We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb golf course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Golf & Country Club

Marbella Golf & Country Club
Carretera de Cadiz, Km 188, 29660 Marbella, Spain
+34 952 83 05 00
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Marbella Golf Country Club is located in the heart of the Costa del Sol, just five minutes away from the cosmopolitan city of Marbella. It is considered one of the best and most challenging golf courses in Spain. Designed by the legendary Robert Trent Jones Senior in the late 80's and occupying one of the largest remaining green areas on the Costa del Sol, the 6.000 meter long 18-hole links course with a par of 72, has been imaginatively designed to respect the natural terrain and make the most of the spectacular Mediterranean backdrop. Each hole is uniquely challenging. There are numerous cleverly placed bunkers and lakes which will have to be successfully negotiated if you are to achieve a decent score. The course blends in perfectly with the lush natural surroundings which include rolling green hills and olive trees, and is a joy to play it for a perfect Spain golf holidays.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“superb golf course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015 NEW

been coming to costa del sol to play golf for the last 5 years ,and must say this course has to be one of the best iv'e played ,will definitely be playing it again next April

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    27
    9
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Luxury villa experience with golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We stayed with friends in the mansion/villa. There are spectacular views if the golf course and hills.
Golf wise, good fairways and greens which are maintained well throughout the day.
We had use of a golf buggy throughout the holiday, which was very fun after cocktails.
The course is situated in the Marbella hills,and is tucked away in and charming location .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good test of golf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

We always play here when on holiday in this part of Spain. It never disappoints but at times it gets a little too commercial. We were unfortunate to be paired with a 2-ball from Holland and the lady golfer could not play - 3 balls off the first tee and none of them in the forward direction. Really places like this should vet the handicaps of guests, particularly if they are charging these fees.
Still I shall return as the golf is great.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elverum, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mixed experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015 via mobile

Buggy is strongly reccomended the firs time you play this course. Fine driving range located close to first tee. Front 9 is difficult. Some holes required quite a carry from yellow tee. Back however is nice. We'll maintained course. Nice restaurant. Food is we'll prepared and tastefull.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol england
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Terrible condition”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Some really good varied holes and some really great looking holes. Condition of the course was awful the first six holes had fairways hollow tined and were really churned up, would not play again.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike M, General Manager at Marbella Golf & Country Club, responded to this review, March 11, 2015
Dear Mick,

I'm so very sorry you caught us during our once a year fairway maintenance. The intent is to get nutrients down into the root system of the bermuda grass. What you saw was aeration, top dressing and feeding. If you would care to give us another chance, please contact me at mike@marbellagolf.com to discuss.

Kind Regards,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marbella Golf & Country Club also viewed

 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Marbella Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.