We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced, poor quality, find somewhere else!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Las Chapas Palacio del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Las Chapas Palacio del Sol to your Saves list
Las Chapas Palacio del Sol
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Nacional 340, Km 192, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Longhoughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Over-priced, poor quality, find somewhere else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

1 week all inclusive. Cost £1400 not including insurance. Booked through Jet2. Hotel is situated on a motorway, approx 1km from the seafront. The reception staff are very friendly and spoke good English, but they were the only ones that did. The hotel has approx 400 rooms but judging by the amount of guests I would say less than a quarter were occupied.
The hotel doesn't provide any snack bar between meals. Sandwiches are available between 3:30pm & 5pm I asked for two, the bar staff pulled two ham and cheese sandwiches from a pre-prepared pile from a shelf behind the bar. The pile of sandwiches were left out and not in a fridge or freshly prepared. The sandwiches were inedible. A 'selection of cakes and much more' were available from 5pm to 6:30pm. Not much more, in fact no more was available. Two cakes in a plastic wrapper was the limit.
Onto the food. All meals were poor to average at best. Meals were labelled in spanish but not english so constant bugging off the resturant manager to describe the food was required, if he was available, if not then it was a guessing game or find a waitress with a reasonable understanding of the english language (difficult). Luckily a few restaurants around the corner with shops and a mini market & cashpoint.
The rooms were clean with reasonable wardrobe space. There were twin beds pushed together. Imagine lying on a slab of concrete and there you have it, the beds described. The aircon sounded like a knackered old tractor, but with a some coaxing and knob twiddling managed to get it down to a low rattle. Hot water available in an instant but watch the shower, when the neighbours flush, the water temp increases to approx 200 degrees....slight exageration but you get it! Towels too small.
The library consisted of 3 english books which doubled due to my wifes charitable contribution.
The gym was situated in a small room with no aircon. The machines were old, unserviced and some in a state of ill repair. My wife is a regular gym user but decided to err on the side of caution here and stayed well clear.
There were tennis courts and table tennis tables at the back of the hotel but obviously hadn't been used for quite a while and to be honest if you decided to play would of needed an hour or so to clear them of dead branches etc. Carzy golf available also.
The drinks. Beer fine and local spirit equivalents taste the same as the original drinks they imitate. Price guide (if not all incl), 10 Euros for two Malibu, sorry, Balu and Cokes. 5,50 Euros for small beer. Three bars in the hotel, but only pool bar open due to lack of guests.
Entertainmant. Bingo, bingo, bingo. Saturday night best as entertainment provided by group of four Flamenco dancers who were good. Entertainment for kids average.
Free bus to Marbella twice a day (tip: the small bar opposite the bus stop in Marbella called Mamma Goye, great Mojito at 3 Euros).
Trips from the hotel are actually cheaper than using the travel agents in Merbella so check with reception first.
Wi-Fi available but at a price
This one for all inlusive guests. If your filght leaves after 12pm on your day of departure, then you get to pay for everything from 12pm to the moment you leave on the bus/taxi, isn't that kind as your all inclusive holiday ends at, yes you guessed it.....12pm. Keep plenty of Euros if you want to eat/drink and you are not departing until later in the day (tip: use the shops/restaurant around the corner) it may not be cheaper but it's better quality.
Personal opinion now. Holiday cost about £500 too much. Left with a 'not bothered' rather than a 'oh no my holidays over' feeling. Food poor and drinks greatly overpriced. Entertainment mostly dire. If you are going to stop here then get out of the hotel. Use the bus and get to Marbella, Fuengirola or day trip to Gibraltar. The 'All Inclusive/pay after 12pm' rip off is absolutely appalling. Bring your own books if your a reader and stay clear of the dodgy gym. No snack bar between meals is dissapointing as is the quality of the food. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone! Needs a lot of work to bring it up to a good standard.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    85
    137
    97
    197
See reviews for
143
206
13
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

breakfast are terrible do not go b&b. rooms are not too bad, towels were small and not clean beds really uncomfortable and a/c nice but am sure made us ill. nothing to do really crazy golf not well kept its more a place were spanish come to stay. i wouldnt bother get as close to banus as can save on taxi fares anyway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Just come back from two weeks in Las Chapas. The hotel is not so bas as people have written in the previous reviews. If your intention is to spend all your holidays in the hotel I would not recommend it to you but on the other hand if you want to go around the Marbella area it is a perfect location as it is around 5km from the center of Marbella.
The rooms were old but cleaned and the beds were confortable and with no bugs at all.
Concening stealing we did not have any problems but we did not facilitate as we do not in any other hotel.
Food is not variated but we did not starved.
Staff do not interact but if you address to them they are nice and polite.
It is interesting to read all the reviews of the British people which are the ones who complain most.
I definetely would go back again to this Hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

did not even stay 1 night but was charged.At the back of hotel you can see corrugated fencing and the rooms look like a prison.I did not take any notice of the reviews but ished I had.It is miles away from Marbella and have suggested to the travel agent not to send anyone there

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My husband and I went here for a few days for a mini break in August 2010- This hotel is disgusting from decor to dessert. For height of season it was dead. The rooms are dirty, the decor is dated and the food.........well i wouldn't even serve it to my dog.

