We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March 17” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Monteros

Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Monteros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Los Monteros
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Carretera de Cadiz, Km. 187, 29603 Marbella, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Merseyside
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“March 17”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just spent 5nights in hotel . Have no complaints. Excellent breakfast . Evening meal vey good standard. Hotel outside centre of Marbella but good bus route for 1.18 euros each way .junior suite room number 608 very spacious with plenty of storage ,clean towels twice a day with dressing gown and slippers provided. Grounds lovely . Plenty of quiet places to relax inside and outside in grounds. Staff very attentive. We arrived early but as room ready we were allowed to check in early which was really appreciated. Good market place to visit in Center on Monday and la Canada shopping Center very good.beach front in Marbella nice to walk along with plenty of nice eating places. Peurto banus worth a visit .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

I truly appreciate your positive comments. I am very pleased to hear that you had such a great experience with us during your stay.

I hope that during your next stay you will be able to enjoy not only the hotel but also the weather, the sun is shining today at La Cabane, our Beach Club which is now open to the Public for the Spring Season.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manaher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    108
    56
    18
    13
See reviews for
67
188
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kapellen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Having had to stop our golf day, due to heavy rainfall, we arrived at the hotel at about 2PM., wet and a bit disapointed. We were told by a haughty reception employee that it was too early to get our room and that we had to come back after 4PM. No alternative was offered, so we went on to discover the neighbourhood, I must admit not in too good a mood. But when we came back (after 4PM) we were warmly welcomed, by another and more friendly person, and when we were shown our room, our disappointment vanished. The room, a junior suite, was just marvellous. A nice sunny terrace wirth sunbeds did the trick. Diner in the evening was sub standard and the champagne breakfast next morning was gorgeous.

Room Tip: The junior suites in the number 400 and 500 have a sunny terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write your opinions and feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed a pleasant week with us and that you were satisfied with our rooms, restaurant service and staff. We will pass along your praise to the entire hotel staff. Surely, feedback like yours motivates us to continue working hard so that our guest´s experience continues being pleasant and enjoyable.

Kindest Regards

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've been visiting the Monteros for many years and are pleased that it's returned to the high standards we've always relied on. The staff are friendly and we are often greeted by name.
The breakfast buffet is generous and there's always champagne as well as fresh fruit, freshly cooked eggs and a variety of cereals, cheeses and baked goods. The location is a short drive from Marbella and Porto Banus and about an hour from Malaga.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest:

I appreciate your comments. I will pass along your praise to the hotel’s entire staff.
That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it’s the reason why we work so hard every day.

We hope to see you again soon at one of our hotels.

Kindest regards.

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Situated in a good location just east of Marbella – a short drive to golf courses and restaurants. Very quiet despite it’s proximity to the main road. We found all the staff most welcoming and out junior suite was of a good size and well appointed. The champagne buffet breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Take a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

It was such a pleasure reading your comments. Without a doubt, feedback like yours encourages us to continue working hard so that our guests’ experiences at our hotel is enjoyable ones.
We would love to see you again soon at our establishment.

Kindest regards.

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The hotel is nice and the rooms are spacious, but it looks tired.
It must have had its glorious days decades ago.
The bedroom was excellent! We booked a suite deluxe and it looked brand new.
The beach club La Cabane was a disappointment. Only after we got there we were told that we should have reserved the day beds on beforehand.
Breakfast was the best!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest:

I sincerely appreciate your opinion about our hotel as we have a close reference to help us improve and more accurately meet the expectations of our guests.

Thank you very much to stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back again soon to Los Monteros Hotel.

Fernando Al-Farkh
Corporate General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I booked a surprise stay for my wife's brithday and we had a fantastic time. We were upgraded on arrival to a refurbished Junior Suite, 401. It was a modern, spacious room with an outside terrace / sitting area. The hotel was quiet, but that was to be expected for the time of year. The staff were excellent, looking after our every request - a special mention to Antonio. The food in the hotel is expensive and it is something that they do need to look at going forward as the hotel is a little isolated - we had a hire car so this did mean we could visit Marbella and the surrounding areas easily, otherwise a taxi would be needed.
We had no problems with wifi, the sea is about a 5-10 minute walk away.
All in all a very enjoyable experience and we will return again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent stay and review.
We are thrilled to hear that you had such a nice time during your stay in our hotel, and our team was able to contribute to the overall enjoyment.
Thank you very much once again for your kind feedback, and we look forward to having you with us again in a near future.

Fernando Al-Farkh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Something very strange about the rating of this hotel. Perhaps in a former life (the 60's ?) it was a 5* GL (Grand Luxury) - but it was more probably a matter of 'who you know'. Went out of business a few years back and didn't pay staff so walls were covered with graffiti. The old 5* GL sign is up again but it isn't close to that. Located right on the motorway in kind of a middle of nowhere part of Golden Beach. If you've awarded it 5 Stars you need to get out more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Monteros M, Director General at Hotel Los Monteros, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Customer.

First of all I want to thank you for choosing the Hotel Los Monteros in Marbella for your stay and you have taken the time to write your personal opinion about our hotel. Your feedback helps us to improve day by day.
By your comments I presume that you have stayed in one of the few rooms that the hotel has standard, which will be completely renovated over the coming months. Let me suggest that for your next stay choose one of our junior suite or deluxe suite, which are newly renovated and they are the most numerous in the hotel, so you can definitely have a completely different opinion and experience according to your expectations of 5 * GL.
Let me explain to you that the comments you made ​​regarding the former owners of the hotel and that happened several years ago, it has no relation to the currentmanagement and ownership nor with the actual situation of the hotel and its workers now.
With reference to the location of the hotel is 5 * GL nearest city center of Marbella only 4 minutes by car, also has a private beach club just a few meters from the hotel in one of the best beaches of Marbella, both in a residential area which some of the most luxurious and relevant villas.
Finally, let me remind you that the Hotel Los Monteros meets all requirements and services that the law provides to display the category of 5 * GL, requirements that are not based on personal taste and preferences, it is based on the facilities and services that the hotel offers its guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Los Monteros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Monteros

Address: Carretera de Cadiz, Km. 187, 29603 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 77 hotels in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Los Monteros 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most exclusive area of the Costa del Sol, just few minutes from Marbella and Puerto Banús, is the iconic Hotel Los Monteros, a reference in the area. Combining tradition, art and exquisite surroundings, this establishment offers a unique setting for enjoying excellent accommodation, indulging Mediterranean cuisine, practice your swing in the Golf Mile or enjoy one of the most exclusive Beach Clubs in Europe, "La Cabane". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Los Monteros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Monteros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.