We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Monteros

Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Monteros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Los Monteros
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera de Cadiz, Km. 187, 29603 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Brighton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's all about service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Having stayed at Marbella Club hotel and also the Don Carlos and the Gran Guadalpin over the last 10 years I would rate Los Monteros as a good hotel. The staff make all the difference. They were extremely attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. Having to pay to be able to make tea and coffee in the room is a little bit naughty but that's austerity measures for you during a period of recession. We had a family room which was plenty big enough for my wife and I plus our two children. We had a terrace and a garden area too. The bathroom was very good, with Porcelanosa fittings which included a shower big enough for 4 a jacuzzi bath, twin glass sinks etc with under floor heating too. The breakfast buffet was tremendous with a staggering choice including champagne. We had dinner in the main restaurant one evening and again, the food and service was excellent. Our food was a little bland but hat was down to our choice of fish I believe.
The pool - now the pool was an interesting problem because I could swear that it was colder than the sea and friends have also commented on this also. All in all I would say that the location is good, the hotel is good, the food is good and the staff are excellent. Value for money? well lets face it - if you stay 5 star you pay 5 star.

Room Tip: The family rooms are actually under the gardens which may sound odd until you see them. They all hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL.

It makes us happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay, specially the room, our gardens, our spectacular breakfast and our staff. Thank you for your acknowledgement of our staff. We will pass on the congratulations.

That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

In your next visit we would like to recommend you our Beach Club La Cabane, a great experience worth trying.

It will be a pleasure to have you among us again in our hotel, so please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for future bookings or check our website for your next visit, we will offer you the best rate available.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    111
    56
    18
    13
See reviews for
67
191
6
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Lovely surroundings and spacious rooms. A nice break from the over-developed, over-hyped, TOWIE dream destination that is Marbella. Friendly, helpful staff and a glorious breakfast spread. Gorgeous gardens and pretty pool. Perfectly located to explore all corners of Andalucia while in close proximity to the sea. Only downfall are the extravagantly priced restaurants as well as the arrogance of charging guests to use their beach club. The reception manager was excellent. Worth the stay but look elsewhere to satisfy your hunger.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all we would like to thank you for taking time to share with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL.

It makes us very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay, specially the room, our gardens , breakfast and our staff. Thank you for your aknowledgement of our staff, we will pass on the congratulations.

We take good note about your comments and we will keep them in mind for future plans.

It will be a pleasure to have you among us in our hotel again, so please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for your next booking; hopefully we will welcome you many times more!

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al - Farkh.
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Good clean hotel suitable for all. Only 10-15 minutes drive to either Old Marbella town or Puerto Banus. Staff friendly. Beach a 5 minute drive or 10 minute walk. Food was not that great but expensive.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & SPA 5* GL.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. Thank you for your aknowledgement of our staff, we will pass on the congratulations.

Comments like yours it’s what gives us more strength and faith in what we are doing because our goal is always to give the best service to our guests. We are immersed in an ongoing process of improvement and it makes us happy to learn that we are on the right path.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact our booking department for your next visit, we will offer you the best rate available.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al - Farkh.
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed from 20 - 23 October. Easy to find and lovely, classic hotel. Very friendly and efficient reception staff and welcoming doorman. Beautiful grounds and lovely large swimming pool. A distant hum of traffic from the dual carriageway by the pool but not noticeable at the end of the garden. Good standard rooms in the garden. We stayed by the spa and were pleased with the room, particularly the bathroom. Nice balcony and a view to the sea.

We had the spa to ourselves when the weather was poor which was perfect. Its not that large but a luxury to have to one couple. It was brand new in July 2013.

Breakfast is fab and we had supper in the hotel restaurant one evening. The food was surprisingly good and I would definitely recommend this. Good value too compared to many Marbella restaurants of similar quality.

La Cabane remains my favourite beach club. Its beautiful.

Will be going back in before the end of the year.

Room Tip: Best rooms are arranged around the garden or overlooking the swimming pool above reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all we would like to thank you for taking time to share with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL.

It makes us very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay, specially the room, our spectacular breakfast and our modern and relaxing new SPA.

Thank you for the acknowledgment of our staff. I will pass along your praise to the hotel’s staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

Our Beach Club La Cabane certainly is a great experience worth trying.

It will be a pleasure to have you among us in our hotel again, so please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for your next booking; hopefully we will welcome you many times more!

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al - Farkh.
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had visited the Los Monteros many years ago but not actually stayed on this occasion I stayed.

We stayed in one of the renovated suites which I requested. But what did it for me was the customer service, just as important as the room and the hotel itself.

The person I liaised with was Fernando, what a gentlemen. I made a mistake and booked online for a certain date that would not be allowed to change, however a phone to him he made the changes and emailed the confirmation. he did not make it hard for me or charge he just carried out the request.

he over rode the system this is what I call good service.

