We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owner response”
Review of Hotel Fuerte Miramar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Fuerte Miramar to your Saves list
Hotel Fuerte Miramar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Severo Ochoa, 8, 29601 Marbella, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 77 Hotels in Marbella
“Owner response”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments and we are really sorry for all the inconvenience.

In our confirmation was written very clear that you booked a double standard room. When you informed us that you wanted a double sea view room our sales department answered, before your arrival, that to get this type of room you had to pay a small supplement/per room of 10 €/day.

Please note that after our conversation at reception you decided to leave our hotel and as a gesture of good with did not charge you the cancelation fee.

We apologize if we caused any trouble. Yours faithfully, Inmaculada Amores

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    211
    62
    19
    12
See reviews for
114
249
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Holiday Marbella 2nd - 16th Sept. 2012

Hi
My wife and I are just back from two weeks holiday in Marbella where the sun seemed to shine 24/7, where the locals are friendly, and the traffic is fast and the drivers are furious.
Our holiday was booked through Falcon, a company that we have used on several occasions before.
On arrival at Malaga airport we were met by a very friendly Falcon rep who directed us to our transport that was to take us to our hotel, we were very pleased when we saw we were going to travel in style in a beautiful limo type Merc., it was a good start to our holiday.
We were booked into the Fuerte Miramar Spa Hotel on a bed and breakfast basis.
On arrival at the Miramar we were offered a room upgrade with a balcony and a sea view of the prom and small harbour as we had booked a standard room, the upgrade cost €140 extra.
The Miramar was a great place to stay, the room was very comfortable, has free WiFi and was cleaned on a daily basis, the upgrade was worth it as the sea view was very pleasant. Breakfast in the Miramar was just brilliant as the selection of food on offer was amazing, you had a choice of dining indoors or outside on the terrace beside the pool.
I must mention the staff in the Miramar, they were the most friendly, polite and helpful, that we have encountered in all our travels, especially the cleaning ladies.
The only negative about the hotel was the lack of evening entertainment, but having said that we did have access to the Miramar sister hotel just up the road where the craic was great with a lot of Spanish music and dancing which was very enjoyable.
Now anybody who has been to Marbella knows that it is a great place to spend a holiday, with its beautiful promenade that seems to go on forever, the old town with the Orange Square and its wonderful restuarants,the selection of shops, its bus service that can take you to Fuengirola (visit the Bioparc Zoo ), Estepona, Ronda, and Puerto Banus where the other half with all the dosh go for a break.
When dining out in the evening in Marbella, the restaurants I would recommend are, The Asti Fish House, Da Bruno, La Barca, and Da Fabio for the best of food.

p.s Marbella also has a couple of nice parks where you can sit and relax in the shade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

For the first time I booked direct through the Fuerte Group booking office. Big mistake. When I arrived I was told I had not booked a sea view room. My email showed that although they had originally wanted a supplement for a sea view, I had reminded them there was no reference in their email to a supplement. I insisted they keep to their word. Subsequently received a confirmation saying sea view. No reference at all to my email or not accepting my terms.The reception staff were helpful but did not have the power to change anything. I asked for the manager who was unhelpful, unfriendly and needs a course on customer service. I could not stay there as I was made to feel most unwelcome. LESSON. Sea view does not mean sea view unless you say full sea view and spell out everything in detail to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Specify exactly what you want, go as high as possible and not too far to the right where you are ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIRAMARSPA, Gerente at Hotel Fuerte Miramar, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comments and we are really sorry for all the inconvenience.

In our confirmation was written very clear that you booked a double standard room. When you informed us that you wanted a double sea view room our sales department answered, before your arrival, that to get this type of room you had to pay a small supplement/per room of 10 €/day.

Please note that after our conversation at reception you decided to leave our hotel and as a gesture of good with did not charge you the cancelation fee.

