We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos to your Saves list
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo, s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Belfast
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
“Pleasing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed here for five nights recently to attend a friend's wedding celebrations in Marbella.I cannot fault this property from start to finish. Whilst the accommodation is not luxurious, it is does everything it needs to- we found it to be clean, well located and with helpful and friendly staff. Our flight was delayed by 5 hours on the way out to Spain and I emailed the establishment to advise of this (given that I thought their check in time ceased at midnight)- to which they responded promptly and courteously. When we arrived at the apartments to check in, the receptionist who greeted us was friendly, helpful and efficient. He also advised us of the nearby supermarket (which helpfully was open until 2am) should we want to get some provisions for our room.

We were staying in a studio apartment (as the one bedroom apartments were fully booked). The room was adequate with suitable storage space (given we had quite a lot with us for the wedding as well as other clothes etc). The room contained two single beds which we were not particularly bothered about but appreciate others may always prefer a double bed...you can always push them together! The kitchen facilities also were adequate- not that we intended to do any cooking but was great to have the fridge etc for drinks and also to keep breakfast provisions in. The room was also attended to daily by housekeeping staff which including tidying the apartment up, making beds and changing towels- this was a better service than some supposedly superior hotels can manage. In addition, we were fortunate enough to have a balcony with a seaview which was great.
We also enjoyed the roof top pool area and whilst the pool is quite small- it was quite quiet whilst we were there and perfect for a cooling dip.The rooftop cafe area was also very pleasant and we enjoyed morning coffees there - the staff here were also very polite and service was quick.
The apartments have free wifi but this is restricted to the reception area and not accessible from your room- this did not bother me too much on this type of break. However I may have found it more frustrating on a city break when trying to locate more things.
The location of the apartments is also great with Marbella Old Town only a short walk away which offers endless options of great restaurants and shopping. The apartments are also in close proximity to the beach and I enjoyed a daily morning run along the Paseo which was also lovely.
The check out time is 12pm however there is adequate storage space for bags and also excellent showering facilities with complimentary towels provided- which allows you to make the most of your last day and freshen up prior to travelling.
The only main fault I would say with the apartments was that we found it to be quite noisy at times so perhaps the sound proofing could be better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    244
    49
    12
    3
See reviews for
51
223
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

A group of ten of us stayed at this hotel for two nights. We arrived prior to the check in time and our room were not yet ready, they allowed us to store our baggage in a room with shower and toilet facilities.

Our rooms were immaculately clean and spacious and yes a little dated but perfectly adequate for a 4 star hotel and comforable. We also had a sea view room which was great.

The pool on the roof isn't very big but great for a quick dip to cool off. The beach is directly opposite and very clean but it is very rocky. A walk 50 meters either direction there are no rocks and 4 euro a sun bed.

Wifi only worked in the reception. Staff were very helpful especially after leaving boarding cards in the room after leaving. After several calls to cleaners they were found and we were very grateful.

Check out is at 12 and again we were able to store our luggage and use showers.

The hotel is situated at the start of the promenade, and a right turn takes you straight to the restaurants. Taxis to puerto banus were approx 15 euro at night.

There is nothing I can fault about the hotel and for the price would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Good large clean rooms opposite beach

We booked months in advance for our 20th wedding anniversary and booked a seaview apartment
What we got was 2 single beds and a view of the washing on the apartment next door

When questioned the staff advised read your booking conditions, no guarentee of a seaview room with an arrogant manner
for this reason i would not stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent location right on the beach front but also close to the old town. Cleaning service was provided daily. Studios are small - would definitely opt for a 1 bedroom apartment if we were to stay again. Only used the rooftop pool area once as it was small and cramped but this doesn't really matter when you have the beach on your doorstep. Overall, not bad value for money but next time we would sacrifice location for a more spacious apartment/nicer complex/bigger pool.

Room Tip: Opt for a one bedroom apartment if you want space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights - much needed re-charge! Great value, spotlessly clean and unlike some of the reviews I didn't think it was particularly dated just quite traditional. Terrace for breakfast was perfect! Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My best friend and I stayed at the Princesa Playa for 6 nights in May. We arrived around midnight and the check-in was seamless! The sea view room we were given was perfect for us, spacious balcony with table and chairs, plenty of wardrobe space and comfortable beds. Air con also in the room was lovely on some of the very hot days. Roof top pool area was a little small but we didnt mind. Plenty of sun loungers and pool big enough for a dip to cool down. Lovely terrace area on roof too where the hotel serves food but with the fabulous beach-front location of this hotel, there are many lovely bars, cafes and restaurants along the promenade facing the beach. We got a taxi into Puerto Banus most nights which cost €15. It was the same price to get a taxi to Nikki Beach too. Staff were very pleasant no matter what time of the day and our room was cleaned with towels changed daily. On our departure day, check out was 12 but we were able to store our luggage in reception. We then used the pool area for a few hours and were given towels to use the shower area behind reception to get ready for our flight home. This was the first holiday for my friend and I in 10 years and we couldnt have asked for a better hotel!! Muchas Gracias Princesa Playa!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stay a week in this hotel and we do not regret it. it was a very good choice. The situation is very good : we were at the edge of the beach, walking distance from the old town, 10mn, and walking distance from the Marbella bus station, 35mn (if you take it to come from Malaga airport) . The rooms are ok and the good thing is that you have a little kitchen in it. You have plenty restaurants around, along the beach or in the old town. There is a little swimming pool (heated up) on the roof and a solarium. We went there every day because the beach were a little windy and the sea too cold.
If we have to go back to Marbella, we would return to this hotel.
The only bad point is that the buffet for breakfast is very expensive : 12.50€. We found a churreria pretty close and we could have a spanish breakfast for 11€ for 2 persons.

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room in the highest level, sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Address: Paseo Maritimo, s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Playa Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.