The room was ok it was renovated, the bathroom looked new but there is no window, it was big but not very good lighting. The toiletries did not have the essentials, cotton pads for ladies make up, cotton buds. This is not being fussy this is the sort of things ladies like to see in a 5 star hotel. I carry my own. No tea or coffee facilities. As you will see in previous reviews I carry everything with me including my bone china tea cup cant do mugs.

Clean rooms, TV working quiet air conditioning. Outside balcony need a sweep.
General areas were clean slightly dated in decor but still acceptable. As I said in the title it is the Grand dame amongst hotel in the area.

Lovely gardens. Swimming pool area popular, breakfast was served over looking the gardens and was a very good choice including a morning chef to cook the eggs and pancakes..

Would I stay again for one night or two yes, not as my main place of stay for longer.
Would I recommend yes.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & SPA 5* GL.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. Thank you for your aknowledgement of our staff, we will pass on the congratulations.

Comments like yours it’s what gives us more strength and faith in what we are doing because our goal is always to give the best service to our guests. We are immersed in an ongoing process of improvement and it makes us happy to learn that we are on the right path.

The hotel provides guests coffee and tea service in the room upon request and with an extra charge. You can request this service at the hotel reception.

Regarding your comments about the toiletries we will keep them in mind for future plans.

It will be a pleasure to have you among us again in our hotel so please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for future bookings or check our website for your next visit, we will offer you the best rate available.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al - Farkh.
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Myself and my husband spent one night at this hotel last weekend. Reception staff and porters were extremely helpful and friendly. Perhaps our expectations were misplaced - charges were incredible for use of the beach club, rooms did not have tea, coffee or even a bottle of water.

The hotel itself and room were really comfortable and it is lovely to be able to walk to the beach. This was a "treat night" but we felt not everything was a treat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Los Monteros Hotel & Spa 5* GL for your recent visit to Marbella.

Thank you for your aknowledgement of our staff, we will pass on the congratulations.

Regarding our Beach Club La Cabane we would like to inform you that we have offers on our website that include one day free pass to the Beach Club and a day to the Spa, for your next stay we suggest checking the website or calling our booking department. Either way we have special prices for our guests that you can enjoy on both La Cabane and the Spa.

The hotel provides guests coffee and tea service in the room upon request and with an extra charge. You can request this service at the hotel reception.

It will be a pleasure to have you among us again in our hotel so please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for future bookings or check our website for your next visit, we will offer you the best rate available.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al - Farkh.
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is my third visit to Los Monteros Hotel. From our arrival until our departure the service was first class. Even although we arrived well before check in time, we were advised by reception that our room was ready and the porter who collected our luggage from the taxi, delivered this directly to our room. Service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. We booked one of the deals offered directly with the hotel. This included full board and a junior suite located in the newer part of the hotel. The suite was spotlessly clean and towels were changed twice daily, with toiletries being replaced daily. Bed was very comfortable and huge. La Cabane is a must but unfortunately on this visit the scrumptious buffet was not available. There is a 15 minute shuttle to and from La Cabane to the hotel. All staff were courteous, friendly, professional and extremely helpful. It would be very difficult to identify any one member of staff as being particularly helpful, as every member of staff was exemplary - reception, porters, waiters (bar and restaurant), etc. Although the hotel is located about 5km from Marbella, taxis are readily available at the hotel and the trip costs around 10 euros. Therefore you can have peace and quiet, lazing by the pool and enjoying the beautiful gardens and travel into Marbella if you want nightlife etc. There is plenty of choice available at breakfast and if you enjoy a glass of bubbly, this is also available. I would have liked to have seen a little more choice on the menu at lunchtime but this is a small criticism. Although we had a free voucher for a thermal circuit for the spa, we didn't have time to use this. We would definitely return to Los Monteros and recommend it to our friends

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest.

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in Los Monteros Hotel & SPA 5* GL and for your loyalty.

I will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

Concerning your comments about the restaurant we will keep them in mind for future plans as at this time our chef is renewing all our gastronomic offer.

Thank you very much for your feedback! It is through our guest´s comments and opinions that we can improve our services.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact our booking department for your next visit. We will happy to assist you.

Yours faithfully,

Fernando Al - Farkh
Corporate General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Los Monteros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Monteros

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, Km. 187, 29603 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Los Monteros 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most exclusive area of the Costa del Sol, just few minutes from Marbella and Puerto Banús, is the iconic Hotel Los Monteros, a reference in the area. Combining tradition, art and exquisite surroundings, this establishment offers a unique setting for enjoying excellent accommodation, indulging Mediterranean cuisine, practice your swing in the Golf Mile or enjoy one of the most exclusive Beach Clubs in Europe, "La Cabane". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Los Monteros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Monteros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.