We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, great helpful stuff, incredibly clean - the cleaning ladies practically lived with us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marbella Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marbella Club Hotel to your Saves list
Marbella Club Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prague
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, great helpful stuff, incredibly clean - the cleaning ladies practically lived with us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We just got back from a very nic holiday in Marbella Club Hotel. We had rented one of the private villas with heated pool and it was a blast. My family (6 adults 2 kids) is very hard to please and I am long term trip planner for all the family, so I am always a little nervous when we try a new place.

We had several special requests that we e-mailed before our arrival and everything was answered quickly and done with perfection. Thank you very much!! It was the same when we came. Everything was ready. We stayed in other 5 stars hotels before and it was also nice, but I had a feeling here that nothing was a problem and everything I needed was done and done in time. As it should be. The staf was very heplful and everytime I needed something special I did not feel I bother them at all. My daughter was sick during our stay and we needed to use vacume cleaner to suck cold from her nose with a little machine which you connect to vacume cleaner and when I was asking for a vacume cleaner I was worried how the staf will react, but they answered like it was the most common thing to ask :) Very nice of them. So anyting you need here, you can get (sure you also pay a lot... :) but it is not always like this - sometime you pay and the service is poor, but not here! Liked it a lot.

Food was great - we had to eat in the hotel a lot, because my younger daughter is very little and can not stay up late, so we used room service and tried different restaurants in the hotel. They are expensive, but the food is very very good.

The cleaning of this hotel is almost too much - cleaning service is everywhere working all the time. It is impressive, but to tell the truth - the cleaning ladies were a little slow - or they were simply too hardworking, since they spend 3-4 hours cleaning our villa every day. Villa was very very clean, but we were trying to enjoy some privacy :) But we found our way of mananing things and told them when to come.

If I needed to point out to some little imperfection about the hotel - Villas are located quite far from the sea. There is no golf in the resort, although it says it is a golf hotel. You have to drive to another place. Tennis is also not in the hotel, but in sister property Puerto and you have to pay for it :(

We had little problem with noise - our villa number one was very close to a huge airconditioning station which went on and off every 30 seconds day and night and it was very very loud. It started with a big bang every 30 seconds... hard to fall asleep. we reported the problem. But I do not think there is much they can do about it. There was also a noise in the morning when some people were cleaning streets with electric devices of another hotel behind our wall. It was quite unpleasant, because you want to lay down by your private pool and reed and not to hear street cleaning from leaves.

Also (not a fault of the hotel) the sea at this location was surprisingly cold - so do not expect warm water for kids in the sea here. It is more for short refreshment in hot days.

But overall it was a great holiday and thanks to guest relation service, great breakfast staf, great pool restaurant. Loved it there!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your review of the Marbella Club, we take very good note of the noise near the Villa and we are already fixed it.

Your feedback is very appreciated and it helps us to improve those areas that can be improved, so thanks again for taking the time and we hope to welcome you and your family very soon.

With best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    69
    27
    15
    14
See reviews for
107
169
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I took our 4 year old son for a week and had an amazing holiday. We have been before but not with our son and we had forgotten how wonderful this hotel is. The setting is superb with a luxury feel yet allowing for a relaxed holiday. Our son went to the kids club for a couple of mornings and really enjoyed it, they put on different acitivities everyday for them and even swapped arrangements round to suit you if you requested something different. We find it hard to get a hotel that caters for both our desire to be in luxury surrounds with a real touch of class, and allows our son to actually have fun. The beach is wonderful and the pools are superb.

We had an excutive room close to the top pool which was beautiful. The breakfast were truly wonderful and there is more than enough choice for all tastes. The outside bar and restaurant in the evening is candlelit and like something out of a film set and you are surrounded by history. The service is also excellent and nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel is brilliantly placed for both Marbella and Puerto Banus so you can eat out here which is nice to add some variety to the holiday.

We can't recommend it enough and will definately be returning next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review, we are very glad to hear about your stay at the Marbella Club and that you and your family enhjoyed so much, especially your 4 years old son at the Lions Club.

We hope to welcome you again very soon, with best regards.

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed in August with family. Beautiful setting but never felt totally welcome or that I was getting value for the top dollar we paid. Staff feigned caring and trying to help, but they never were able to offer concrete solutions. Gym was far away and impossible to find--I never did find it. Wait staff just going through motions. We lost power at midnight. Cleaning staff in their haste to complete turn down service swept up with the dirty laundry a special pillow my 12 year old had brough from home (luckily it was recovered the next day). Our package included a spa service for everyone--staff was downright nasty to our 16 year old son and made us feel like outsiders. No water available anywhere unless your were willing to pay 7 euros. I assume hotel will respond to this post with a typical nice and stock response and possibly cast me as hard to please. I have traveled extensively and stayed at very nice properties--never have I paid so much and felt so uncomfortable and not cared for. You may stay for the beauty and possible the cache--you won't stay for the service, caring or value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Please allow me to address directly your comment pointing out that the Hotel will respond to your review with a typical nice and stock response and possibly cast you as hard to please.

