We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hostal right in the hub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal El Castillo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hostal El Castillo to your Saves list
Hostal El Castillo
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza San Bernabe, 2, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
bristol england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fab hostal right in the hub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hostel was some 30 seconds away from Orange Square, BUT there are lots of steps to get to it. It's so convenient as its close enough to be in but far enough away to be quiet, because of the steps. You cannot get a taxi or car near the hostel so be ready to haul your cases up those steps or through the streets, but it's not a problem. ( we were dropped off on the main road by the Hotel
San Christobal and walked through Orange Square) right at the back of the Square is a street called Carmen look right and the steps are on the left, at the top of these is the hostal. It's pretty. Once in the 2 main guys are so friendly and helpful. It's manned 24hours which was brilliant, so safe knowing someone was there all the time. The rooms are very basic BUT very clean, clean towels all the time and bed made. For the money we paid it was excellent cannot fault it and would return in a flash. After this experience I will always check out a Hostal first. My husband and I thought it was great. It's close to the beach and bus stop. You have all the restaurants within minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Overall a cheap and cheerful stay. Have stayed in most highly recommended hotels in Marbella, but as was staying only a few nights, thought the location was excellent. The hotel is located right on the orange square, a 30 second walk. Booked a single room, but was given the double room, which is of reasonable standard particularly for the price. Consisted of a big double bed, small TV, fully functioning Air conditioning, en suite and overall a good size.

The hotel has traditional decor, a very old school Spanish theme. Would recommend single stayers or couples - not suited for families for obvious reasons.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Situated in the North end of old Marbella right next to the castle is this great Hostal. The owners are friendly and the rooms are more than you would expect for a 2 star with the added bonus of a 24hr reception (a must as the nightlife is fab). The building is clean and quiet with a wonderful open gallery in the middle (very spanish) and couldn't be in a better spot to enjoy the famous orange square.

Room Tip: This is a large building that reminds me of a rabbit warren so can't relly help there sorry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Located in the heart of the old Marbella, this must be one of the best Hostal experience in Marbella. The 24 hour reception gives you the time you need to fully explore and enjoy all that Marbella has to offer. It's only a 500 mts walk to the beach, wich is not much, considering that parking a car is a nightmare experience. When you arrive at the Hostal late at night, you can be shure that you'll have a good night sleep. The staff is really nice and very helpfull in giving you all the good tips you need to fully explore the city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We paid 96$ for this room in April and what a mistake! The hostel was expensive for what you get it is worth staying somewhere else and paying a bit more. I saw the biggest cockroach of my life there. It was my first hostel experience and it was not a good one. However the location is good right in Old Town which is nice. One night the power kept going in and out so we spent a night with lights and tv flashing in and out and without heat!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I am just back after spending 2 weeks in hostal el Castillo. I was in Marbella on my own, for work, and some time to relax, so I wanted something safe, clean and central & I hit the jackpot with this place.
It is right in the heart of the old town, from the entrance you can look down on orange square. The rooms were basic, but everything clean - which is always my no 1 priority. Tv and air con in rooms (although no English channels I didn't really mind that). 24 hour reception, so I felt safe going or coming at any time, and the area is lit up well.
It is a family run business, and I could not fault them - they were all very nice to me (their English is not great - nor is my Spanish!), but they made every effort to assist me with anything I required.
I would recommend this for anyone travelling on their own, or couples, who are looking for something clean and in the heart of the old town, and great value for your money.

I didn't want to leave, and I will definitely be going back.... Hopefully soon, .... Martha (Ireland)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window looking out on the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Hostel Castillo is a cute little hostel in front of the school so if you go before summer in the morning you will wake up to a song from Grease. Hostel Castillo is inside of the castle walls so you feel like royalty it's a really nice hostel totally recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal El Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal El Castillo

Address: Plaza San Bernabe, 2, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal El Castillo 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Hostal El Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal El Castillo Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal El Castillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.