We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aloha Gardens to your Saves list
Aloha Gardens
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Urb Aloha Golf | Avda. Del Prado s/n, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hen party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I personally thought it was a brilliant apartment with 2floors and 2 balconys. The 250 euro is a deposit which can be held on a card. Which is standard for most places when it comes with everything full working tv, all kitchen goods plus washing machines and dish washer. They even provided bread, milk jam disher washer tablets and washing tabs! Which i was very impressed with as usually have to buy all that urself and end up wasting if ur not there for very long. I would go back 100per cent! Whilst we stayed the was a rude loud group which was removed of site as they were drunk and starting fights which has left a bad review! They are a high quality place so if you want to stay in a classy place its the best place to stay! They will remove all rif raf off site! When i checked out deposit was given back. I can see why they do it because it to stop rif raf ppl breaking stuff! Excellent i will go back 100 percent

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    22
    12
    12
See reviews for
48
16
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed here with a group of 9 for a hen party in July. We had been advised on booking that we would have 2 apartments next to each other, however upon checking we were told this was not possible and were given 2 apartments quite far apart, with little direction on how we get to each of them. We were also told to pay 250 euros per room which we had not been prepared for. The staff on front reception were very unfriendly, unhelpful and seem like they don't want to be there.

The actual apartments were beautiful and very spacious with a back patio area, balcony upstairs and a roof terrace. There is free wifi in the main reception but not in the rest of the complex. The pool area was nice, but there were not enough sun loungers. The hotel is in a nice quiet area of Marbella about a 7 euro taxi ride from Puerto Banus. I would definitely consider staying here again for the location and great apartments, but it's unfortunate the staff do not offer a better customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Got to the apartment and was told by the man to leave £500 deposit. We told him that we thought this was a bit to much as we were not told to bring extra cash with us for deposit. The man then said I don't like use so I'm now going to double the deposit to £1000. We were left with no choice than to pay it. We got to our room witch was basic for what we paid then went down to the pool were we was being roudy and having a laugh when the man from reception came down and asked us to leave the hotel but would not tell us why. This destroyed the start of our holiday and we decided to just get a flight home

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye S, Manager at Aloha Gardens, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Tezzzzzzzzzaaaa,

After reading your review I felt it only fair to add the pieces of the puzzle that have been left out.

When you arrived you were informed that ALL of our clients are asked to leave a security DEPOSIT bond of 250€ (clearly stated in our booking conditions). This was the point that your party started to become annoyed as you felt this was unfair and that you had already paid. We advised you all that this was NOT a charge simply a deposit. Your group and you then become angry and somewhat aggressive to the receptionist. At this point I intervened as there were loud noises coming from reception, I addressed the situation when it quickly became apparent that you were in no fit state (drunk and aggressive) to enter our resort. I informed you that given the situation you would NOT be allowed to check in. This was obviously not the perfect start to your holiday which is why I personally told you to leave and return in 5 minutes so that you could calm down. You returned and spoke to me directly with another member of your party, I informed you both that due to your behaviour and actions the only way you would be allowed to stay and check-in would be to pay a increased DEPOSIT of 500€ per apartment. This was agreed with your party. During your check in you yourself entered the reception with a large glass of alcohol, you were asked to leave by myself and your friends as this is prohibited, you left only to put this glass outside the door for someone to trip over and actually cut her foot.

Against my better judgement you checked in, by which time the main party of your group (4 girls) were very reasonable and of more than acceptable behaviour. After no longer that 30 minutes a guest came to reception informing me that she had been attacked and threatened by the pool area by a guy and a girl from apartment Nº 6 fitting your description. Viewing the CCTV footage we saw an unprovoked attack against this girl, we therefore can only assume the words she has reported to the police to be correct, this person was indeed you and your friend staying in apartment Nº6. This was advised at the time and is the very reason you were asked to leave the resort. We have passed your details and CCTV footage onto the local police for them to resolve as the girl reported the attack and this was required by law.

Thank you for the feedback left but I’m sure you will agree that given your actions it is with the best interest of Aloha Garden and all its guests that you were not allowed to stay.

The Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had two separate 2 bed apartments next to each other. One was very out dated decor the other looked like it had had a recent lick of paint and more modern furnishings. The beds were awful and extremely basic. These apartments have the potential to be really lovely. The grounds are very well kept and secure. They are great sizes and the location is very good. Close enough for 7-8euro cab ride to the centre. There wasn't enough signage for the pools. The pools didn't have enough sun loungers and there was no choice but to put our towels on the concrete floor around the pool. There was no linen change or towel change. As a base camp Aloha gardens is good but for anything else I'd have felt even more let down than I was. Some of the previous reviews didn't give an accurate picture. Would not return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye S, Guest Relations Manager at Aloha Gardens, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Surrey84,

Thank you so much for your time to leave some comments about Aloha Gardens, positive as well as constructive!!

Sadly we are only part way through our refurbishment program and we still have some apartments not yet complete. We try to put most of our guests in our refurbished apartments however we are at full capacity at this time of year so need every apartment. We would however like to note that all apartments are painted twice per annum, without exception.

We give all clients and map upon arrival in order to help with bearings, each pool and apartment is labelled clearly on the map and we feel the resort is well signposted… We also have security staff who patrol the resort regularly who would be happy to help. I am sorry that none of the above helped you navigate around the resort.