We apologize if we caused any trouble. Yours faithfully, Inmaculada Amores
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have just returned from my Autumn break at Miramar Spa. My holiday started with a me leaving my travel bag on the transfer bus but the staff on reception quickly contacted the company who had it returned to me within the hour. I was so relieved.
Having stayed here before, I knew I was in good hands and I was soon in a relaxed mood. The staff were so helpful, and the service in the Restaurant was so friendly that I felt it was home from home with all the comforts. I wish I could have stayed longer, but I will have to wait until next spring.
Carl Hunter
Kendal

Room Tip: Facing the sea is my preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My last review was on Kellys Resort & spa in Rosslare Ireland and I said it would be hard to beat. And so it was ! We stayed for 4 nights with my Irish cousins who had recomended this hotel as they did for Kellys. The best features about the hotel are the location and the buffet breakfast. It is close to the old town and on the beach and the breakfast is excellent - lots of choice and good quality. We opted for a smaller cheaper room with no balcony overlooking the street as we planned to spend most of our time away from the hotel. The room was quite small but was well eqiuped and very clean. The pool area was clean and tidy but not as big as the pictures on the web site would suggest - on the one afternoon we spent in the hotel all sunbeds were in use - there is a beach club though which is adjacent to the hotel. It is ideally placed for access the the beach front prom which extends for miles and very enjoyable to walk. The biggest disappointment was the bar & lounge which never seemed to have any customers. We did not use the spa. Compared to Kelly's it just did not have that buzz and atmosphere the management should pay a visit to Kellys to see how it should be done.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We enjoyed a seven day stay at the Fuerte Miramar in September. The hotel was clean and comfortable. We didn't like the older style two beds made up as one, but have found this in other four star hotels in Europe. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean, as was the room. We had a sea view room which also overlooked the pool. A back gate leads directly onto the walkway along the beach. It cost 4 euro per day for a sun bed on the beach and we only used this once as we preferred the pool which was clean and never overcrowded. Other guests do tend to claim sunbeds with towels and then not use them for several hours, which is annoying but unless the hotel policed it, not much you could do. The weather was brilliant and we walked to Puerto Banus along the beach and caught a taxi back at an approx cost of 11 euro. There was a supermarket a two minute walk from the hotel and the beautiful old town of Marbella was a very short walk away. The breakfast buffet had a wide choice of different types of food and also offered champagne with breakfast which was lovely while on holiday. We did not eat at the Beach Club and did not use the spa facilities. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Would have liked boiling water for our cup of tea in the morning but overall thoroughly enjoyed our time at Fuerte Miramar and Marbella.

Room Tip: Be very firm when asking for a sea view room and do not accept a side sea view room on arrival. Ensu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just wanted to share my overall thoughts on this hotel. Spent 2 nights here. Rooms are very spacious, most of them have a nice terrace with excellent views to the sea and beachfront, bathrooms are of a good size. Very pleased with the service and personnel of the hotel. Always very kind and helpful. Hotel is situated practically in the center of town and has its own private parking connected to the hotel. Buffet style food with lots of variety. Swimming Pool and a large area to sun bathe.Backdoor entrance straight on to the promenade. 10 minute walk to the Marbella Port( you will find bars and lounge here).

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a Sea View Room 201/204 - 301/304 - 401/404 - 501/504 - 601/604
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Fuerte Miramar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fuerte Miramar

Address: Avenida Severo Ochoa, 8, 29601 Marbella, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Marbella
#8 Luxury Hotel in Marbella
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Marbella
#15 Family Hotel in Marbella
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marbella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Fuerte Miramar 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern and functional 4 star hotel, on the beachfront and in the centre of Marbella. 226 rooms equipped with central climatization (cold in summer and hot in winter), beds with duvet cover and mattress with quilted cover, telephone, kettle, minibar, safety box (extra), music channel, hairdryer, satellite TV, pay TV and Internet connection WIFI in 50% of the rooms (extra), cot (free of charge on request), Baby carriage, cot and baby bath free (depending on availability). Hotel facilities: restaurant with terrace, lobby bar, piano bar (daily live music and free WIFI connection), entertainment activities for children (high season), cot, TV room, outdoor heated pool, sunbeds by the pool, sunbeds on the beach (extra in July, August and September), beach bar restaurant grill (closed in December and January), lounges, shop, cyber room (extra), WIFI in common areas, garage (extra). Fully equipped Hydrotherapy - SPA centre (extra) with sauna, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath hydro-massage pool, massages, beauty treatments, hairdresser (extra), etc... Free use of the Sports Center at the sister Hotel Fuerte Marbella (300 mtrs. way). Discounted rates at most of the golf courses in the area. Half board consists of breakfast and dinner, except July and August when guests can choose between lunch or dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Fuerte Miramar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerte Miramar Hotel Marbella
Fuerte Miramar Marbella

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fuerte Miramar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.