We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museo del Bonsai

Museo del Bonsai
Avenida del Doctor Maiz Vinals, s/n | Parque Arroyo de la Represa, 29600 Marbella, Spain
34-95-2862926
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17 Attractions in Marbella
Type: Gardens, Museums
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

For those who are into Bonsai this is a real find. For the casual visitor there are no guides and no substantial information,and no gift shop. But there are sufficient trees in this collection to get people hooked. The surrounding gardens and lake at the top of the park are nicely done.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    20
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fulham central london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Regular Visitors Valerie + David”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very unusual venue totally unexpected in Spain. Spent more time there than was originally planned because of how different it was.
Recommended

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“The gardens outside are better than the Museum.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This bonsai museum is very small, you could be in and out in 20 minutes, but my husband and I really enjoyed the gardens outside of the museum which anyone can visit, we loved watching the geckos, birds and terrapins. If your staying in Marbella it is worth a walk up the hill to have a look at the gardens but you may be disappointed by the Musuem, then again how exciting can a bonsai museum be? You may as well have a look after all its a hard walk up to the gardens in the midday heat, so whist your there, why not.
We visited the museum peak season but we were the only ones there. Very peaceful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Course Needs TLC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We are avid golfers and understand that resort courses are different from pro/tournament courses. However, this course needs quite a bit of attention and up-keep. The tee boxes and greens are not in good shape. However, the quaint clubhouse, staff and food are very good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This museum is tucked away at the edge of the old town - the opposite end from the sea. We went because it was raining (yes bad weather for us in the capital of sun) but the rain did us a favour.

Really enjoyed wandering around the gardens outside and even more enjoyed the museum itself. The water gardens and plants were beautiful and sparse as only bonsai can be.

A peaceful and green place to be - away from the hustle and bustle of the old town and the beach.

If you don't linker you could run run in half an hour - but we spent a couple of hours enjoying the details of the building, the plants, the water and the combinations of shapes and designs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Bonsai also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Museo del Bonsai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museo del Bonsai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.