We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but spotlessly clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Save Saved
You added Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo, s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Pontefract, West Yorkshire, England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Dated but spotlessly clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Like a trip back to 1990! Yellow walled corridors with fake onyx and gold pillars and red patterned carpets with gold grippers in reception. However the rooms are spotless and the location is perfect. Staff very helpful. This seems to be a Thomas Cook and other travel companies hotel. We would return no problems.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    210
    43
    12
    3
See reviews for
41
196
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Here is a very good address for a comfortable stay in Marbella. Right in the center of the town, on the Paseo Maritimo and a short walk from the Old Town.
Great service of the housekeeping. In the apartments, also provide for the collection of waste, already organized in a very comfortable way.Free Wifi, but only in the reception area.
Anyway, a valuable alternative to the many hotels in Marbella.

Room Tip: The more expensive rooms are sea facing, but they are not always the largest. Specify at time of boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We rented a suite for one week during the March break. We found the suite to be good value for the money. The bed was large, and the unit very clean and housekeeping came everyday and kept it that way. The unit came with a small fridge, a small stove, microwave, tv and sitting/dining room. Our room overlooked the sea and the boardwalk and we spent some time on the balcony enjoying the sun. The staff was very helpful and we took day trips from the hotel to Ronda and Gibraltar. They are both about an hour away and the bus is the best way to go. The costs varies, so check with the desk staff in the lobby. There is wifi in the lobby but not on the rest of the floors. There is a PC in the lobby that you can use 1 euro=20 min. Laundry services are available, buy the tokens at the front desk. The laundry is on the 6th floor. You cannot use the facilities before 10:30 am and not after 11:00 pm. The location is excellent and we went on many walks down the beach and along the boardwalk. There is a grocery store right next to the hotel and it is open 365 days a year. Breakfast is available in the hotel for 12 Euros a day per person. There are lots of cafes and restaurants in Marbella. It is a very safe small town. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful 4 night break with friends.This hotel is situated in an ideal location with all amenities within walking distance. The walkway that runs adjacent to the sea has a selection of restaurants and coffee shops. It was so relaxing having breakfast with the sound of the sea so close. Also it is only 5 mins walk to the Old Town where there is a good selection of shops, and a large choice of restaurants in the square which were reasonably priced. We did not have one bad meal throughout our stay. Marbella feels a safe and friendly place to be, and the little narrow streets around the square are a delight. The hotel was lovely, rooms being cleaned daily to a high standard. There is no cooker in the room, but there is a sink, table & chairs, hob, fridge, toaster,cutlery and crockery. We kept a selection of food and wine in the fridge for a snack mid-day if we were eating out in the evening. When we decided to take a trip, but were not sure where to catch the bus, Miguel on reception was most helpful and gave us a map, marking out where to catch the bus both ways, which number to get, and places of interest. All in all a very enjoyable relaxing stay, and we will hopefully be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wow - this place was cheap. Though the decor is dated and campy, the hotel and rooms were very clean and well maintained. The location is FANTASTIC - right on the beach and a few steps away from old town. The crowd here is older and there are many tour groups with older folks - be warned - this is not a hot, young, hip hotel. But it's bright pastel palettes and carpeted stairs give it a dated decadent art-deco feel that made me smile. Did I mention it was cheap?

WIFI: There is a moderately effective WiFi open signal in the lobby.

LOCATION: The location is great - beach in the front-yard and old town in the back. A leisurely stroll in one direction will take you to the markets and cafes for a local experience. A walk down the promenade will plunge you into the tourist-frequented shops and restaurants. Across the street and around the corner, old town beckons. Princesa is close to the expressway and in a well-maintained and safe area.

PARKING: The parking is a pain. Princesa does NOT provide parking so you are left to find street or garage parking. Garage parking is available relatively close but it is expensive. Our rental car was dented while parked in the area so take your chances. If you plan to keep it local - you can walk to anything you need from Princesa. If you plan to explore outside Marbella to Mijas or Gibralter - consider a day rate because when you factor in parking (and damages!) and TIME to find parking and walk back, it may not be worth it to have your car overnight. FYI - there is a Hertz rent-a-car a few blocks away well-within walking distance.

ROOM: I rented a studio - it was clean, well maintained and adequately furnished. The bathroom was petite but that it is to be expected in Europe. The kitchenette had most everything we needed including a stove-top, microwave, utensils, dishes, cooking instruments and most importantly - refrigerator and freezer. There was a petite balcony and you had to lean your head over the edge to see the sea - but it was there! Beware - all the balconies face each other and your next-door neighbors are closely quartered so don't expect privacy. Bed was comfortable. My studio was VERY quiet.

LINENS: Bed and bath linens were fine.

AMENITIES: There was a phone and whether you are charged or not depends on room. (I think some owners don't have phone service, some do and charge for local calls, others don't charge). TV of course with English-speaking channel access. Kitchenette as mentioned above. Typical small soaps, shampoos, etc. Wall-mounted hair-dryer. Basics were provided for but no fancy extras - which is to be expected. Typical small euro elevators - dreadfully slow but hey - ! - you're on vacation! Where do you have to be in a hurry?

SERVICE: I didn't require much. The room was well-cleaned every day and the front desk staff was polite. Their English was sufficient for the most part. There was one clerk who I had to speak Spanish with but all the others spoke enough English to get by. 24-hour desk.

POOL/RESTAURANT: I did not go to the pool and did not eat at the restaurant - sorry!

PRICE: Wowee wow wow wow~! The price was amazing. For what you get, Princesa is a great value for the location alone. It's not the most luxurious or most modern - but more than meets basic needs.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cahirciveen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Booked this hotel at foot of excellent reviews - beautiful views, sound of the sea etc. I got neither. I drew a room at the rear of the hotel from which the sea was not visible and the sun could not be found on either of the two balconies - the reason I went in the first place. I asked to change room - NO. Could I pay more and upgrade - NO. Could I possibly change after a few days when someone moved out. NO. This was management policy. I could of course go on to the roof which had a small pool and sun loungers for 20 persons - no more - So be warned. If you are booking this hotel you are in a lottery - if you are unlucky you will be viewing neighbouring apartments and will need to be agile to make the roof before a specific well known nationality. The apartment itself was fine and would suit people playing golf etc who would be out all day.

Room Tip: Get one facing sea or afternoon sun - not rear which does not get sunshine at any stage during day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed the week before Easter for 3 nights. A double room with kitchenette and en suite for €50 a night. The apartments are excellently located- right on the beach and easy walk to old town and beach front strip. The roof top pool is small but heated. Our apartment overlooked an apartment block and had a tiny balcony with enough space for 2 people to sit out- didn't really have any view of the sea. But at €50 a night on the beach front what would you expect! The only down side is that there is no parking- you can park on the street for free at night or a few streets up for free during the day. The staff were helpful at the front desk and there was no problem storing our luggage on the day we were leaving. However there was a really foul smell in the reception/lobby area where you can use wifi. I noticed that the staff did circuits spraying air freshner- not sure what the source of the smell was but hopefully they will sort it out soon as the rest of our stay was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Address: Paseo Maritimo, s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Playa Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.