We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fuerte Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Fuerte Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Fuerte Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Severo Ochoa, 8, 29601 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
Reading
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a 3 night break in May and we chose the hotel for the location which was perfect close to the old town and backing on to the promenade where you can find plenty of bars and restaurants. There is a small supermarket and shops nearby for any provisions and an ATM at the front of the hotel. We arrived early and the helpful reception staff were able to arrange an early check in for our side seaview rooms. The room had a large balcony terrace ideal for an evening drink and there was a good sized wardrobe and a spacious bathroom with the best shower ever! The beds were also very comfortable with great pillows. There was a vast selection for breakfast and the service we received at breakfast and at the pool bar was efficient and friendly. The pool area was very small for the size of the hotel and we used the loungers on their beach area free of charge as it was out of season which was great but this may be an issue in busy periods. Would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIRAMARSPA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Miramar, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay in Fuerte Miramar during the last May and for your time writing this review.
It has been a pleasure to know that you spent wonderful days with us.
We all are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards, Inmaculada Amores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    202
    60
    18
    11
See reviews for
108
236
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times before but hadn't been here in 4 years. I like to try new places but this time around I just wanted a sun break for a few days and it was nice to come back to somewhere I knew and trusted. It's s still a great all-round hotel in a central and convenient location. I went running most mornings along the seafront which was lovely, and we popped back and forth to the old town for shopping, coffees and lovely dinners. The buffet breakfast is still great and the rooms were clean, spacious and well taken care of - no complaints there. We received some complimentary drinks in our room which was a nice touch for a returning guest.

The one thing that stops me from giving the hotel 5 stars is its pool/beach set up and dining options. Please sort this out! There are about 250 bedrooms (if the hotel is full, that means about 400-500 people milling about) yet the pool area is quite small. There's not much the management can do about that, but they could do a better job of managing what they do have. There are only about 70-80 sunloungers at the small pool (only about 40 on the days when the hotel holds a wedding outside) and, although there are signs everywhere saying "do not reserve", people blatantly ignore these and leave their loungers for 3 hours at a time, while other hotel guests look around in frustration for a lounger. In my opinion the hotel should either enforce a stricter "no reservations" policy with the limited number of loungers at the pool, make it clear to guests that they can use the pool facilities of the sister hotel, El Fuerte, 5 minutes away, or ensure that guests who cannot find a sun lounger at the pool are not forced to pay for a sun lounger on the beach (€7 for the public and €4.50 for guests). One afternoon we arrived on the beach at about 4pm and had to pay €9 between us for the privilege of lying on a sun lounger for 3 hours (the sand was too hot to lie on). If I've already paid €160 for a hotel room I really don't see why I should have to pay to lie on the beach, especially as there aren't enough loungers at the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIRAMARSPA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Miramar, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for trusting again in Fuerte Miramar after four years and for your comments about our location, buffet breakfast, the cleanliness of the room etc.. we really appreciate it.
Regarding your comment about the sunbeds, we have not the whole space that we would wish in the pool, that is why we do not allow to reserve them and we inform with a sign that says that we will remove the belongings , so sorry if in that punctual moment we did not act properly, I have already informed to the lifeguard. About the beach we charge for the sunbeds only in the high season ( from June till September), but with a very special price of only 4.50 €/each in order to guarantee a better service for experiences of previous years in which they were free and we had many problems.
The facilities we share with our sister hotel are the sport center and the indoor pool during the winter months.
So we are very sorry for all the inconveniences caused with this and thank you for reporting it, this help us to improve. We hope to welcome you again in Fuerte Miramar for one more year!! Kindest regards, Inmaculada Amores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife and i stayed for a week on 2 occasions- mid/may 2013 and march 2012. Will get straight to the point and say I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. The staff are excellent (If you have any problems they will do all they can to fix it without any fuss) from reception right the way through to housekeeping. The hotel is exceptionally clean and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again soon. We did not use the fitness centre and so can't comment on that, (we kept fit by walking along the beach front to Porto Banus-stopping at several bars along the way!) but would thoroughly recommmend the hotels beach restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIRAMARSPA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Miramar, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you a lot for another stay in Fuerte Miramar. Don´t you know how much we appreciate it !!
We hope to welcome you many other times. All the best!! Inmaculada Amores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week for a wedding. The service is perfect and the location of the hotel is right on the beach promenade just 2 minutes walk from the long list of restaurants. Very clean, has its own spa and right on the edge between the new and the old town. So it can be quiet in the hotel or lots of action along the promenade. Free WiFi good food and very friendly staff. Great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIRAMARSPA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Miramar, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for this review and thank you for sharing it with many other travelers.
We are very happy to know that our hotel was the perfect place for such a special day for a wedding. We hope to welcome you again in your next holidays !! Best regards, Inmaculada Amores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is an excellent hotel and in a great location in Marbella, its also a short taxi ride away from Puerto Banus. The double rooms were a really good size as was the bathroom. Rooms, bathroom and balcony were all very clean. Down size is that the A/C was a little noisy and the elevators were a bit dodgy on our stay and they didn't always stop on the floor you wanted. Checking in was a bit slow, however we did get the trainee, but reception staff were very friendly. Bar staff and catering staff were also very friendly. The breakfast buffet was really good, there was a lot of choice from fresh fruit (some of which did not look too fresh though) to a cooked breakfast, you could even get freshly cooked omelettes and pancakes which were gorgeous. The pool area was good, with lots of sun lounges and seats for guests. There were one too many palm trees which caused a lot of shade which probably would be ok if the weekend we went was a bit warmer. The pool area also seems to be in a bit of a wind trap, whether this was just the case for our weekend or whether it is like that all the time, I don't know? Overall the hotel was excellent and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Some of the double rooms also have a partial sea view so you may not need to book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIRAMARSPA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Miramar, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your time writing this review of Fuerte Miramar.
We really appreciated your comments about our location in Marbella, our rooms, friendly staff, buffet breakfast, pool area…
Regarding the elevators, we had a punctual breakdown that have been already sorted out, now they work properly.
About the pool we wished we have more space to place some loungers, as space is very limited here. We do have loungers on the beach too during all the season. From June till September we have a special price of 4.50 € for our guest, the rest of the season is free.
We hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Inmaculada Amore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and it is a good hotel close to the old town and on the beach. We had a side view ocean room with a little balcony ( you have to pay extra for ocean view rooms). The breakfast is a big spread and you can make your own MIMOSAS :) pool area is a bit cramped but nice for kids. There is a little cupboard by the bar with books to read left by guests. Would recommend their amazing mojito!!! from the bar. There was a wedding party being held when we stayed there so I guess they can assist in arrangements :)

