We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RETURNED AFTER HOTEL RECENT CLOSURE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Monteros

Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Monteros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Los Monteros
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera de Cadiz, Km. 187, 29603 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 hotels in Marbella
carshalton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“RETURNED AFTER HOTEL RECENT CLOSURE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel has benn closed for a year or so good to see it reopend along with some of the old staff they are trying very hard to get it back to top form they are working away updating some of the rooms,we would go back again in the near future

Room Tip: We did ask for a room change as the fist room was a little dark we ended in room 710 which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your experience in Hotel Los Monteros.

We appreciate your loyalty to us. It makes us very happy to know we are on the right path towards our goal which is excellence.

Once again it will be a pleasure to welcome you again in the Hotel please do not hesitate to contact our reservation department for your next booking.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    114
    57
    19
    13
See reviews for
72
199
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I spent a week at this hotel managing and running a leadership workshop for senior business leaders from around the World. The service and support was mostly faultless, and I (and my delegates) are very demanding customers.

It is worth getting a superior double room or above. These are split level apartments with a separate living room and bedroom, double basin bathroom and balcony. TIP: Try and get one overlooking the pool area if possible.

The beach is a 15 minute walk (slowly that is - well it is 28 degrees) through a quiet road and some luxury villas. I have been coming to this area in Spain for the last 30 years and used own a villa on the other side of Malaga. The Spanish built their costal motorway a little too close to the coast, so hotels like are right next to the main road, but once inside all is fine. Makes it very convenient for getting around. BTW The beach is clean and quiet.

Do not miss the quite spectacular breakfast - probably the best I have had anywhere, including the best hotels in the world. Champagne on ice, great coffee, delicious fruit, and pastries that should carry a health warning!

If you are on business, the conference functions and facilities are excellent too with super fresh juice drinks and snacks.

Service in the bar's and restaurants is formal and spot-on, as are the pool attendants etc.

Not the cheapest or best value hotel on the coast, but otherwise difficult to find anything to moan about. Remember, it is 5 stars.

Room Tip: Double superior or junior suite overlooking pool, but really just enjoy the sun and food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time spent writing your experience in Hotel Los Monteros.

Comments like yours it’s what gives us more strength and faith in what we are doing because our goal is always to give the best service to our guests. We are immersed in an ongoing process of improvement and it makes us happy to learn that we are on the right path.

Please do not hesitate to contact our booking department for your next visit which hopefully will be for pleasure! And if you ever need to book a conference again please contact our groups department, we’ll be happy to assist you.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel,swimming pool and gardens, only a few negatives miles from main Marbella strip,could do with free tea making facilities in rooms not the €10 euros a day charge and having to wait till 4pm before you can get in your room.

Besides these negatives I would definitely return to the hotel 100%

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in Hotel Los Monteros. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
We appreciate your comments and suggestions as it is the best way to help us in the ongoing process of improvement in which we are immersed.

On our website you can find all the information regarding our services which include the option of an Early Check (upon availability) for an extra fee in case you plan to arrive to the Hotel before 4 pm, which is our Check in time. We also have 24 hr Room Service available for our guests,

We are in a privileged location just a 10 minute drive to the Old Town in Marbella and 45 minutes away from the airport. There is a taxi stop at the entrance of the Hotel and a bus stop in front of it as well, which also makes it easier to move around the area. At the front desk there is the possibility of renting a car and the concierge is always happy to help our guests with this and any other requests.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in Hotel Los Monteros, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for future bookings.

Yours sincerely,

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I thought this hotel was beautiful with a lot of character. The grounds and pool area are very nice with lots of flowers. I liked our room layout with the upstairs downstairs. (rm 122) A beautiful neighborhood walk down to the La Cabana on the beach for a delicious lunch poolside.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay in Hotel Los Monteros.

It makes us very happy we were up to your expectations and that you had such a great time among us.

Our common areas are very well known for their beauty thanks to our gardeners who work very hard every day and have been doing so for over 50 years. It certainly adds a special charm to our hotel.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department to assist you for future bookings.

Yours sincerely.

