars below. Son Antem being a 5* and this barely a 3*. The room was clean but the furniture itself was needing taken out and burnt... including the beds. They were horrendous. We scratched like mad the whole time. My eczema went nuts and my partner sneezed and sniffed constantly. I don't know if it was just our block but this place could do with a fair bit of money spent on it. On the positive the staff were lovely, the bar and entertainment were a giggle and the food was really good and great value. This place has a lot going for it, it just needs to be modernised and de-dust mited and de-bed bugged. In its present condition I wouldn't recommend it. Sorry Alanda :-(

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnaHotels, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Alanda Club Marbella, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

From Alanda Club Marbellawe want to thank you for the time taken in posting your opinion in regard to your experience in our aparthotel.
Your comments and suggestions are highly appreciated, thanks to them, we can identify our weak points and at the same time, make improvements in our service.
I remain at your disposal and hope to welcome you again in the near future, when you will be able to appreciate all the developments that have taken place.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alanda Club Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alanda Club Marbella

Address: Carretera de Cadiz Km 192 | Salida Elvira, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alanda Club Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the heart of the Costa del Sol in the town of Marbella, a benchmark in high-level tourism, our Resort offers 150 exclusive apartments decorated in two different styles with all the comforts and luxuries you might want: Indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, gymnasium... And just a few metres from the beach and the Elviria shopping and leisure area; these are just some of the advantages you can enjoy at Alanda Club Marbella. Spacious apartments conceived for families and groups of friends, where the size of the lounges, rooms and terraces provide you with maximum comfort during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alanda Club Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alanda Club Marbella Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alanda Club Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.