We take very seriously your comments and all the guests comments due they help us to understand what we are doing wrong and what we are doing right,so please allow me to take very good note to all your comments and bring them to the attention of the next Executive Board in order to resolve them if apply, such as providing complimentary water in all the rooms daily, not only at arrival and ensuring that all guests are charmed by our Team,

Also with all due respect, we would not cast anyone, we are just Hoteliers that do our best in order to make your stay memorable, that is what we work for and in many cases, specially at the Marbella Club, it is also our passion.

With best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We booked the Marbella club with the anticipation that it was the best beach fronted hotel in the south costal Spain region with an enviable history and reputation and this was to be our family two week summer holiday. We booked one of the private villas which at 3000 Euros per day is expensive but having stayed at villa type hotels around the world this seemed to be the best we could find. We had booked for two weeks in august.
One arrival after a totally unsatisfactory taxi journey, organised by the hotel and at 165 euro we felt ripped off because of the intended exclusive destination. We were deposited at the reception entrance where no one greeted us. The check in was unfriendly, uninformative and totally unwelcoming for a hotel of such supposed stature.
The villa was well presented but the view from the garden was of a huge wall, at 3000 per day I would have expected a sea view, or at least any view!!
The internet failed for three days. The service was highly overpriced and the waiter service was sullen and uninspiring.
The advertised gym and tennis courts were in a sister hotel some 500mtrs plus away
After one day of the pool use our youngest daughters blond hair had gone green due to the high chlorine/mineral content in the water and the inadequate pool filtration system, The hotel ‘guest relations’ tried to help but were totally useless. We eventually went to a local hairdresser and purchased an appropriate neutralising shampoo.
We had a buffet meal on the first day, which was very good but the bill was 300 Euros, excessive for what it was.
After four days of this we decided that this was a hotel living on its past reputation and not focused on being in the 21st century, but charging 21st century prices and more. We have stayed in hotel all over the world and I have had better quality service in a Holiday Inn.
I would not recommend the Marbella club to anyone for anything other than a short weekend break for the experience and even then you may need a loan for lunch!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all apologies for the unpleasant situation with your daughter hair, we are constantly checking the levels of Chlorine in the garden pool to make sure they are reduced to a minimum and this event does not happen anymore.

We also take good note on your concern about the Villas view, and we understand that you would expect a sea view, but at Marbella Club most of the rooms are located on the gardens, including the Villas. Just 11 rooms and 3 suites are located right by the sea.

All in all, we understand that your experience was not pleasant at all, and we will review all your point of dissatisfaction in order to improve the Marbella Club experience and make it better.

With best regards

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel is very nice and perfect for a minibreak.
The staff (mostly) are friendly and willing to assist despite the language barrier. (I speak English).
However the needs to be a review of the security especially in the Villas, which is where I stayed, because they are a bit isolated from the rest of the hotel.
A few quid was nicked of my wallet we were unable to unravel this mystery to date.
This was reported to the hotel management and I hope it will serve as motivation to have them improve on the security.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review, It is quite new to us, even if the Hotel has more than 50 years of History, to be consider a Rural Hotel being located right by the Mediterranean Sea between Marbella Town and Puerto Banus.

We take good note of your comments about the Security and we will review if we have had any issues of this kind during the month of your stay, and we'll make sure we will contact you with a solution.

With best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Firstly the good points - the staff at this hotel are great and can't do enough for you; the onsite restaurants are very nice, however unfortunately the room service menu lacks anything exciting or regional - we didn't go to Spain to eat burgers, hotdogs and pizza! The pools are nice, and again the plentiful staff make it very easy by always supplying towels and drinks as required. The negatives; usually in similar resorts the "high priced" (i.e. €3,000+ per night) villas have one of the best locations in the resort, a nice view and exceptional facilities - here while internally they are fine, the location, backing onto a rear lane and over looking garages without any view is very disappointing - you could probably find a lot better value (the rooms are a lot cheaper and a better location so this point is mainly about the villas). Secondly while billed as family friendly, it wasn't very "friendly" when we were there, mainly due to some (majority) of the other guests clearly disliking the fact that children exist on the same planet as them. Even quiet well-behaved children were getting dirty looks and in one case another guest stormed away from the KIDS pool because the children were laughing and playing (relatively quietly, no splashing etc.). Lot's of gaudy gold jewelry, too small bikinis on too old people and lot's of looking down the nose (even though I think we had the most expensive villa in the resort!). The location is good for the region, but having been to the some of the best beaches in Australia, the Pacific islands and the caribbean this beach doesn't even rate. Also another small negative, but annoying none the less, is you can't use the free wifi with an iPhone or iPad as it requires a special login that doesn't function on these devices. Overall it was a nice holiday but we wouldn't return as for spending that much money we've had much better holidays elsewhere and without so many grumpy egomaniacal guests.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your review of the Marbella Club and understand your opinion regarding the location of the Villas.

