We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must See” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iglesia Mayor de la Encarnacion

Iglesia Mayor de la Encarnacion
Plaza de la Iglesia, s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain
34-95-2773136
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 47 attractions in Marbella
Type: Historic Sites, Religious Sites
Attraction Details
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,230 reviews 2,230 reviews
2,008 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
1,904 helpful votes 1,904 helpful votes
“A Must See”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Many people who go to downtown Marbella miss this church. I enjoy seeing it whenever I go downtown because it is quite beautiful. I say a little prayer before I leave the church.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    28
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful church, we spent a good hour wandering around. It was a great background to the marriage of my wife's niece who travelled from Ireland.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naches, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a very pretty historic church. It is still very much in use so you need to be respectful. They have a wonderful pipe organ as well as some very beautiful chapels on each side. The entire Old Town area has little chapels all over and it can be interesting to look for them as you walk around.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
2,230 reviews 2,230 reviews
2,008 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
1,904 helpful votes 1,904 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Church”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I always enjoy visiting this church located in downtown Marbella. I find it very peaceful to enter the church and take a look around. This is a good place to rest a little and do some meditation.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Of note in the interior is the Sol Mayor Organ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Of note in the interior is the Sol Mayor Organ. It is considered to be the most important organ built in Spain in the last century.From the exterior the door of the Sun , or main door, carved from ochre stone in the Rococo style (XVIIII c)A headstone with heraldic coat of arms attached : "Corduba Quem Genuit Malacae Dat Aethere Praesul Construxit Supor Hoc Ludovicus Opus Anno MDCXVIII".It has served to date the construction of the temple.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iglesia Mayor de la Encarnacion also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 
Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Iglesia Mayor de la Encarnacion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iglesia Mayor de la Encarnacion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Iglesia Mayor de la Encarnacion to your Saves list