We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get Away!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marbella Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Europe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Get Away!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Marbella Club was the ultimate respite!! We were upgraded to a two bedroom cottage named Olivi, upon arrival. It had a small pool in the back patio with a table and chairs. We had lunch outside a few times. The cottage was within walking distance to the beach, pools and restaurants. I would go back there in a heartbeat. We were with my kids (12 and 15). Lots of others were with their small children. Great escape and highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The suite was perfect for us as we always request adjoining rooms. In this case, we were upgraded an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    54
    25
    15
    13
See reviews for
88
145
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for a weekend at the Marbella Club Hotel. We had not been there for 30 years. The rooms have been recently and nicely renovated and are very pleasant. The service in the restaurant is very good as well as on the beach. The pools are a little bit small for todays expectations. It is a very nice resort although on the expensive side. Breakfast at € 35 per Person is a lot.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had an amazing Sunday brunch here. Perfect for a special day with family and friends. Beautiful views of the beach and a top-tier menu. Found the location on the Marbella Family Fun site which has loads of information on what to do with kids. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannover
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the second time we stayed at Marbella Club. Very glad to see that it remains a wonderful hotel with charming rooms, unobtrusive service and perfect Spa.
My congratulations for his management..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good old fashioned 'luxury' hotel, lots of staff majority very efficient and smiley, helpful, can not complain. We had a room close to the top pool, very nicely appointed, very clean.
For food book Mc on the beach for a lovely long lunch.
The grill for a late night meal, it is empty until 11ish even in August! Albeit fully booked. The Buffett by the bottom pool was a very nice change with a good selection, we did a nice lunch here.
Everything is pricey, if you worry about price stay somewhere else!
I have to agree with an earlier guest, the pool areas were overan by screaming children being cared for by nannies who welcomed the fact that they could palm them off! By the end of day two we know all of their names by screech! Very noisey and we could only find the jetty area to sunbathe, read and relax every where else was overran with toddlers on top pool, teenagers dive bombing on the bottom one.
We will be back, but I think outside of school holidays, however we don't want to feel like we are on an old folks holiday which I worry might be the case at other times.
So if you have children that still holiday with you, this might be a great place to stay. If you want a relaxing time by a pool pick somewhere else!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranckSibille, General Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear oscardogBirminghamUk,

Thank you for your recent review and for choosing our hotel for your vacation.
We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed our variety of culinary selections; MCBeach, our Chiringuito, the romantic Grill and our legendary buffet at the Beach Club.
It is true that Marbella Club welcome families and during certain times during the day you may find the pools busy. Children are not allowed to dive bombing and I apologize if we missed them at times. As you rightly say, the peer of the spa terrace are the perfect place to relax and are for adults only.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Franck Sibille
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Andalucía, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been going with my family to Marbella Club Hotel since late eighties. We have stayed quite a few times along the years and also we visited it oftenly for lunch/dinner or just for drinks at the Beach Club or Piano Bar. My family and I have only words of praise for the MC and in a very special way for its outstanding staff whom we had the pleasure to met for so many years. Staff is indeed the most valuable asset of MC. Most employees retire there after working for 30/40 years! The MC is a worlwide icon in the luxury hotels & resorts segment. It was founded by Prince Alfonso of Hohenlohe in the fifties, and since them many great personalities from all over the world have stayed there. By middle of June some good friends of us from The Hague, Netherlands, spent a long weekend at MC and we joined them to dinner at The Grill restaurant where we enjoyed some superb food in a beautiful and romantic setting with candles on trees. Also, we had a wonderful lunch at the Beach Club's fantastic buffet composed of over 50 lavish dishes of finest specialities from spanish rich cuisine, and french, libanese, italian, moroccan, oriental and others ones, cooked and prepared by chefs in situ. I could fill several pages about Marbella Club in a most positive way. We had a great time and keep fond memories from our stays and visits. The atmosphere is always relaxing and friendly like staying at home: the staff know by name all guests, most of them regular clients of many years. Of course, you feel the sense of privacy, distintion and class of a grand deluxe hotel. Definitely I can reccommend the MC with genuine enthusiam. Anyone staying at the Marbella Club for the first time, most surely will come back again. Permit me to attach a link of culinary expert Kalle Bergman, food writer of The Huffington Post. Following a visit to the Resort, he wrote a fine review and wide description of the place and its different places, bars and restaurants: http://honestcooking.com/places-we-love-marbella-club-legend-of-the-south/. This year is the 60th. anniversary: http://www.marbellaclub.com/default-en.html/. Also, you can enjoy the services and amenities of Puente Romano, a grand luxe hotel from the same owners,10 minutes walking from MC: http://www.puenteromano.com/default-en.html. For golf lovers, the MC owns a Golf Club: http://www.marbellaclubgolf.com/default-en.html, 20 minutes drive from the hotel. I have written this review with great pleasure as my family and I feel a deep appreciation and love for the wonderful and only Marbella Club Hotel.

Room Tip: Look for a Junior Suite or Superior Room with sea view close to the Beach Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stunning setting, slightly expensive but its a land mark for marbella. You cant see marbella and not go to this hotel. The history and the charm is second to none . A must see if only for a quick drink

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the ‘Golden Mile’ only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banús, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the “The Leading Hotels of the World” was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 85 luxury bedrooms, 36 suites and 14 Andalusian-Style villas throughout 42.000 square metres (452.083 sq. ft.) of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid´s Club for Children, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 sq. ft.) state-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, T4B and Venere so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.