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is very dated, and extremely tired, it does not warrant it's 5 star Grand Lux rating.
We did not like the room allocated, so I requested one of the rooms shown in a large picture by reception, the caption suggested why not upgrade, we decided to take up the offer,and asked how much, and was told 90 euros per night but none were available.
We then requested a change of room, sadly they were all the same, tired and very dated.
The food apart from breakfast , poor, we booked full board, would not recommend it, choice is limited, if you didn't want what was on the set menu or buffet,too bad,they made no allowance for choosing from the very expensive A la Carte menu,so in fact you pay twice. It's a case of take to or leave it.
What's good, very little apart from the Beach Club, it warrants 5star lux rating,the grounds and pool area,plenty of space, sun beds possibly the most comfortable we have experienced, the staff really try hard to please.Finally, the hotel is isolated, you need a car.
Sadly we will not be recommending or going back to the Los Monteros.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me start by thanking you for providing us with your feedback regarding your experience in Hotel Los Monteros. It is with great pride that I’m glad to inform you that I personally read every single comment our guests give us in order to achive the level of excellence that Hotel Los Monteros is known for. We work very hard towards this goal every day and comments like yours help us improve and grow.

It’s such a shame that you did not find our Hotel up to your expectations but I’m sure that if you give us another chance we will make it up and hopefully you will appreciate all the efforts and results that our staff and managent are making.

Please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for future bookings.

Yours sincerely.

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Have just returned from 7 nights at the Los Monteros and must say that it was ideal for what we wanted. The hotel is very quiet with nice common areas - the decor is not cutting edge contemporary minimalism but is certainly not dated and tired. the hotel as with most hotels is refreshing on a rolling basis and even in the older areas everything is clean and well maintained. our room on 2 levels was great with first class air conditioning to both the sitting area and the bedroom. The bathroom was also very good clean with a bath and efficient shower over.

The sun beds and swimming pool is first rate with a separate pool for kids - that said when we stayed there the clientele was mainly couples over 35 and very few families. There where also a few small groups of ladies - 2 or 3 on a few days away - all very quiet by the pool with regular bar service.

The breakfast was first rate with a good selection of both freshly cooked and cold meats/cheeses/fruit etc. The freshly squeezed juices are what they say prepared in the hotel and great

€10 taxi ride to Marbella centro - old town - much better than the other hotels further out at Elviria

All in all we will return having had a great rest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience in Hotel Los Monteros. Our guests’feedback is one of the best ways to improve our service.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay,we appreciate your very adequate description of our Hotel “the decor is not cutting edge contemporary minimalism but is certainly not dated and tired”. We are glad you like it!

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department to assist you with your future bookings.

Yours sincerely

Fernando Al-Farkh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Having just spent 5 nights at Los Monteros I can say this was a nice hotel.
We stayed in a junior suite which was large and clean .
When making the reservation we did request a quiet room however due to work being carried out
At their new spa we were woken on two mornings at 8.30am by hammering, I spoke with reception who said they would sort it out however the noise continued until I personally went to find where the noise was coming from, I then returned to reception and had to be quite insistent that they sort the problem out and yes it was dealt with. In a hotel of this caliber this should not be the case, whilst I understand work has to be carried out it should not be at the detriment of your guests.
On other matters the concierge were very helpful with all our enquiries.
The gentleman who sorts the garden loungers was great and really efficient.
Breakfast was fab and the staff always helpful.
The bar manager in the terrace who worked evenings was very knowledgeable and always had a smile.
To sum up we did enjoy our stay and yes we would return
Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments.

It is a pleasure for me and the staff of Hotel Los Monteros that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Our principal objective is that our guests feel themselves as if they are home away from home and that you could keep the best souvenir from your stay with us.

Once more, we would like to communicate our happiness for your experience with us and we hope to welcome you soon,

Yours sincerely,


Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Monteros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Monteros

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, Km. 187, 29603 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Los Monteros 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most exclusive area of the Costa del Sol, just few minutes from Marbella and Puerto Banús, is the iconic Hotel Los Monteros, a reference in the area. Combining tradition, art and exquisite surroundings, this establishment offers a unique setting for enjoying excellent accommodation, indulging Mediterranean cuisine, practice your swing in the Golf Mile or enjoy one of the most exclusive Beach Clubs in Europe, "La Cabane". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Los Monteros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Monteros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.