We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok won't go again...but good location” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sultan Club Marbella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sultan Club Marbella to your Saves list
Hotel Sultan Club Marbella
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Avenida Arturo Rubenstein, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Ok won't go again...but good location”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed first week of June 2012. Nice looking hotel from outside, reasonable and spacious appartments. We had a room on second floor at front of hotel overlooking the road, but could see mountains one way and sea in the distance to our right.
Only 5 min walk to sea front and beach. Road not noisy at all. Good location to shops and restaurants. No night clubs nearby so quiet at night. Except for our next door neighbours had a noisy party two nights on their balcony till 7 am, had to turn up aircon to drown out the noise! We told reception about it next morning but they didnt seem to care at all and just said "oh yes well friday night and saturday party night."
Following morning found next doors room door wide open with man lying on a bed completely comatosed and with vomit all over the floor and empty bottles everywhere. His wallet lying on the side for anyone to take.Told reception about him because we were rather concerned and they didnt seem too bothered again and said they'll tell the maid! Poor girl!
Appartment furnished basically, Didnt care too much for the decor but then we didnt stay in all day! Balcony very large with 2 sunbeds and 2 plastic cheap chairs and rusty table.Dodgy lights buzzing in sitting room, dodgy electic cable on bedside lamp, young daughter got locked in bathroom cos door handle catch had broken and she couldnt open it, We managed to free her from outside luckily. Quite hard beds and put you up bed was ok. Kitchen was very basicly stocked with utensils. We had no kettle but used a pan to boil water instead. didnt use the washing machine or dishwasher at all. Only had 2 knives in the drawer and 3 cups and saucers, but borrowed from breakfast room!
Breakfast wasn't up to 4star rating at all. Cold cooked breakfast, disgusting fruit juice from a machine. When leaving hotel they tried to charge us for breakfasts although already paid for when booking. They disputed this, the man at reception kept shaking his head so we had to find our booking reference to prove it.
Only nice thing was hotel pool which was clean and had sunbeds around. Smell of canabis being smoked around pool one day tho. Didnt use spa facilities had a look but looked a bit tired. Staff were helpful when we asked how to get somewhere, but miserable. Maid was friendly tho and gave us extra sheets and blanket.
Marbella is a nice place to visit but I wouldnt stay here again for sure. Don't recommend for young children tho. Despite hotel not great we still had a great holiday in Marbella.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    78
    35
    17
    8
See reviews for
64
33
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

stayed in the sultan club the last week of april 2012 4 girls in two appartments. we found the location very handy a short stroll to the beach and lots of little restaurants and cafes the appartments were clean and quite comfortable but they need updated somewhat and the pool area left alot to be desired. we got this on an offer so i suppose it was good value for the money we paid but i wouldnt pay more as there are lots of other hotels with better facilities in the same area. we had a good holiday in marbella itself but i think i would pay just a little more for nicer accommodation.

Room Tip: be careful if you are parking a hire car in the streets near hotel as it is a pay parking zone which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

fourteen of us stayed at the hotel for 4 nights from 12th april.Great location short walk about 5mins down to thepromenade onto the beach.ten minute walk to several bars and resurants on the front would recommend the banana tree quite cheap for good quality snacks and beers and several screens for all day sport.Had meal in chinese restaurant just behind banana tree great sea views good food staff very friendly.Walk from hotel across promenade to porto banus takes an hour but well worth the visit take note that all the locals seem to be jogging along the sea front late mornings or riding bikes so watch ur back.JACKS burger bar on front overlooking harbour in banus was fairly reasonable and food pretty good worth visit in night but bars quite pricey went to linekers coaxed in with free shot but drinks 6 euros + each.Due to time of year hotel pool not in use too cold anyway but fairly small indoor pool available together with two juacussi s extra charge for other facilities.HOTEL bar seeemed to shut early before half ten but 24 hour supermarket next door drink very cheep and on first night few of us sat in reception havin drink as long as your quiet staff didnt seem to mind.THree of us had room which could have slept 5 one of the best appartments we have had very clean but had to boil water for tea coffee on stove as no kettle supplied but that is very minor gripe.Would definately stay hear again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We had booked a five night stay through Travel Republic, who I would seriously recommend for value breaks. No, I have no connection with them but I research prices all the time and they have never disappointed.

Firstly lets discuss the location of the Sultan Club Aparthotel. It is in one of the most exclusive areas of Marbella and is safe to walk around at nearly any time of the day or night. The Sultan has its own underground carpark but if you look there are always parking spaces on the surrounding streets at a far lower rate than parking in the Hotel's carpark. But beware the local Parking Warden takes his job very seriously so make sure you have a valid parking ticket on your vehicle.

