We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Cristobal

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Cristobal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Cristobal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from 5 day break to marbella, unfortunately the weather was the worst they have had in marbella for years in march, it rained every day! However the hotel has great location close to old town and to local transport links. The rooms are little dated but has all you need and is clean, room 503 had great balcony so if weather was good it would be ideal. A little traffic noise but we were at back of hotel looking at mountains so not too bad. Breakfast is buffet which was ok. Didn't eat in restaurant as loads of nice places to eat close by. A few minutes walk to beach too. Went to puerto banus which had good bars and shops, a little more expensive to eat and drink here. All in all would definitely return to this hotel however in the warmer weather.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,
We are really happy to read that everything was good during your stay.
Just we would like to point out that we are refurbishing all the rooms, and we hope to finish them very soon.

Thanks you very much and hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    64
    32
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
71
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alcaidesa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The quality of the hotel is better on the pictures than in reality. More than it usually is.
Receptionist does not speak any English.
The quality of the furniture could be better. Bed broke when I put my arm on it. And I am not overweight.
Management sent me now the request for recommending them here on Tripadvisor with the link.
They sent it first in Spanish, then in English. Two emails with all other customers cc:ed!!!
Where is the privacy? They should know what bcc (secret copy) is!
The location of the hotel is good. The price could be slightly lower. The breakfast is poor.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Juan A, Director General at Hotel San Cristobal, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.
I would like to apologize for all the inconveniences caused during your stay with us.

First of all we understand your disappointment with the way the e-mail was sent. We always send one email per guest, but by mistake this time we send several at the same time without secret copy. We are completely sure this is not going to happen again.

Regarding the furniture in your room, we would like to mention that the problem was already solved.

Finally we hope that the problem to speak in English with one of our receptionists were a specific problem, because almost everyone speaks English.

I really hope to have the chance to talk about all your comments with you in person sometime in the nearly future.

Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed in the San Cristobal at the end of September with my golfing friends. Rooms are a bit outdated, but with all essentials provided, and what is most important, clean with bed sheets changed every day. The room tended to be noisy for a time after midnight when the street nearby filled with people returning from bars and nightclubs. Somebody complained of noisy airconditioning unit inside the hotel facing his room.

Breakfast buffet was good with enough choices, but would have appreciated fried eggs for a change instead of precooked boiled ones.

Location is excellent as the beachfront is just a short walk away, with numerous cafes and restaurants attracting passers-by for a visit.

There is also an underground garage very close, an extra convenience for those needing a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Clean and comfy in great location for old town, beach and shops. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast fine with good choice overall very good . Rooms slightly dated but good size and really clean. Excellent choice of restaurants very nearby

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel - It is a great hotel in the heart of Marbella surrounded by shops and restaurants. The beach is a 2 minute walk away, the rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast is fine. I would definitely recommend it and I shall definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. Always ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here and the location is fantastic - 2 minutes to the orange square.
You go in through a shopping centre. Staff were fantastic and the room was very large. Basic but this is a budget hotel so you get what you pay for.
Would definately go back if going for a weekend however no pool and so wouldn't stay for any longer.
Parking is close byhowever its 15 euros for 24hours

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from 3 days in Marbella and my 6th time at Hotel San Cristobal. It's a great little hotel in the heart of Marbella and you can choose from loads of shops and restaurants or simply walk to the beach within a few minutes. The rooms are spacious and clean and the breakfast which is included is brilliant. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Cristobal 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Marbella and 225 mts. from the Beach and the Sea promenade in front of the Alameda ParkShoping, restaurants,bars and Entertainment around the hotel not needing Vehicle.96 rooms (70% with terrace) redecorated between 2003 and 2007) complete bathroom, hair dryer ,telephone,satelite chanel TV, rental safe box, air conditioned and heating.Breakfast buffet. Lunch/dinner waiter service daily menu.Bar and meeting room 100 people with free WIFI.Over 800 private parking places 250 mts around hotel, the hotel owns a limited nº at special fare. Not suitable for phisically handicapped persons.Granted with “Q” Tourism Spanish autorities quality award and ISO14001 environmental management standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia San Cristobal Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Cristobal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.