We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CENTRAL TO TOWN & BEACH” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Cristobal

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Cristobal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Cristobal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“CENTRAL TO TOWN & BEACH”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We arrived early morning and found our rooms ready. We requested 2 rooms next to each other and as high as possible since hotel faces a main road. We were accommodated as requested. First appearance was not likeable since it is quite old style but later we found it to be clean, comfortable, accommodating and central. Breakfast is good and plentiful. Hotel is withing walking distance to the beach, with bus and taxi access right on the doorstep. The old city is right behind. Could not beat the location. We enjoyed this stay. Everyone of the staff was quite helpful and served us with a smile.
Was requested to pay the complete bill for 15days at 02:00 am on arrival. This could have been settled in the morning. Had to request the furnishing of a small fridge as this is not standard to each room. Had to pay for the use of the safe inside the room which although is minimal at Euro 1.50/day should be part of the service for the guests.

Room Tip: The higher the better. We were in level 4 and the traffic noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
We want to say thank you very much for your comments.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We' hope to see you soon in the nearly future!

All tthe best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    62
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
62
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The San Cristobal is a clean, basic hotel. The front of the hotel faces new Marbella & the beach area while the back overlooks charming old Marbella & its orange tree lined plazas. Rooms are adequate, quiet & very clean, with bath. The hotel does not have a pool. Highlight of the stay was the hotel's restaurant, popular with locals who appreciate classic Andalucian fish, meat, salads & soups for a reasonable 12 euros including wine & coffee. A public bus in front of the hotel is a great way to go to Puerto Banus to see the lavish yachts. Excellent shopping just steps from the hotel. I would definitely return to the San Cristobal for Sunday lunch while staying somewhere with a swimming pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments.

As you said, a lot of people from Marbella comes everyday to our hotel to have lunch or dinner. I'm sure that means they are happy always to come back.

Talking about the pool, I'm afraid you are right, we dont´t have any pool, although the beach is quite near the hotel.

We'll be delighted to see you soon!

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This little gem is in a perfect location between the orange square and the beach in Marbella, I recently organised a party and booked 20 rooms here, I couldn't believe how friendly all the staff were and how reasonable the prices were, I will definitely use this hotel for my guests next year, everyone said how nice it was, and a cooked breakfast for the price, wow!!

Room Tip: Take the old town side as its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

For first time visiting Marbella is right to stay close by the old city of Marbella where you can eat ,drink etc ...properly but expensively!!!So that you have to book a hotel quite central...like the old one but OK "San Cristobal" hotel.Otherwise you might stay to a beach hotel if you can afford the very very expensive rates of the 4 or 5 stars hotels of the area...

Room Tip: high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is the 5th time I have stayed at this Hotel with my partner and it is brilliant for what we need. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spacious and clean with free wifi and the breakfast is great. It's not luxurious by any means but for the €60 per night including breakfast you wouldn't expect it. The back of the building faces onto small Andalucian cobbled walkways which are quiet and the front of the building over looks the main road which is slightly noisy but also looks over Marbella square which isn't a bad trade off. The beach is a few minutes walk away as are all the shops and resteraunts. Overall, great hotel in a great location. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place could seriously not have a better location: in the heart of the old town, 3 minute walk to beach, 3 minute walk to grocery store (Super Sol). It is in a very noisy area and is noisy at night but for us the noise level was fine. Free breakfast. The breakfast was not super exciting but all I usually have is yoghurt and muesli anyways so it was fine for that. The coffee at breakfast comes out of a machine and was disgusting. I kept asking the waiter if they had any fresh coffee and he just kept pointing to the machine. I quickly came to realize that the market (super sol) has a coffee bar in the from where you can get cafe con leche to go for .70 Euro. All of the rooms have wifi, safes (ours didnt work), and balconies. We could see the sea from our balcony (just barely) and had a front row seat to allof the "semana santa" (easter week) processionals/parades. The rooms are basic but clean and the matressess are tolerable. Parking nearby is a bit pricey but if you drive for a while up the hill where the white lines are you can park for free.
BTW- The people that work here do NOT speak English. I got by on my mediocre Spanish but beware all ye non-Spanish speakers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from 5 day break to marbella, unfortunately the weather was the worst they have had in marbella for years in march, it rained every day! However the hotel has great location close to old town and to local transport links. The rooms are little dated but has all you need and is clean, room 503 had great balcony so if weather was good it would be ideal. A little traffic noise but we were at back of hotel looking at mountains so not too bad. Breakfast is buffet which was ok. Didn't eat in restaurant as loads of nice places to eat close by. A few minutes walk to beach too. Went to puerto banus which had good bars and shops, a little more expensive to eat and drink here. All in all would definitely return to this hotel however in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,
We are really happy to read that everything was good during your stay.
Just we would like to point out that we are refurbishing all the rooms, and we hope to finish them very soon.

Thanks you very much and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lima Marbella
Hotel Lima Marbella
#15 of 77 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Romantic, Resta...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Puerto Azul Marbella
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
0.2 mi away
El Faro
El Faro
#36 of 77 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
1.3 mi away
NH Marbella
NH Marbella
#20 of 77 in Marbella
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Best Value, Bud...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Puerta de Aduares
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Cristobal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Marbella and 225 mts. from the Beach and the Sea promenade in front of the Alameda ParkShoping, restaurants,bars and Entertainment around the hotel not needing Vehicle.96 rooms (70% with terrace) redecorated between 2003 and 2007) complete bathroom, hair dryer ,telephone,satelite chanel TV, rental safe box, air conditioned and heating.Breakfast buffet. Lunch/dinner waiter service daily menu.Bar and meeting room 100 people with free WIFI.Over 800 private parking places 250 mts around hotel, the hotel owns a limited nº at special fare. Not suitable for phisically handicapped persons.Granted with “Q” Tourism Spanish autorities quality award and ISO14001 environmental management standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia San Cristobal Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Cristobal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.