We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Club House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Golf & Country Club

Marbella Golf & Country Club
Carretera de Cadiz, Km 188 29600 Marbella, 29660 Marbella, Spain
34-952-830500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 48 Attractions in Marbella
Type: Golf Courses
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Marbella Golf & Country Club is located in the heart of the Costa del Sol, justfive minutes away from the cosmopolitan city of Marbella. It is considered oneof the best and most challenging golf courses in Spain.Designed by the legendary Robert Trent Jones Senior in the late 80’s andoccupying one of the largest remaining green areas on the Costa del Sol, the6.000 meter long 18-hole links course with a par of 72, has been imaginativelydesigned to respect the natural terrain and make the most of the spectacularMediterranean backdrop. Each hole is uniquely challenging.There are numerous cleverly placed bunkers and lakes which will have to besuccessfully negotiated if you are to achieve a decent score. The course blendsin perfectly with the lush natural surroundings which include rolling green hillsand olive trees, and is a joy to play it for a perfect Spain golf holidays.
Marbella, Andalucia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Club House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Beautiful club house, excellent quality food and very friendly professional staff. I definitely recommend a trip here even if you are not golfing. It's a lovely setting for lunch and drinks.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    8
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Greens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Me and my boyfriend are golf lovers, so what better way of sharing an early xmas present by going to this great course in Marbella.

The greens are in great condition and it is one of the more finer courses in the area. Will be coming back on our next trip to Spain for sure!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I feel the need to comment re the negative feedbacks. I am a member and play 3 times every week. A year ago new management took over and within 3' months the course had improved dramatically. Greens at this time are superb not many better on course. All bunkers have been repaired no stones plenty sand. Fairways are very good and overall the course has been and continues to be well looked after. If we members find any fault the management address the issues immediately. The course unlike others is not surrounded by houses and is very rural giving peace and tranquility whilst playing. Each hole is different and offers their own individual challenge. I am single hcp and to me the course although not long requires you to have good all round game and good course management. The food and service has greatly improved and the staff are the friendliest I have encountered. This is not a biased review as a year ago I was going to leave and join another club but it has improved so much I elected to stay and I am glad I did. Having played all the courses on coast this is well worth a visit for holiday golfers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not too bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Played this course every year with a couple
Of friends.......

Last year the course was in better condition that this year I found. Far greener!
Greens are too quick unless you are a professional....... Weeds are coming through the fairways and rough left right and centre...... And the buggys were rather grubby.
I also experienced an American Greenkeeper flying around in a buggy and barging his way past us in a impolite manner.
Hopefully Marbella golf will get better.......

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belbroughton, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lovely course in centre of Costa Del Sol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Probably my favourite course in the area. Well thought out holes full of risk or reward shots. The par five sixth is a great hole. Possible to birdie but also get a double bogey. I have done both!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marbella Golf & Country Club also viewed

 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Marbella Golf & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Golf & Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.