We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marbella club hotel Spain is first class” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marbella Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marbella Club Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Marbella club hotel Spain is first class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stay in a suite, which is very spacious,and if you value some privacy as we do , all the suites have lovely views and not overlooked, so you can sit on your balcony and enjoy the view plus it is so quiet, even though the hotel is on a busy road.
They have four different restaurants to choose from all excellent so you can be lazy and not move all day , plus room service 24 hours.
The gardens are just beautiful, and also their are two pools to swim in, plus the beach bar and serviced sun loungers on the beach, just perfect.

Room Tip: Choose a suite for space and privacy, ground floor is good as you get sun loungers to chill out in p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Elaine R,

We appreciate you have taken your time to write a review about us.

We go the extra mile to create memorable experiences for our guests and are thrilled to hear that you have achieved that with your stay at the Marbella Club.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    69
    27
    15
    14
See reviews for
107
169
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Marbella Club has got to be one of the best hotels in the world. I love it. Why? Stupendous service, above and beyond the call of duty. Super-comfortable rooms and beds that give me the best night's sleep I've had in a long time. Beautiful linen, that inspires me to go and buy some fresh duvets for home. A wonderful beach club with a superlative lunch/brunch of the over-laden eat till yer stuffed variety. A spa that will relax the hardened and most over-burdened of souls. The best breakfast buffet there is. And, all within a 2.5 hour flight from London. Yes, really. This is a little piece of Heaven and I cannot recommend it highly enough to you. Great for little kids, teenagers and loved up couples. It's big, so no-one treads on anyone's toes. My son loves fishing off the pier and riding up high in the mountains, above the MC Golf Club where you can see the Rock of Gibraltar from your saddle. Nothing is too much trouble for the super-vigilant staff who have seen it all before. They are calm, super-friendly and beat the opposition on all fronts. Worth every penny. Bottom Line? It's nice to know that you are being looked after. Which is why, I will always have a place in my heart for the Marbella Club. A dear old friend.

Room Tip: Buy the best you can afford and you never know, you might get upgraded. We did. OMG, We are sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Skoolrunmum,

We really appreciate your kind words about the Marbella Club.

We are thrilled to hear that you have discovered our Golf Course an Equestrian Center a fabulous place with magnificent views over the Mediterranean Sea and the Rock of Gibraltar.

We hope to welcome you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, CI
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We are just back from a 5 night stay in March. We had 2 days of rain but the rest of our stay was super hot in the day. Great quick trip for some winter sun. From the minute we arrived, the service was exceptional. The staff are all clearly very experienced and so helpful but most importantly friendly ! We splashed out and stayed in the julietta villa with a pool. We were so impressed with the room's facilities. The technology, wifi access and tv options are the best we have ever seen. They have put a lot of effort into the detail and its the extra's people staying in a hotel actually want!

Breakfast was great. The quality of produce is of a very high standard.

We tried the buffet option at the beach cafe and it was delicious. It is a bit pricey though if you are like my boyfriend and only after a plate of paella - it's EE70 a head!

This hotel is totally dedicated in making sure you have the best holiday possible.

Thank you to everyone who looked after us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Skabenga,

Thank you for your kind comment.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The Marbella Club and that our services have covered all your needs and succeed your expectations.

We are glad you have commented on our technology as the hotel even has an IPad in each bedroom for the usage of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,



Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in February 14, 2013 and celebrated our 25 years anniversary of marriage (and Valentines day)

This hotel is a truly 5 star hotel, however a good advise ask for the special WiFi channel.

Beautiful room and full sea/pool view - It is expensive but it's worth every penny and the breakfast was perfect...

However, the restaurant is like others in the area - BAD overpriced and lack of quality...I have made a separate review of the Grill, but this bad experience did not spoil the amazing experience of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with sea view and ask for the access code to the Club WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarbellaClubHotel, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're delighted that you chose to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary with us and we're really pleased that the experience was an excellent one. We hope to see you here again for your next anniversary.

We are very surprised to hear your feedback of The Grill, it is considered to be one of the best restaurants in the area and we take a lot of pride in the service and the quality of the food. We can only apologize for the experience that you had and invite you back to try it again, as normally it is difficult to fault a night in The Grill.

Best wishes,

Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

While the rooms are very nice, the facilities are absolutely tedious: There is no restaurant on the beach, so if you want to eat something you have to go to the restaurant by the pool where the only option is a huge buffet at 70 Euro. Forget having a nice salad or some fresh fish. This is an enormous buffet, and you are forced to eat from it and pay 70 Euro whether you like it or not. The spa is appalling. I collapsed during my treatment because of dehydration caused by one of their mud wraps, and I still had to pay for the treatment. I was supposed to have a massage after, but nobody told me there was a one hour wait between treatments. They just showed me to a waiting area. I could have had some more buffet in that time for God's sake!! Room service took ages to arrive and my gold ring was stolen from my room. On one occasion the people from reception suddenly showed up because they did not think that me and my friend, (two women), could afford to pay the hotel fee, so I had to give them my credit card there and then. The rooms are exclusive, but coupled with everything else it makes for a pretty ridiculous hotel that lives on the memory of it's former glory.

Room Tip: By the beach with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina S, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at the hotel, we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

Although we take on board your comments regarding the buffet, there are a number of options for those people looking to have a light meal; such as the MC Café which offers a wide range of salads and fresh, healthy options, our pool bar and during the summer our beach bar, MC Beach, serves fish on the open grill and much more.

It is hotel policy to take credit card details from guests, our apologies if this was not made clear to you.

We would like to conduct an internal investigation with regards to the issue in the spa and your missing ring. Please contact Maria Fernandez our Director of Guest Relations at your earliest convenience so she can assist you with this matter, as I am afraid we need your full name and dates of your stay to resolve these serious allegations.

We look forward to hearing from you,

Julian Cabanillas
Director of Sales & Marketing
0034 952 822 2211
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drummondville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were here for a week Feb 5th-12th. We stayed in a garden suite with wrap around porch.
What an amazing hotel!!!
I am a travel agent who mostly travel to the caribbean every year and never understood why people complain about 5* hotels not being "true" 5*....
Now I know what a true 5* is!
We got there and before introducing ourselves they knew who we were!!!
And it was like this for the whole week!
I had offered this vacation to my boyfriend as a Christmas present, as part of an all week golf get away.
We played golf everyday at their private golf club, a truly challenging golf course with 5* service (again!!!)
I have NOTHING to complain about
Everything was perfect, and we will be back
Weather at this time of year was perfect to play golf (15C-18C, wall to wall sunshine)
Staff was so nice, it was unreal
Service was like nothing I have ever seen
It is not cheap, but it is soooooo worth it!
If you want to indulge, spoil yourself rotten..... do not hesitate!!
you'll love it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgina S, Public Relations Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review, it’s wonderful to hear that we exceeded your expectations when you have travelled so extensively with your job.

I am delighted that you enjoyed the golf and you’ll be pleased to know for your next visit that we’ve just added complimentary green fees for all our guests, so golf will be even more satisfying.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Best wishes,

Georgina Shaw
PR & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Love this hotel and its vast range of restaurants and timeless classic feel to it on the golden mile of marbella, the piano bar is lovely and the MC cafe is great and the sunday brunch is absolutely amazing with a fantastic choice of foods , beautiful hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria F, Manager at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear WelltravelledDorset,

We really appreciate your lovely comment and are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed dining in all of our restaurants.

On your next visit, you may want to enjoy one of our magnificent treatments in our renovated Spa.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,


Maria Fernandez de la Vega
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.