We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BlueBay Banus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BlueBay Banus to your Saves list
BlueBay Banus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Cadiz Km 173, 29660 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
south lanarks
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“More than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I always check tripadvisor before booking a holiday and this hotel looked beautiful but had very mixed reviews at the time of booking. I decided to take a chance but the closer the holiday came the worse the reviews were getting so I was really worried by the time my partner and I arrived.
Firstly I have to say reception staff were efficient and polite, we arrived around midnight and a night watchman opened up the dining area so we could have a snack and bottle of water.
Our room was a very large double with a lovely balcony with nice padded wicker chairs and coffee table overlooking a pretty court yard, there was also a little balcony at the other side of the room overlooking the small pool. Large bathroom with shower, bath and bidet.
We were very pleased with the room, yes I'm sure it could have done with a wee touch up here and there but that would be bit picky to complain about it.
Rooms were cleaned everyday, lovely crisp white sheets think the towels were the original ones from when hotel was built so had seen better days but were changed daily.
There is two pools, one small with a wooden pergola over it, this was used for massages etc although I never saw anyone in it throughout the week. There is only a few loungers at this pool so its very peaceful except that its outside reception and diningroom.
The large pool has a small divided area for children its very nice and we found it very peaceful. All the bathing/lounging areas are on grass there are no tiled areas so can be abit damp underfoot first thing in the morning.
The main dining area was used for all meals, main lounge was only open in the evenings and pretty sedate. Pool bar served snacks at lunchtime but you had to pay for these.
There is also a beach bar five minute walk down the road, this again you have to pay for, drinks food and use of the loungers on the beach (14 euro for 2 people). We thought this was rather expensive but its even more expensive towards Puerto Banus.
Food was okay but nothing wonderful, 4 day break would be fine but we found it getting too restricting after a few days. Breakfast was cereal, yoghurt, cheese and meats as you would expect, lots of baked goods, crusty breads and always hot selection as well.
Lunch was probably our favourite meal, salads, usually some pasta dishes, meat and there was always paella. You helped yourself to wine at lunch, juice or beer in the evening the waitress would pour you a glass when you eventually caught her attention, I have to say my glass was never topped up throughout the meal.
There is a bus stop right outside the hotel, so if you fancy a trip into Marbella or can't face the walk into Banus its handy. Depending on the bus its either 1.18 or 1.23 euro into Marbella central. coming home its a bit more difficult we ended up getting back to Banus and taking a taxi to hotel which is about 7 euro. Hotel is nearer San Pedro than Banus.
If getting a bus home look for number 27 or 78. There are 2 timetables at the stops, main bus line is L1, L6 etc the timetable for the 27 and 78 tends to be on a different lamp post.
It's a beautiful area, lovely weather and some spectacular looking villas, yachts etc obviously it can make dining out or going for a wee drink bit expensive..
We had a lovely holiday but was happy we hadnt booked for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    130
    75
    40
    43
See reviews for
63
107
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saftesbury Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We returned from there on the 2nd Oct 2012. The hotel is fabulous, very clean and the gardens are spectacular. The rooms are cleaned every day and the food is very good. The beach bar was a bit of a walk and we did not see any water sports.This bar was the only bar in any direction for at least 2 miles around the hotel and the hotel bars closed at 11.30 at night. They advertise an al a cart resturant but we never found it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great place to stay, rooms very clean ,breakfast was great but a bit greasy.
are room was a good size tv fridge act cleaned very well at all times, the hotel has wifi (pay for) but does not have great range .
easy walk to town or by bus.
the port is a must ... enjoy

Room Tip: the rooms we looked at all looked cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel location justifies all inclusive.Nothing to see for half hour walk in either direction on front.Bar service average,both bars shut 11:30pm when open.Our room 711 2nd floor was excellent but the rest of hotel facilities average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend at this hotel (4 days / nights). Loved the layout of this place - built like a little village and all low rise buildings - and the fact that it wasn't a soulless concrete mass is a big plus. Room allocated on arrival was a bit disappointing - a good sized double but without a balcony or a terrace, and in that kind of sunny climate some private outside space is essential for me. Got a room transfer after 2 nights though (hotel fully booked out), and new room fitted the bill just fine. There are a fair few rooms at this venue without outside space, so if this is an essential for anyone else, be warned! Check your booking specifies what you will get.

