We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, one problem.....PAPER THIN WALLS!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Cristobal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Cristobal to your Saves list
Hotel San Cristobal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
london
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good hotel, one problem.....PAPER THIN WALLS!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

This hotel is definitely a 3 star. There are 6 floors. We were lucky to be given a room on the 6th floor with a sea view and balcony. The main road is literally in front of the hotel, busy with cars.....

I thought the room was decent. Yes, furniture is from the 70's (old wood) but it was ok for the money we spent.

The problem though was the walls were very thin and unfortunately we had a man next door to us, who kept us awake all nights, SNORING every night!! It was almost like he was in our bed, yes, that loud!

The beach is less than 3 minute walk and many shops are close by. This hotel is in the old town and not in the posh part of Marbella!! The posh bit is a 40 minute walk (along the same road).

Breakfast was ok, Tropical juice was nice, along with the pastries.

I would say, if you are restricted by money and need a central hotel in Marbella, this is a good hotel for you, but, you must bring your ear plugs with you, or you will have a number of sleepless nights (as you can hear neighbouring guests and the cleaners at work in the mornings).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    69
    37
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
78
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

i liked the hotel. the only problem was the internet, some rooms got internet other guests had to go down to the lobby or the 2nd floor to connect to the internet. the staff didnt speak good english. they charge you for using the safe box in the room.

in general the hotel is average.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

This hotel was nice once you got to it. Its in a very busy section of Marbella, almost impossible to stop outside hotel to offload luggage and check in! Parking is a distance from hotel and is not free! Nice breakfast, but staff not very friendly. Two older men at front desk were pompous, irritable and no help! Young lady tried to help, but as she was new, they over ruled her! Room was ok, very basic, but clean. Wifi available free, but not in your room. Great location for shopping, eating, and nightlife! Bakeries and their goods are to die for! Very difficult area to navigate on your own (we rented a car) as street signs are hard to find and each street twists and turns so much! Park across from hotel was lovely as was the promenade along the beach.

Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

I was a little bit worried when i booked this hotel as other reviewers mentioned the smell of sewerage but luckily i can i got no unpleasant odour. It's very important to get a room with a balcony as they don't all have balconies. The location is excellent; centrally located between the beach and orange square. The only complaint i have is that while the breakfast is very substantial the orange juice is dreadful....buy your own!! Staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Unpreposessing from the front but a clean and friendly hotel.and excellent value for money. Access to the reception was up an escalator or steps so no good for disabled visitors. Our room was spacious at the front on the top floor giving a superb view of the main street (not noisy at night) and the sea. Mostly Spanish guests, we seemed to be the only English couple there in the week before Easter. Breakfast was the usual fairly unexciting buffet but the lunchtime menu at 11 euros per head seemed good value although we took advantage of beachside cafes as the weather was so good. An easy stroll through the formal gardens opposite to the beach or to the Old Town situated at the rear of the hotel. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire,England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

The position of the San Cristobal was one of the main reasons for booking a Winter week with our friends. It is minutes from the seafront, Old Town and all the shops and restaurants you could wish for. We were impressed with the quality of the hotel and the cleanliness and size of rooms.The staff were helpfull and friendly. The room maids in particular did a very good job.
Hotel car park is a few minutes walk and is safe and secure.
The only downside was that the hotel restaurant was not open in the evenings and as our first night was very rainy it would have been a bonus. However, they provided us with umbrellas and restaurant suggestions.
If you don't need 5 star luxury this is a very good choice and certainly isn't basic. We had previously stayed at the unfriendly and basic El Rodeo (which now seems closed) and the two could not be more different for the same 3 star rating .

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

5 min walk to beach, 3 to the old town. Breakfast is fine, could have included some fresh fruit though. Rooms are very clean & so it didn't matter that the decor was not fashionable. The location of this hotel is perfect for access to the beach, bus routes, shops, restaurants! I would go back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Cristobal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Cristobal

Address: Avenida Ramon y Cajal 3, 29601 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Marbella
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Cristobal 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Marbella and 225 mts. from the Beach and the Sea promenade in front of the Alameda ParkShoping, restaurants,bars and Entertainment around the hotel not needing Vehicle.96 rooms (70% with terrace) redecorated between 2003 and 2007) complete bathroom, hair dryer ,telephone,satelite chanel TV, rental safe box, air conditioned and heating.Breakfast buffet. Lunch/dinner waiter service daily menu.Bar and meeting room 100 people with free WIFI.Over 800 private parking places 250 mts around hotel, the hotel owns a limited nº at special fare. Not suitable for phisically handicapped persons.Granted with “Q” Tourism Spanish autorities quality award and ISO14001 environmental management standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Cristobal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia San Cristobal Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Cristobal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.