We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SmallWorld Cafe

SmallWorld Cafe
Ctra. de Istan, Km.1 | Centro Comercial Le Village 15, 29600 Marbella, Spain
952771046
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 924 Restaurants in Marbella
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: SmallWorld Cafe won the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 and then received an Award from the Mayor of Marbella, all of which we can only thank our amazing local and international clientele and last but certainly not least, our wonderful team, past and present. It is for the people of our pueblo and visitors alike that we created SWC and we thank you all for your continued support. SmallWorld Cafe opened it doors 5 years ago, in a sub-urban area of Marbella, between Marbella town and Puerto Banus. Located on the Ctra de Istan, next to the world famous Olivia Valere night club and the King of Saudi Arabia's Palace, it is also very close to the world renowned Swiss hotel management university, Les Roches. The Cafe/Restaurant was built in a Shoreditch, London or Manhattan, New York style, with brick walls, wooden floors and an exposed ceiling. SWC has 4 exterior terraces, one with park style benches, followed by a smarter outdoor terrace with Tuuci umbrellas, a wooden pergola covered terrace with chandeliers and another covered terrace with a retractable roof, with chill out sofa's. There is plenty space for private functions or birthdays. The inside has a raised section with TV for those special sporting events. There are sofas to chill out on and Wifi incase you need to get some work done or simply surf the net (or review us on TripAdvisor).The menu, well, simples...big portions, small prices, nuf said! Apart from delicious of course!We aim to please, so you shouldn't be disappointed...Again, thanks to all our lovely customers, SWC Team
chester
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

lovely little cafe with very friendly staff and great food, great place to visit away from the hustle and bustle. nice decor and surroundings, good breakfast menu with fresh fruit etc, would recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AlistairIm, Owner at SmallWorld Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hiya Gmwhite...huge apology for the delay in replying but we were hard at work as we have just grown. We have doubled the size of the kitchen and added a large chill out terrace on the rear of the building. We'll be making a few more improvements over the winter so hopefully you'll be impressed on your next visit. The breakfast menu will be improved too!
Cheers for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate it. All our very best! SWC Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Another little Gem that stands out from the crowd.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have eaten here regularly, mostly after dropping the Kids off for school, so Im going to write about the Breakfast. I believe that this Cafe was set up by x students of Aloah college. Whether this is true or not, like the school, they have set the perfect balance. Staff are always attentive, happy to help and service superb. The choices for breakfast are extremely well thought out, from the healthy to the fry up, but this is not cafe food, far from it, they obviously have a very good supplier because any thing you have here is delicious. So,yesterday rather than having the full breakfast, we both had scrambled eggs on toast and we guiltily asked the waitress if the chef could include bacon. A huge portion perfectly made, its very easy to mess up this dish but they dont, its just right. At €4 this is a very good price and at €8.50 for the full breakfast with again superbly sourced sausages and bacon, these dishes really are a taste sensation. Shabby Chic with a bo ho atmosphere just about sums it up. There is a covered terrace and an outside terrace as well, so no matter the weather or time of day pop in, you wont be disapointed. Cant wait for the next time..... after dropping the kids off at Aloah.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlistairIm, Owner at SmallWorld Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Nickandjo2, we think you're both little gems for writing such a lovely review! Myself and my partner attended Aloha college, many many moons ago! We love the fact we are on on the school route, as some of our ex-teachers (a few veterans left) pop over for their breaks. Being on the school route, we have recently extended our kitchen ours, so we don't close between lunch and diner, allowing parents to feed their children after being picked up.
We're terribly sorry for not having replied earlier, it's been a hectic year with our expansion, still not a great excuse but hopefully one day we can make it up when you are next in. It would be lovely to meet you. Thanks again, best wishes, SWC Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delightful little spot.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As a Cafe / restaurant this has to be by far the best in Marbella. Lovely atmosphere attractive and friendly staff make this place special. I believe the venture was set up by a group of students from the nearby catering school. They certainly pooled their knowledge, skills and expertise in a most imaginative way. Fresh orange juice and perfectly poached eggs on toast are a must for breakfast. A great place to start the day. Lots of other great stuff. I will be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlistairIm, Owner at SmallWorld Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Melanjen, what can we say except a huge thank you for a huge compliment! We definitely try our best and will continue doing so as our only aim is to please our guests. We did attend the hotel management university next door and then worked around the world in hotels to then come back and open SmallWorld. We're absolutely chuffed you like it. You must return! It would be a tremendous pleasure to meet you. Many regards, SWC Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Excellent food, only the best ingredients are used”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Very popular with the locals. Everything is good here, especially the fresh tuna from Barbate. Good value for money and great place for a casual lunch!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlistairIm, Owner at SmallWorld Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hiya Eatthemeat. Thanks for reviewing us! You're absolutely spot on...we use top quality products and have fresh produce arrive on a daily basis, guaranteeing our food to be fresh and healthy. The tuna is from Barbate, considered one of the best fishing grounds.
Many many thanks for taking the time in reviewing us, regards, The SWC Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I regularly visit Marbella and eat here very often; the food is the best in Marbella, it's so much more interesting that the "international cuisine" that you can pay a fortune for in Puerto Banus and Marbella. They have burgers, but it seems a shame for them to be called that since they are a world away from what one normally thinks of as burgers; they also have interesting dishes like beetroot hummus, home-made nachos (just like the ones I used to have when I lived in Mexico, not the commercial kind), exciting salads..... The atmosphere is relaxed and modern, it is a firm favourite with 'people who know' whether for a snack, brunch, dinner...... you are always made to feel welcome, and there is a great mix of clientele from international Marbella residents, to local business people to the young retired. I've been impelled to put in a review now because I see that Alistair mentions changing the menu, which will be fine I'm sure since everything is delicious, but I must put in a plea for the Pumpkin Tower to remain! Looking forward to my next visit - if only my area in the UK had a place like this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlistairIm, Owner at SmallWorld Cafe, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Surreytravels, I feel extremely embarrassed I hadn't replied to your review a long time ago. We certainly did read it and listened, as do we to all our guests feedback. The pumpkin remained and probably will always! We love it too much. We've made improvements to the burger too...and to the whole restaurant with more yet to come. Hopefully you've been able to return to Marbella since your last visit and if you have a trip planed soon, please let us know. We won the certificate of excellence from Tripadvisor for 2013, because of lovely guests like yourselves taking the time to write. Thank you thank you thank you. All our best. SWC Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SmallWorld Cafe also viewed

Marbella, Costa del Sol
Marbella, Costa del Sol
 

Been to SmallWorld Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SmallWorld Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.