All communal areas like the pools, bars and restaurant are well maintained and I found the staff to be pleasant and accommodating. We were all inclusive, and food standard and choice was absolutely fine, likewise with the drinks. The only confusing thing for me was the BlueBay Banus beach club. Not a part of the actual main complex itself, although it looks like that from pictures, and all inclusive does not extend to here which seems a bit unreasonable.

This is a peaceful place to be which fitted the bill for me (aged 41 3/4 having a wee break not a main holiday) but heard some of the younger crowd complain it was too quiet. Entertainment at hotel is a bit hit or miss, but then again, I was there toward the end of the season so maybe a different story at the peak times? Having never been to this part of Spain before, I went into Marbella for a few hours on one day, and Banus centre for a few hours on another day. Not so fussed for Marbella, but Banus is gorgeous. Public transport is cheap and easy for both, but there is barely a passing nod to the timetables so it is just your luck about whether you wait 5 minutes or 45 minutes.

I would happily return to this hotel for a short break or a week at most.

Room Tip: Make sure the room you have booked has a balcony or terrace, as there are many rooms that have neith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have just arrived home from a brilliant 5 days staying at BlueBay Banus with a group of young girls. I felt the need to write a review of this hotel as I was worried before going on holiday after reading the reviews on here, I think the people who are moaning about this hotel just the type of people who enjoy a good moan to be honest!

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and always assisted with our requests with a smile, what more can you ask for? The hotel grounds are lovely and I did not see one cockroach during our stay.......the rooms are big and spacious and the beds comfy. Bathroom clean and lovely powerful shower in our room.

The food was ok, they have a good selection and you will not go hungry if you are on the All Inclusive option, you pretty much have constant access to food! The drinks are also ok, although please avoid the cocktails that come from the machine (toxic!!). The beer is very nice, and the vodka is fine. All the soft drinks are the branded variety, i.e. fanta, sprite, coca cola.

The pool is lovely and they have always got some kind of activities going on. The beach is about a 5 minute walk down the road and is also lovely.

Would highly recommend Puerto Banus for it's nightlife and if you are going as a group of girls you will definitely be looked after by the promotions staff, free drinks and even free bottles are up for offer! If you are planning on going out of an evening in Banus I would suggest a taxi as it is a bit of a walk especially in heels!! Taxi fare varied but was around 8 Euros on average.

Over all a lovely holiday in a lovely hotel, so please do not let the bad reviews on here put you off!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lytham st annes
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I felt I had to write as reading some of the reviews on here after already booking I went with some trepidation but I'm pleased to say that my fears weren't realised. I do believe some people aren't happy unless they're complaining about something or other, and usually if you treat people as you wish to be treated yourself you will get the same back. Upon arrival the reception staff were helpful and friendly and explained in detail the location of the room etc, obviously you expect to take your luggage their yourself for the price you pay. The grounds were lovely, really well maintained as was the pool area. As for cockroaches, I had read about this and requested an upper room in a quiet area, and my request was granted, but lets face it, it's a hot country so roaches are to be expected unfortunately. The food wasn't bad, the staff were very busy, but all very pleasant. If you make an effort to speak Spanish the staff appreciate it - to be honest I heard everyone ordering drinks etc in English - why should we expect everyone to speak English in their country, when the Spanish come to England they don't expect everyone to speak Spanish.
All in all, I had a great week, would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BlueBay Banus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueBay Banus

Address: Carretera Cadiz Km 173, 29660 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BlueBay Banus 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BlueBay Banus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rincon Andaluz
Rincon Andaluz Marbella
Riu Rincon Andaluz
Rincon Andaluz Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueBay Banus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.