The Sultans Reception is vast and quite cool and chic. Its a great place to chill out with great background music and very comfortable sofas and chairs. It has free Wi-Fi which is chargable at a daily rate in the rooms and in my opinion not worth it. Unless you have a serious amount of work to do just use Reception.

Check-In is efficient but not over friendly. English is spoken but slightly of the Manuel, Fawlty Towers variety. Can be quite amusing if you are fond of eavesdropping.

The rooms are large and if you go make sure you have one with a balcony. The balcony is huge with a table and four chairs and two sun-loungers. If you can get a pool side one you can relax in the sun from approx 4-9pm, but obviously depending on what time of year you stay.

We were staying as a couple and the apartments are for up to four people if you book that number. There are two large wardrobes in a seperate bedroom and you also have a large sitting room with a small kitchen at one end. It is enclosed and has all the basics you would require for that quick snack. You would not be able to cook Christmas Dinner in it but its not meant for that kind of use. There is a sofa, armchair and coffee table and the sitting room also has a table and chairs. Some reviewers comment on the slightly dated decor. They also mention that the table is heavy to move. What on earth they wished to do amazes me. You are not relocating to your new Costa home but staying in a Aparthotel.

Ok the curtains may not be to your taste, but you can live with it for a few days considering that this is Marbella and presumably you dont want to look at the curtains all day.
There is also a large bathroom with bath and shower and enough room to dance the Flamenco.
There is a large outdoor pool with sun loungers and a Spa. Very relaxing to sit around the pool without being overlooked by any local pervs.
The rooms are cleaned every day which is unusual for this type of accommodation.

The property is within five minutes walk to the beach and there is a small supermarket a couple of minutes from the front door.

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend the Sultan Club to anyone of any age. There are four lifts for the slightly less agile and the escape exit design is very impressive for Guests who worry about such things.

Marbella is one of the best destinations on the Costa Del Sol and the Sultan Beach is the place to stay for value and facilities.

The area has numerous Restaurants and Wine Bars within a five minute walk and there is no need for cabs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We booked through Travel Republic for 3 nights for my friends 40th birthday,Friendly and helpful reception staff,hotel was so clean when we walked in the apartment you could smell bleach! There were 4 of us sharing a one bedroom apartment and there was more than enough space,they made up the pull out beds for us when we were out the first night,only used the kitchen for tea and toast,but it had an oven 2 rings a toaster and dishwasher,(take your own dishwasher tablets). There were clean towels and maid service each day,tea towels, The balcony is spacious so we sat out there when we were in.
I would recommend the Piazza Fontella for italian food its only a 5 min walk away and was lovely,and also casa eladio which is in the old town just off orange square,it had a wide variety of dishes to choose from,the beach was only a 5 min walk away and about 15 walk along the lovely promenade to the main old town.Marbella itself is a beatiful place,not really what I expected but I would definately go back and wouldn't hesitate to stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We chose room 505 which was right at the front of the hotel so you could have a sea view and you got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed there for my friend's hen party and it suited us well- really good value for what we needed. This hotel is a 5 minute walk to the beach and restaurants. Each apartment is very spacious with a large balcony: 4 of us shared an apartment and we found it fine, although we didn't spend much time there. The kitchen was fine too- fine for making teas and keeping drinks cool but we never attempted cooking properly. Reception was friendly and helpful. There is no breakfast available. Some of the towels were dirty but otherwise the room was very clean. The swimming pool was also out of action when we were there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a long weekend a couple of weeks ago. A friend and I were looking for a cheap weekend in the sun and thought we'd give Marbella a try.
When we arrived at the Sultan, which is on the western end of the town (a nice 15 minute walk along the seafront to the old town), we were pleasantly surprised. We'd booked a one bedroom appartment which, whilst not the most up-to-date in terms of decor/furnishings, was large, airy and spotlessly clean. The kitchen had a washing machine, dish washer, fridge, microwave, 2 electric rings and the basics in terms of pans, crockery etc and we had a nice big lounge with a table and chairs, sofa (which was a sofa bed), armchair and tv. Our large twin bedroom had an enormous wardrobe for each of us and the bathroom had a bath and shower. We also had a big patio overlooking the pool, which caught the sun in the afternoon.
We had booked breakfast before arriving and were impressed with the array of food on offer at the buffet, with cooked (sausages, beans, fried eggs, hard boiled eggs etc), cold meats and cheeses, a variety of bread and cakes, yoghurts, plenty of fresh fruit, cereals etc. Something for everyone! The hotel staff were also very friendly and helpful during our stay.
Whilst I'm sure this is a long way from the best hotel in Marbella, we would very happily come back here. It was clean, spacious, in a quiet location but within easy walking distance of town and had everything we needed for a great price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sultan Club Marbella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultan Club Marbella

Address: Avenida Arturo Rubenstein, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sultan Club Marbella 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sultan Club Marbella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Marbella
Sultan Club Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sultan Club Marbella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.