If we had booked for a week we'd have come home early or found somewhere else to sleep. The staff don't interact at all, if you go all inclusive and go to the bar, aswell as wearing the biggest, tackiest, all inclusive bands ever around your wrist, you have to give your room number, (that's not out of the ordinary), but you also have to sign a receipt, it makes you feel untrusted!!! I have never had this before and we always do all inclusive.

The gardens around the hotel were ok and well kept, they actually won an award..........in 1974 for best kept gardens. They had music playing through speakers in the trees which was a nice touch but there was no atmosphere, no laughter, no hearing people splashing in the pool and having a great time.

It felt like we'd gone at the end of the season, so quiet and desolate.

If you want a nice holiday - DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!! I think my dogs kennels were better than this.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

We have travelled to lots of places and stayed in many hotels but this one was by far the very worst. The rooms stink and the beds were not very clean, the rooms were very shabby and dark and were in desperate need of a good clean and makeover. There was air con although not working very well, Our bathroom was old and the towels supplied were grey and hard (they were meant to be white). The Food well this is another story, disgusting and not much choice, we had a car so we were able to eat out, which we did. The common areas in the hotel were very old and had a terrible smell. The location was remote and would recommed you hire a car if you still want to stay here. The entertainment was nill. The pool and pool area however was small but was clean about the best part of the hotel. We would most ceetainly never stay hear again even if it was free. Be prepared to get bit at night as we think the beds had bugs. There were safes in the room but we did not use them as we had read previous reviews about safes being robbed. Good luck if you have already booked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

Las Chapas

One has to be in the right frame of mind to appreciate Las Chapas. It is a Spanish hotel for Spanish people and may not be to the liking of some British people who want British food and entertainment. Out of season the bulk of the guests are Spanish pensioners. Having said that, I got on very well with them as they all responded to my “Hola” or “Buenos Dias” when we passed them in the gardens and acknowledged me in the dining room.

The reception was efficient and we easily found our way to the room on the 5th floor. The only trouble was that there was a flight of steps before we reached the lift and I couldn’t manage it with a case. I daresay a room with easier access could have been given if I had asked in advance. We had asked for a room that did not look out on the busy main road and our room looked out on the garden and pool

The gardens are lovely and peaceful and have seats where one can sit and enjoy the flowers. There were no badly behaved children dashing about. The main building which contains the reception area has a reading room with good lighting and books in different languages, a room for board games and another room for more active pursuits. There is also a gym. There are lovely flower arrangements in this area. Outside there is a swimming pool, a bar, a children’s play area and a crazy golf which my husband said would challenge Tiger Woods.

Our Room on the 5th floor was basic but had a safe and air conditioning and pretty floral curtains. A small balcony had 2 chairs. What I particularly liked was the good lighting. So often one is unable to read even in the higher rated hotels. I think that the review mentioning a cigarette burn on a bedspread was unfair as it is the guests who cause this damage and it is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel. I have even had a badly damaged ceramic hob in the nearby Marriott. The room was very clean.

The food was adequate and very good value for the price. There was a good choice of dishes although many would not be to British tastes. I had soup and a fish dish and my husband had chicken wings and vegetables. There were also veal slices and chips. Various salads were provided. The desserts were simple but good and there was a good supply of fruit. My husband had rice pudding whilst I had the Spanish” flan”. The tables were provided with rolls, two small bottles of water and a carafe of drinkable wine. After the meal we went into he bar and had a good coffee and chatted to the Spanish guests (I speak some Spanish), and listened to music. We left before there was any entertainment as we had to be up early in the morning.

Breakfast was of the Spanish type-fruit juice, rolls or bread you had to toast yourself, sponge cakes, streaky bacon and boiled eggs with coffee from a dispenser.

I enjoyed our stay as I was prepared to accept different types of food and entertainment and I would certainly stay here again. The dinner, bed and breakfast cost us less than a two course meal with a beer and a glass of wine in a local beach bar so it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Chapas Palacio del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Chapas Palacio del Sol

Address: Carretera Nacional 340, Km 192, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Las Chapas Palacio del Sol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Chapas Palacio del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Chapas Palacio Del Sol Hotel Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Chapas Palacio del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.