Please note that we feature 2, 3 and 5 bedrooms Villas, being the 3 and 5 bedrooms Villas located in a much quieter area of the Hotel and the 2 bedrooms Villas right on the heart of it.

Some of our guests love the quiet location and privacy of the 3 and 5 bedrooms Villas and others love the location of the 2 bedrooms, that depends on their preference, which we try to understand when booking the Hotel, but again, we totally understand your opinion.

Regarding the KIDS, they are very welcomed at the Marbella Club and they really enjoy the Hotel and the Lions Club (Kids Club), and we agree, they behave super well when staying at the Marbella Club...about your perception of other guests not enjoying the kids I guess that can happen almost everywhere and I hope you understand it is difficult to deal with.

We also take good note of the issue regarding the WIFI for iphones and ipads and we are taking inmediate action to solve it.

We thank you sincerely for your time in writing this review and hope to welcome you again to the Marbella Club.

With best regards,

Carlos Quereda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

After having a city break in Madrid, we were excited to spend some quality time by the sea in Marbella where we could relax and sunbathe. However, the weather did not agree with us and it rained constantly for 3 days. As much as the weather leaving much to be desired for, the hotel itself is beauitful. Full of palm trees and wild flowers, it is magnificent. The breakfast is good, not amazing but not too bad, Spanish ones are never that good! The 2 lunches available were not great though because there is either the small little pool bar next to the small 2nd pool or the main restaurant but unfortunately it was 75 euros per peson!! Because of the bad weather, the hotel were extremely kind and allowed us to leave early without any charge. I think the hotel is beautiful in sunshine, but disastrous in rain because everything is outside and you stay in villas. Overall, if the weather had been good, then I believe the whole experience would be and I would stay there again if I return to Marbella.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAGP, Director of Sales at Marbella Club Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time and review of the Hotel, we appreciate you enjoyed the grounds and your comments about the rain are very accurate, the Hotel does not shine in its maximum when it rains, but fortunately it happens only 40 days per year, anyhow we are sorry that it happened during your stay.

On your next visit I suggest you as an alternative for the Beach Club lunch of the Pool bar, the MC Cafe, which is a very nice brasserie open for lunch and dinner where you will find both guests and locals in a very nice atmosphere.

We hope to welcome you very soon and hopefully in a sunny lovely weather,

With best regards

Carlos Quereda
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marbella Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marbella Club Hotel

Address: Bulevar Principe Alfonso von Hohenlohe S/N, 29600 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Marbella
#1 Business Hotel in Marbella
#1 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#10 Family Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marbella Club Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Southern Spanish Costa del Sol, on the heart of the 'Golden Mile' only 5 minutes to Old Town Marbella and Puerto Banus, the Marbella Club Hotel • Golf Resort & Spa enjoys 325 days of sunshine. Open year round, the renowned Marbella Club Hotel, one of the "The Leading Hotels of the World" was once the private residence of Prince Alfonso von Hohenlohe and features 37 luxury bedrooms, 78 suites, 14 Andalusian-Style villas and the majestic Villa del Mar, throughout 42.000 Square metres (452.083 Sq. Ft.) Of lush subtropical garden.In addition to its stunning accommodations and grounds, the Marbella Club also offers guests a wide variety of amenities and activities including two outdoor heated swimming pools, seasonal water sports, fitness centre, 10 tennis and 4 paddle courts at sister hotel, Puente Romano (only a 5-10 minute beach walk away), Kid's Club by minimec, shopping gallery, equestrian centre, Dave-Thomas designed 18-hole golf course within the hills of Benahavis, Thalasso Spa, an 800 square metre (8.611 Sq. Ft.) State-of-the-art facility with dynamic indoor sea water pool, steam baths and saunas, a solarium and 12 treatment rooms and more. The hotel also features six bars and restaurants including the famous Beach Club Buffet, legendary Grill Restaurant and avant garde MC Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Marbella Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marbella Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.