We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a bit old” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos to your Saves list
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo, s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, a bit old”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This apartment hotel is at the beach of Marbella. It is a bit old, however, everything worked ok. The room was huge, we even had a small kitchenette in there, where you can cook some simple food e.g. spaghetti. It is on the promenade of Marbella and you may just walk out of the hotel to the beach.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    249
    49
    13
    4
See reviews for
52
232
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My Partner and I have just returned from this hotel after spending 3 nights here.
We requested a sea view which we got and we stayed in room 506 which had a nice large balcony.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and the apartment was good. Maids came each day and cleaned, new bedding and towels!
This hotel is ideally situated as everything is within walking distance.
There are some lovely restaurants along the promenade, especially the tapas bar.
Marbella old town is only 10 mins walk.
Lovely place and would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good location right on the sea front , pool on the roof so nice and quiet with good views, very clean , rooms comfortable, powerful shower , 2mins from orange square , a beach bar right outside the hotel, we had a late flight back home and vacated the room at dinner but we were able to leave our luggage in a room in the lobby also we used the shower behind reception to freshen up before leaving for the airport

Room Tip: Sea front rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great hotel with helpful staff. Excellent view from our room (110)
Minutes from a wide range of good restaurants and shops. The views from the cafe on the 7th floor were superb and the swimming pool while small was warm!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This aparthotel offers the best of both worlds. I spent a relaxing week here in early September. The BEACH is just a few steps from the hotel. You also have easy access to the PROMENADE that runs alongside the beach for miles in each direction, lined with shops and restaurants at various points, and running all the way to the glitzy neighboring town of Puerto Banus (about a 1.5 hour walk along the beach if you're up for it, incidentally). Or if you're like me, you'd prefer to visit to the charming OLD TOWN, with its authentic local restaurants, shops, Moorish architecture, and citadel. It's only about 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel, so you can go back and forth, if you like. In between, there is a large boulevard with more contemporary shopping, pharmacies, restaurants, and other conveniences...anything you need (new shoes? sunscreen? camera? travel agency? real estate agency?), you'll be able to find it here. 24-hr supermarket around the corner (5 minutes maximum walk, I'd say) from hotel, so you can buy any food basics you need, including bakery items, snacks, cheeses, any real groceries you like). All of which comes in handy, as the rooms are equipped with a REFRIGERATOR, STOVETOP, DISHES, SILVERWARE (cleaning supplies were not included!)

My room had TWO TWIN BEDS large walk-in closet, dresser, SMALL DINING TABLE with 2 chairs, a COUCH, TV, and BALCONY with table/2 chairs. I wasn't lucky enough to secure a balcony with a sea view, but I did have a nice view of the hills and palm trees in the distance which I grew very fond of. I'd call it a comfortable, specious budget room with lots of light.

ROOFTOP POOL is nice with good views. By afternoon, I noticed people had staked out their lounge chairs by leaving their towels and belongings behind, but in the morning and evening, I had no trouble finding space.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and they have information on day tours if you ask. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Princesa Playa hotel is truly a great place to stay, for a great price. We very much enjoyed the location and the rooms were very nice. We enjoyed many parts of the hotel including the pool area and game room. We often brought up our own drinks and food to hang outside and enjoy the Spanish sun.
However, we found the front desk people to be of little help when asking for assistance. We stayed over this past Christmas and NYE and when asked about places to eat on Christmas eve and day, we had very inconsistent answers. One person told us everything would be open because we were in a tourist area one day, another person told us (day of) that everything was closed. So, we had a hard time finding a place to eat, as we trusted the first people who told us everything would be open, so we did not plan a head. This was very frustrating and happened on more than once when asking for help or recommendations. We eventually decided it was not worth asking the front desk people for help unless it was to call a cab. We received more helpful information tips from the maids, who were amazing!
If you are a big breakfast person, I would recommend getting the breakfast buffet included in your room. The Spanish people are not big on breakfast unless you are fine with coffee and a pastry, I like eggs and a meat with mine personally. It is the same thing every day, but has some good food on it, and we did not get bored of it.
The walls in the rooms are thin, so if you are someone who likes to go to bed early, and get up early, I would recommend bringing ear plugs.
Other than the bad service at the front desk I would recommend this place to anyone, and I would come back again, since I now know what to expect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel could not be in a better location! Right on the beach front; a 2 minute walk into the old town of Marbella and 1.5 hour stroll into the beautiful town of Puerto Banus.

I came away with my mother for a week of rest and relaxation, and that's exactly what we got! The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Check in was quick and informative. I was able to purchase the use of a room safe. Miguel on the front desk was incredibly helpful and always greeted us with a big smile every day.

The rooms were very clean and had everything that we needed. There is a tv in the room that has BBC and ITV. A small balcony with a table and two chairs looking out at the wonderful sea views. Beds are comfortable and extra blankets and pillows are provided. A dining table and two chairs are also in the room alongside a sofa. In the bathroom there is a good power shower. There is soap, shower gel and body lotion by the sink. The kitchenette is basic but does the job.

The roof terrace is a must! The lady that serves the food and drink is so friendly and sweet. Most days we would go and sit on the roof terrace and have a jug of sangria. The views are stunning and it's very peaceful up there. We had the chef's salad a couple of times which is yummy! There are steps to the pool from here, which has sun loungers on. More great views of the mountains and sea can be seen from there.

A breakfast buffet is served every day until 11am. Fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, sausages, cereal, lots of bread, coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc etc. It's all delicious!

For dinners we walked to the strip of restaurants nearby. If you come out of the hotel and turn right and walk down the sea front you will come across loads of nice restaurants with outdoor seating. Alternatively you can walk into the town behind the hotel and find restaurants there. We did a bit of both. All the seafood in Marbella is delicious!

Waking into Puerto Banus was the highlight of our trip. We caught the sun and saw the most beautiful views. About an hour or so in, there is a beach hut style restaurant called Victor's Beach Bar with a BBQ and lovely cocktails. I highly recommend it! The sea is right next to where you sit and eat and the food is good.
There are bars and restaurants along the way to stop in for a drink/lunch.
Coming back from Puerto Banus we took a taxi and it only cost around €10.

There are tonnes of attractions and things to do in Marbella and the weather was fabulous!

I would stay at The Princesa Playa again and would recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos

Address: Paseo Maritimo, s/n, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Playa Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.