We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Cristobal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Cristobal to your Saves list
Hotel San Cristobal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Coventry
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked this hotel via Booking.com for a couple of reasons - its location within Marbella Town and its proximity to a number of golf courses. I have to say that it scored well on both points. The hotel itself is very unassuming and can be easily missed as the entrance is accessed from the main street via an escalator. The hotel itself is perched about a number of shops so could almost be mistaken for offices or apartments.
The rooms are kept clean and tidy and as far as I know they all are air conditions. The one I had also had a balcony overlooking the main road.
Each room has a safe however you have to rent an electronic fob to be able to use it at a cost of 1.50 euros per day. Not a great deal so why not incorporate it into the price somehow?
The bar, restaurant and breakfast room are all located on the second floor. We only had breakfast however it was a good spread with plenty to choose from. When you leave the room to the back into the town itself you realise the benefits the hotel has in where it is. Only a few minutes walk from a multitude of shops, restaurants and bars. Conversely - if you exit the front way and cross the main road you can be at the beach in five minutes as well.
If I were to go to Marbella again I would seriously consider staying at Hotel San Cristobal again.

Room Tip: 315 and 316 have balconies overlooking main road however there are higher floors for less noise late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time and writing a review regarding the Hotel San Cristóbal, Marbella.

Glad to see that you really enjoyed our location.

Your feedback is used to improve and we thank you for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

Hope to see you soon in the nearly future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    68
    35
    6
    5
See reviews for
16
77
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Great Hotel - Excellent Service. Come out of the back door and right in the Old Town.
The Hotel is very clean - We had a room on the front overlooking the park but when you close the doors you have very little noise.
It is close to everything short walk to the beach and close to great bars and restaurants
The breakfast is very good.
Very good deal for Marbella we will be coming back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front which was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the time you have expended to write a review about our hotel.

We really appreciate your nice words about the hotel location, the room facilities and the restaurant.

Happy to read that we overcome all your expectations. We always try to adapt our services to our guest needs.

We hope to see you next time you visit marbella.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

In my opinion , everything was great. The room was big enough , very clean , and good smelling.The staff was very friendly.At the breakfast,I was very good surprised ,that the waiters sang ,and they was very happy and friendly.I think it was a good deal for us to stay there,and if I will come back in Marbella I will return at that hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with windows at the street are larger,but a little bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We want to thank you very much for your stay and your comments.

Your review will be for sure really helpful for other clients.

Looking forward to your next visit.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived early morning and found our rooms ready. We requested 2 rooms next to each other and as high as possible since hotel faces a main road. We were accommodated as requested. First appearance was not likeable since it is quite old style but later we found it to be clean, comfortable, accommodating and central. Breakfast is good and plentiful. Hotel is withing walking distance to the beach, with bus and taxi access right on the doorstep. The old city is right behind. Could not beat the location. We enjoyed this stay. Everyone of the staff was quite helpful and served us with a smile.
Was requested to pay the complete bill for 15days at 02:00 am on arrival. This could have been settled in the morning. Had to request the furnishing of a small fridge as this is not standard to each room. Had to pay for the use of the safe inside the room which although is minimal at Euro 1.50/day should be part of the service for the guests.

Room Tip: The higher the better. We were in level 4 and the traffic noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We want to say thank you very much for your comments.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We' hope to see you soon in the nearly future!

All tthe best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The San Cristobal is a clean, basic hotel. The front of the hotel faces new Marbella & the beach area while the back overlooks charming old Marbella & its orange tree lined plazas. Rooms are adequate, quiet & very clean, with bath. The hotel does not have a pool. Highlight of the stay was the hotel's restaurant, popular with locals who appreciate classic Andalucian fish, meat, salads & soups for a reasonable 12 euros including wine & coffee. A public bus in front of the hotel is a great way to go to Puerto Banus to see the lavish yachts. Excellent shopping just steps from the hotel. I would definitely return to the San Cristobal for Sunday lunch while staying somewhere with a swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

As you said, a lot of people from Marbella comes everyday to our hotel to have lunch or dinner. I'm sure that means they are happy always to come back.

Talking about the pool, I'm afraid you are right, we dont´t have any pool, although the beach is quite near the hotel.

We'll be delighted to see you soon!

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This little gem is in a perfect location between the orange square and the beach in Marbella, I recently organised a party and booked 20 rooms here, I couldn't believe how friendly all the staff were and how reasonable the prices were, I will definitely use this hotel for my guests next year, everyone said how nice it was, and a cooked breakfast for the price, wow!!

Room Tip: Take the old town side as its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

For first time visiting Marbella is right to stay close by the old city of Marbella where you can eat ,drink etc ...properly but expensively!!!So that you have to book a hotel quite central...like the old one but OK "San Cristobal" hotel.Otherwise you might stay to a beach hotel if you can afford the very very expensive rates of the 4 or 5 stars hotels of the area...

Room Tip: high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Cristobal 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Marbella and 225 mts. from the Beach and the Sea promenade in front of the Alameda ParkShoping, restaurants,bars and Entertainment around the hotel not needing Vehicle.96 rooms (70% with terrace) redecorated between 2003 and 2007) complete bathroom, hair dryer ,telephone,satelite chanel TV, rental safe box, air conditioned and heating.Breakfast buffet. Lunch/dinner waiter service daily menu.Bar and meeting room 100 people with free WIFI.Over 800 private parking places 250 mts around hotel, the hotel owns a limited nº at special fare. Not suitable for phisically handicapped persons.Granted with “Q” Tourism Spanish autorities quality award and ISO14001 environmental management standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia San Cristobal Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Cristobal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.