We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leading hotel of the World for a reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marbella Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marbella Club Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Leading hotel of the World for a reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

Once you arrive at the Marbella Club you feel like you have been transported back 20 or 30 years to the age when Marbella had a bit of 'golden glamour' to it...this hotel is NOT cheap, and it is not for the package tour group 'set'... it is like staying at a private estate of the Von Hohenlohe family (the orginal owner/founders). It is class A for style and substance. The gardens and casitas are quiet, and well appointed. The Beach is nothing to write home about..but that goes for most of Marbella. The pools are small but heated (great for early spring swims!), the choice of restaurants is great (MC Cafe is my favourite...it is almost like being on Rodeo Drive in Beverley Hills)...and the beach bar buffet is excellent. Service is exceptional all through the hotel..and the Thalasso Spa is excellent. The hotel is designed like a finca estate so if you dont like to walk distances..be prepared, and order your golf cart for transport...the upside, peace and quiet. Gorgeous gardens make every walk seem like you are anywhere but in Marbella..A great location...just far enough from Marbella to make it a good walk and keep it quiet...far enough from Puerto Banus to make it...er, far enough from Puerto Banus (!)..and it does seem like 'old marbella'.

The rooms are comfortable..we had a sea view over the spa. Apart from the occassional smell of sea water...it was great. A perfect spring break with sun/food/spa and shopping. Toiletries are excellent...fresh flowers from the garden changed daily! lots of pillows, big robes..slippers and closet space. Nothing too much trouble for staff...and waiter service at all restaurants was flawless...we had one problem with ordering one day at the MC cafe and it was immediately rectified and they made up for the 'lack of service' with a free glass of champagne and we had not even complained!!! Illy coffee is served at ts establishement...great! Wine...great choice and reasonably priced. Honestly...it is like a step back to good old fashioned quality service...ok, at a price. BUT - it is authentic. It is of the highest standard and THAT never goes out of fashion. Congrats on it being a leading hotel of the world...we agree, and we'll be back. One last tip...Sushi Des Artistes across the road is one of the best restaurants for sushi we have ever experienced...creative, delicious and stylish...if you can tear yourself away from the Marbella Club...try it, you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review, we have copied and spread around to all the staff involved so they are aware and enjoy it too.

From my point of view you have perfectly understand the essence of the original idea of the Prince Alfonso Hohenlohe, elegant, charming but simple luxury in a mediterranean paradise.

We look forward to welcome you again soon, with best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    69
    27
    15
    14
See reviews for
107
169
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Firstly i did not stay at the hotel-probably could not afford it. But this is our way of thanking the receptionist and other staff who helped an Irish family who were lost! They could not go to enough trouble so if the hotel is anything like the staff, it must be brilliant.
Gracias.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we have thanked you on your behalf the Reception department.

We would love to welcome you soon for the first time at the Marbella Club, please let us know when.

My best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Ignore the other reviews - read this one!

I have lived on and off in Marbella for the past 15 years. We sold our house a few years ago and now whenever we come back there is SIMPLY no other place to rival the MarbellaClub. It ooooozes history, it is STILL sexy, the LOCATION is great (a brisk walk to town along the seafront) and the service is unparalleled on the Coast.

People who have lived in Marbella for years use it as their meeting spot, it is a great pre-dinner drinks place...so much so that if Marbella had a Grand Hotel...this would be it - the place where everybody who is anybody in Marbella meets to see and be seen.

i would recommend this hotel to anyone - the young couple down for a few nights partying and beach; the young parents with boisterous kids who want to have an "upper-class-beach" experience; the elderly off-season couple who are down for a few days of RnR and perhaps visit the grandchildren, etc. etc. The MC has something for everyone!

It is private yet very public, you can use it as your hideaway or you can parttake in the public spaces. That is what makes this place a haven to return to.

Take it from me - I am pretentious enough to say "i know my Marbella" - and I recommend this hotel from my heart. You will love it too.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your lovely words about Marbella Club, we really appreciate them.

We would love to welcome you back soon, meanwhile please receive our best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Marbella Club this fall for a re-energizer!
For me either May or October are great months to visit Marbella, not too many tourists and weather is still warm and sunny. We stayed in room 221 - my all time favorite room - with a lovely terrace to enjoy sunsets and big enough to host a small dinner party with friends.
Walking around the lush and scented gardens of the Marbella Club feels like pure therapy for the senses, but we also decided to indulge ourselves in the Thalasso Spa.

Me and my wife had flown in from South America and therefore started with a Jet-Lag treatment that took away all the pain and dryness that comes with a long houlflight. Followed by a Collagen Facial that put me to sleep because it was so relaxing. We tried different massages and all were good, there are to lovely Swedish ladies working at the Spa and they are strong as Vikings!

We started every day by a swim in the pool next to the breakfast restaurant followed by champagne breakfast where the superduper attentive waiter Javier took great care of us and met our needs with a smile. After one day he had memorized everything we liked. That is service!!

We enjoyed long lunches in the MC Café with some friends, and then spent a whole day by the beach. Another day we enjoyed the famous lunch buffet where we O-D´d on lobsters...

We had tennis lessons arranged by the hotel, these can be had at the neighbouring hotel PuenteRomano where there is what amounts to a championship tennis club - too good. We went for long walks on the beach and we ended most days in the Piano bar with a nice pre-dinner cocktail. Because of the lovely terrace in our room we enjoyed several dinners there with excellent room-service.
You can perhaps tell we THOUROUGHLY like this hotel and enjoyed it to the MAX.

After a week at the Marbella Club we felt more in love than ever and re energized for the rest of the Autumn!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The experience was awful. From arrival at the run down reception to the very dated suite.
Staff apart from a few notable exeptions give the impresion that you should not be there
and forget the idea that they are there to serve .This particularly applies to the main bar and the grill where I was served with the worst steak of my life.
Also the experence of binge drinking teenage children of British and Irish parents astonishing not to mention walking out first thing in the morning to be welcomed by empty beer cans and cigarette butts.

The only shining light was the MC cafe where the service was very good and friendly by a
happy young staff it would seem that the old guard is the problem.

Living in Australia we will stick to the likes of Aman , Four Seasons, and Trisara in Asia where a villa with your own private pool, wonderful service and food, all for a cost which is less than the Marbella Club Hotel.

Perhaps europeans use this property because of cheaper airfares but sadly it also cheapens the experience

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2009
Dear guest,

We thank you for your feed back and we feel very sorry about your impressions during the stay at the Marbella Club.

A message has been sent to your tripadvisor email, I remain at your entire disposal.

Thanks and best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Marbella Club Hotel · Golf Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

I strongly recommend the Marbella Club to anyone. Location is perfect, staff very friendly and the facilities are superb. Better to stay in the garden rooms by the pool as it is fresh and quite in the summer. The best lunch buffet I have ever seen. The superior suite rooms are just perfect!!! I could live there for a few months and still feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback, we love to hear that you feel at home at the Marbella Club.

Please let us know when are you coming back, we would love to welcome you again.

All the best,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Markeing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

I had high expectations for this hotel based on reputation and other reviews. The service was good but sometimes snobbish, the room was fine but not luxurious, the breakfast buffet was very good, the beach was just fine.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales & Marketing at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Dear guest,

First of all many thanks for your review of the Marbella Club.

We appreciate your positive comments about the Breakfast and the service and we take good note about the downside impressions you had during your stay, we will certainly make sure we improve on those fields.

I'm sending you an email to your TripAdvisor account with further details.

Best regards

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.