We allocate sun beds to each apartment, in many cases there is not enough space for sunbeds if a sunbed were to be allocated to each occupant especially in high season. In addition we try to continue to manage the number of sunbeds around to pool in order to maintain our exclusivity and serenity. The community of the resort stipulates that this space is maintained. We do however provide each apartment with outdoor furniture on their allocated outdoor space, whether this be balcony, garden or sun terrace and also there is a grassed area for guests to sit and relax on their towels around each pool.

Cleaning and laundry is available at reception upon request, this is classed as an extra service if required and is charged accordingly.

Thank you again for your time and your comments. Warmest regards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I recently come back from this place, the reception is old fashion and not welcoming... the staff were not helpful at all in directing us to out apartment they drew an arrow on the thing they called a map and we were left to find our 2 apartments that we struggled with as the complex is so big....the actual apartments are clean and spacious, our bedding was clean but had old stains on that should been thrown not reused. we was told we would have to pat 6 euros for another set of bedding...our fridge never worked properly so all our food we brought including our milk went off the next day...the grill never worked neither...the pools were ok but the roof above the jaquzzi and the fencing is old and had mould. also the steps into the small pool by apartment 12 are loose and need tightening...this place is definitely not a 4 star more like a 2 star....its ok if you just want a quiet place to sit and chill with the kids or if your an older party who just want to sit around the pool....the aloha restaurant which is by the reception office is not a good place to eat, they messed up our food order which took 25 minutes to come then when they took it back to replace my meal it took another 25 minutes before i cancelled the order....they was very rude and demanded we payed for the coffees we had with no sorry or a free drink only to say they will have to take the 16 euros out there own pockets....i had my hen party her for the weekend and the complex just don't cater for this, we was told to keep the noise down by security noise we was just talking aroung the table around 10pm on the sunday night. they don't let u p[lay music without knocking on ur door and thats b4 11pm....DEFINATELY NOT A PLACE FOR PARTYING OR A HEN PARTY AS THEY CATER FOR FAMILIES MORE AND OLDER PEOPLE....

Room Tip: ROOMS from around 12 to 20 are near the reception office so quick to get out of...plus close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye S, Guest Relations Manager at Aloha Gardens, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear nicola d,

Thank you for your comments regarding your hen weekend at Aloha Gardens.

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your time with us as much as you were expecting and you found the resort to be sub standard in your opinion. We pride ourselves on being suitable for couples and families and the serenity of the resort is our biggest selling point. I am sorry this was not what you were looking for in a holiday however we need to protect our other guests so ask that noise in the evening is kept to a minimum, with no exception. There are bars and restaurants all within walking distance that are open until the early hours especially at this time of year.

We are slightly concerned that most of your complaints were not addressed at reception, we would prefer to deal with any situation that arises as it arises and then hopefully we can make you feel as if we are appreciating you as a guest. Your fridge however was looked at by our maintenance department on the afternoon of the 13th, prior to your departure the next morning but the maintenance records note that the fridge was too full of cans to investigate any problem, and that the problem was due to the overloading of the fridge in any case.

We give all clients and map upon arrival in order to help with bearings, each pool and apartment is labelled clearly on the map and we feel the resort is well signposted… We also have security staff who patrol the resort regularly who would be happy to help. I am sorry that none of the above helped you upon arriving at the resort.

We have looked into the other items you listed and your comments have been passed to our maintenance department.

With regards to the 'Aloha Restaurant' I am assuming you mean 'El Jardin'? Although we have a close relationship with the restaurant it is not the resort restaurant so cannot take responsibility for your complaints. I can however pass on your comments to the appropriate party.

Thank you for your time and comments. Warmest regards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Aloha Gardens is a lovely complex in a great location. This was our second stay as a family of 4 and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay for the second year running. We stayed for 10 nights this year and while there were hens and stags during our stay they appeared very well behaved and caused no trouble that we saw. Mostly its family groups relaxing by the pool. I suppose you can be unlucky in any location but we didnt have any problem over the past 2 years in June/July. So to concludr very friendly staff in a superbly maintained well located complex.
Garry
Ireland

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye S, Guest Relations Manager at Aloha Gardens, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Garry,

Thank you so much for the time you have given to review Aloha Gardens, we really appreciate it. We are really happy that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us for the second year running and look forward to welcoming you next year!!

We find that most of our guests don't experience any problems with other holiday makers at our resort, but as with most resorts there will be some negative incidents however we pride ourselves on dealing with these situations appropriately in order to protect our other guests.

I hope you are enjoying the rest of your summer. Thanks again....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just back from 2nd trip at aloha gardens, the apartment was excellent, 3 large bedrooms and a sofa bed in the front room that had 2 single beds within it. I was with a group of friends for a 4 day holiday break. I have read other reviews and would like to say we were lucky not to have encountered any problems with hen and stag parties. There were groups of men and women all under control during the day and off out at night, hardly any noise. We booked the mini bus with aloha gardens, took all 7 of us to and from Malaga airport 207 euros so just under 30 euros each. Beautiful restaurant called studio 68 food was to die for, especially the carrot cake!!! Fred and the rest of the staff were lovely. The whole complex is lovely, the gardens are amazing and the staff very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: 3 bed room apartments will easily fit 8 people with no problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faye S, Guest Relations Manager at Aloha Gardens, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear WendyH,

Thank you so much for taking time to review Aloha Gardens and for your positive comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you also for mentioning the Airport Transfer service we offer, we feel it is the best way to get to and from the airport and leaves you stress free to enjoy your holiday!

Thanks and warmest regards....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Gardens

Address: Urb Aloha Golf | Avda. Del Prado s/n, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloha Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aloha Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloha Gardens Hotel Marbella
Aloha Gardens Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.