We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and last visit....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Artola Golf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Artola Golf to your Saves list
Hotel Artola Golf
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera de Cadiz, Km 194, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 79 Hotels in Marbella
Limassol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First and last visit....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Tired, poorly maintained and has obviously had a more glorious past. Rowdy guests kept us awake through the night despite complaining at the time, loud inattentive owner, TV old and useless, stench of bad drains in the bathroom, breakfast uninspiring. A nice place to leave.
Good beach nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

After several years of staying here i will not come back again.The rooms are not cleaned properly,the towels are old and worn. The grounds which were once lovely are now in a poor state where dogs run riot before washing themselves in the pool.
The bar no longer has the tapas it used to offer and too is looking unused, and the worst of all
is the ex pats who appear to run it and the foul language i over heard during my stay.
What little spanish authenticity was left with this place has now gone. Big Shame.

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Having, like others found this idyllic gem I just can not find enough praise for it, it is full of rustic charm, the beds are very comfortable, the rooms very clean, the Service very relaxing, you want something just ask, the pool excelent, sure there is no resturant but it is Bed /Breakfast and there are loads of Resturants around, (Dont look for McDonalds) I would like to be able to put into words just how different and wonderful this Hotel is but words fail me. For a good resturant try Bogart's in Calahonda, just at the start of 'The Strip'
N.B. My wife and I were so impressed we have decided to return again next month and maybe again in October.

John R Martin

Room Tip: I hope to add Photos later in the week
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araruna pb
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

special type of rustical hotel.nice rooms and nice naturalesc beaches in this aerea.

Room Tip: if you are not by car,use taxi from Marbella
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel is on it's last legs. Neglected, no service to speak of. Bar rarely open and when it is-- the staff (if any) are very rude.
Air conditioning out of order and so called staff said' nothing we can do!'.
Rear rooms very noisy---window in room would not shut properly.
All in all--a terrible experience.
Would not be surprised if this place shuts down soon.
Not even that cheap!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This hotel is gem. Full of character and characters! We found Hotel Artola by mistake and then fell in love with it. The location is ideal, bus stops outside to Fuengerola and Marbella, beach 5 mins walk and local bars and restaurants approx. 10 mins.
Our special thanks to Vic and Lyn for guiding to us to this hotel. Throughout our stay they kept us informed of the best places to go and helped us with everything we needed. Vic also kept us entertained with his dulcet tones!!! Thanks guys.
The grounds are very relaxing with a large pool and terrace bar.
Ou thanks to all the staff for their friendly and efficient service.

Room Tip: Best rooms are 101 to 106, but the other rooms ar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

beautiful hotel that is in need of some TLC however found staff to be friendly and ideal location for us close to the beach and only 15 minutes away from either fuengirola or marbella . Local beach, bars very convenient and for a short romantic getaway found this to be perfect for the price we paid . Like i said whole place could do with a some small renovations but then it does add to the historical feel of it and the golf course could do with being maintained as my partner was hoping to have a game however it was overgrown so couldn't. All that aside we found it good value friendly and situated in an ideal location and would go back

Room Tip: if you want a veranda book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marbella hotels
0.0 mi away
Barcelo Marbella Golf Hotel
0.0 mi away
Princesa Playa Hotel Apartamentos
0.0 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alanda Hotel Marbella
Alanda Hotel Marbella
#45 of 79 in Marbella
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#8 of 79 in Marbella
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artola Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artola Golf

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, Km 194, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 79 Hotels in Marbella
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Artola Golf 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Artola Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Artola Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.