If you are missing breakfast by doing the day trips, the hotel packs a lunch box with sandwiches and fruit and juice ..just inform them the day before at the reception. The reception staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIRAMARSPA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Miramar, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments which are greatly appreciated because your opinion is very important and valuable for us.
We are happy to read that you could enjoy the location of our hotel, the views of our rooms, the buffet breakfast and the mojitos we served you in the bar…also I passed your compliments to the reception staff, they were all delighted to have contributed to a nice stay with us in Marbella.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We booked last minute, we're given a great room with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea; side of hotel but perfect.
Pool area is small but great for kids and adults, hotel has beach beds too. Pool is not heated but so what? You can use the indoor pool at the sister hotel down the road.
Great location, 5 mins to old town, great beach, amazing breakfast and incredibly friendly staff. I travel a lot so am very picky about hotels, but with a 5 yr old this place was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIRAMARSPA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Miramar, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We would like to thank you for choosing Fuerte Miramar for your recent stay in Marbella and also for taking your time writing your comments in this review.
It is a pleasure for us to know you enjoy the room, the good location, our buffet breakfast and our staff service, don`t you know how important it is for us.
Regarding the pool, here in Fuerte Miramar it is not heated but as you say you can use the indoor pool and also the sport centre free of charge in our sister hotel, Fuerte Marbella.
We hope to welcome you back very soon in Fuerte Miramar. All the best!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fuerte Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Miramar

Address: Avenida Severo Ochoa, 8, 29601 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#9 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#15 Family Hotel in Marbella
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and functional 4 star hotel, on the beachfront and in the centre of Marbella. 226 rooms equipped with central climatization (cold in summer and hot in winter), beds with duvet cover and mattress with quilted cover, telephone, kettle, minibar, safety box (extra), music channel, hairdryer, satellite TV, pay TV and Internet connection WIFI in 50% of the rooms (extra), cot (free of charge on request), Baby carriage, cot and baby bath free (depending on availability). Hotel facilities: restaurant with terrace, lobby bar, piano bar (daily live music and free WIFI connection), entertainment activities for children (high season), cot, TV room, outdoor heated pool, sunbeds by the pool, sunbeds on the beach (extra in July, August and September), beach bar restaurant grill (closed in December and January), lounges, shop, cyber room (extra), WIFI in common areas, garage (extra). Fully equipped Hydrotherapy - SPA centre (extra) with sauna, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath hydro-massage pool, massages, beauty treatments, hairdresser (extra), etc... Free use of the Sports Center at the sister Hotel Fuerte Marbella (300 mtrs. way). Discounted rates at most of the golf courses in the area. Half board consists of breakfast and dinner, except July and August when guests can choose between lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerte Miramar Hotel Marbella
Fuerte Miramar Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.