We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SURPRISINGLY EXCELLENT!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marbella Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marbella Club Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“SURPRISINGLY EXCELLENT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedrooms villa with a private swimming pool. We all know that websites usually don't tell you the truth , so I was a bit sceptical about it. Just brilliant from the moment we went to check in to our last goodbye.
You are immersed in beautiful old gardens, with the most amazing old trees from all around the world, flowers, bushes. The restaurants are superb, though expensive, obviously if you like quality you have to pay!! so...no complains. The service from all the staff is top class quality, the best of andalucian people, not like the others... no rudeness, no answer back, name it! Our tips before we left were very generous indeed, from the beach boys, to the cleaners. We stayed 7 days, and could relax by the beach...if you like to work from the beach the wifi is so strong you can even sit at the end of the pier and work or call your friends from there!!. Beaches as you may know, are not great, as Andalucía doesn't have the sand you are looking for, but the water is clean and fresh. You could walk along the path by the beach to Puerto Banus, or Marbella to the other end if you are looking for some fun, though the hotel, also offer a range of activities for all age group. Puente Romano is their sister hotel, 3 minutes walk. You could use their facilities and the sea grill restaurant by the beach is a must!! be aware of the big size portions!! always share!. We will go back.

Room Tip: we stay in Las Brisas villa with private swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear MarcyUnitedKingdom,

Thank you for taking the time to receiw the Marbella Club. Your title, Suprisingly Excellent captivated us as we just love impressing our guests.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us…from the gardens, to your two bedroom villa, to our staff. We are glad that you took advantage of the Paseo….a favourite pastime among our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back.

Best wishes,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    57
    25
    15
    13
See reviews for
91
150
10
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice seaview updated room at Marbella Club. Great Service. Good Food.
Concierge helpful. All in all 4 star across the board. The dinner at the Grill was great. If you get a driver ask that they speak your lanquage.

Room Tip: If you get the sea front rooms don't get them on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear DifficultNY,

Thank you for your comment.

We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay with us including your dining experience at the Grill.

We are looking forward to welcoming you in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Star grades for hotels can be confusing and often not matched by the Hotel's offer, 4 star, 5 star, 5 star luxe what does it all mean. I would suggest an alternative grade which could be the the top rating available, where ones wife accepts the first room without question. The grading only changes dependant on how many rooms one needs to look at.

The Marbella Club, we've stayed before, is a no change room hotel, peace and quite from the minute of arrival. This place is a micro atmosphere of its own. Beautifully manicured gardens, outstanding service, professional and highly trained staff who are courteous, helpful and positive, super clean (even to the wife's standard) and excellent food in both restaurants. The Terrace in the evening has a vary special atmosphere. All in all a place where a bloke can get some peace from day one.

Its not cheap, in fact its very not cheap, but if you go to this hotel to save money you've picked the wrong place. Is it good value - yes. In my book average isn't acceptable and this hotel is very acceptable.

My thanks to the Manager and staff for giving my wife the all the standards she expects and the peace that I derived from her contentment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Average_unacceptable,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable and relaxing stay with us and appreciate your kind words about our employees.

We are glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere from your terrace and our magnificent gardens. Peace is such a rare community and we are glad that we could provide you with some tranquility.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Marbella Club.

Best wishes,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The first morning at breakfast we felt relaxed straight away as the waiting staff were so obliging. We had opted for a sea view room which had a great balcony although would have had a better view higher up. The hotel had a glamorous feel and all food and service was perfect. Just what we wanted for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Helen D,

Thank you very much for your kind words.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a very relaxing stay with us. Our staff will be extremely happy to hear your kind words regarding their exceptional service.

It is absolutely wonderful to hear you feel that the Marbella Club is perfect. That is the highest compliment we can receive.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We have been to this hotel for many years and not once have I been able to fault it. We visited in May 2013 and the standard is 1st class.

The staff at this hotel and excellent.

What another great hotel at the Marbella Club can't wait to get back there in June this year!

Thank you to everyone at the club once again x

Room Tip: Never stayed in a bad room at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear DollyPartonHerts,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.

It is a pleasure to hear that our service and facilities have always exceeded your expectations. Our staff will be so pleased to hear your kind words.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in June.

Best regards,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The wife and I needed a break and opted for the Marbella Club. We had stayed there before many years ago and knew we would be getting a very high standard, but we were totally knocked out by the reality. This is simply one of the best hotels we have stayed in, and that is given from a lifetime of travelling worldwide. It is not cheap by any standard, but you really do get what you pay for. We stayed at the sister hotel - Puente Romana - next door about nine months ago, but there is nothing that compares with this wonderful hotel. The grounds are quite breathtaking and the accomodation in a junior suite just right. My one and only complaint is that there was no partition between the toilet and the bathroom/storage/dressing area. There was a problem with the internet connection upon arrival and unlike most hotels who don't show much interest in trying to solve the problem, the staff could not have been more helpful and were determined to find a solution - which they did within hours. I was very impressed by this. We ate in the MC Cafe which was very nice but somewhat pompous. A lot of people like this, but I guess I'm getting too long in the tooth to be impressed. Food was very good but be aware it is expensive by any standard. Pool restaurant was of a good standard but also expensive. You always have the option of buying excellent sandwiches at the Pan & Mermelada cafe nearby. Without exception, the staff were helpful and friendly and we were recommended three outstanding restaurants in Marbella Old Town of which I have submitted seperate reviews. It seems the staff try out restaurants before recommending them, unlike many other hotels where they simply get a commission for recommendations. Absolutely, we will be going back after the main season and I have no difficulty in recommending this wonderful hotel to anyone who is looking for high standards. This truly is one of the best.

Room Tip: If you have special needs, don't hesitate to speak to the Reservations people before you go. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear David K,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent visit, and we share your opinion that the hotel's gardens are truly enchanting. It is an honour to hear that you regard us as one of the best hotels in the world.

We are glad that you enjoyed our recently refurbished Junior Suites and that you had the opportunity to experience our MC Cafe.

We are happy to hear that our staff was able to resolve the issue with the WIFI and that you enjoyed the recommendations made by our staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We just came back from a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff, especially at the front desk, are great. and very friendly. Also, you cannot have a more beautiful setting for a delicious morning breakfast buffet. We had a glitch regarding dinner at The Grill, but the manager of the hotel heard our concerns and was most gracious. We would definitely come again and recommend the hotel to our friends and family. Have fun!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Goldlie,

Thank you very much for your comment.

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated your kind words about our staff.

Thankfully our manager was able to correct the glitch during your evening at the Grill. It truly is a magical experience and we would not be happy if we offered anything less.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Marbella Club.

Best wishes,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#2 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the ‘Golden Mile’ only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banús, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the “The Leading Hotels of the World” was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 85 luxury bedrooms, 36 suites and 14 Andalusian-Style villas throughout 42.000 square metres (452.083 sq. ft.) of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid´s Club for Children, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 sq. ft.) state-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, T4B and Otel so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.